TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series 1 - UK
TiVo Community
Closed Thread
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-08-2004, 04:07 AM   #871
iankb
Registered User
 
iankb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Reading, UK
Posts: 6,468
You need the -s and -e with the later versions which, presumably, you are using one of.
__________________
Ian.

Windows 7 MCE, 2 x Freeview Tuners, 1 x HD Freesat Tuner, 1TB Hard Drive, 1.5TB Mirrored Raid on e-SATA.
1 x Xbox360 MCE Extender.
1 x LinkSys DMA2100 Extender.
1 x Broken TiVo.
iankb is offline  
Old 08-20-2004, 06:59 PM   #872
NiShfiSh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 1
somewhat insignificant bug (given that it only occurs when nothing is in the scheduled recordings list), but reported all the same. discovered after rebuilding a tivo after a fatal GSOD.

With nothing in the todo list

Friday 22:41:25 : endpad.tcl 1.4.1 log file, starting up
Friday 22:41:25 : Start padding set to 60 seconds
Friday 22:41:25 : End padding set to 300 seconds
Friday 22:41:25 : Suggestions will be padded, even if that means cancelling a subsequent suggestion
Friday 22:41:25 : Detected TiVo software version 2.5.5-01-1-023
Friday 22:41:25 : Suggestion quality change disabled
Friday 22:41:25 : Woken up
Friday 22:41:25 : Error detected
Friday 22:41:25 : can't read "rectype": no such variable
while executing
"if {$rectype == 3} {

# Recording active
set isrec 1

# Get details of currently recording programme
R..."
Friday 22:41:25 : Attempting to recover
Friday 22:41:55 : Woken up
Friday 22:41:55 : Error detected
Friday 22:41:55 : can't read "rectype": no such variable
while executing
"if {$rectype == 3} {

# Recording active
set isrec 1

# Get details of currently recording programme
R..."
Friday 22:41:55 : Attempting to recover
Friday 22:41:55 : Too many errors, stopping

Then with something to all is okay...

Friday 22:51:51 : endpad.tcl 1.4.1 log file, starting up
Friday 22:51:51 : Start padding set to 60 seconds
Friday 22:51:51 : End padding set to 300 seconds
Friday 22:51:51 : Suggestions will be padded, even if that means cancelling a subsequent suggestion
Friday 22:51:51 : Detected TiVo software version 2.5.5-01-1-023
Friday 22:51:51 : Suggestion quality change disabled
Friday 22:51:51 : Woken up
Friday 22:51:51 : No recording in progress
Friday 22:51:51 : Next recording is {The Essential Mix} on BBCR1 at 01:00
Friday 22:51:51 : No end padding required:
Friday 22:51:51 : No recording in progress
Friday 22:51:51 : Next end padding setting due 02:55
Friday 22:51:51 : Not time to add start padding yet
Friday 22:51:51 : Next start padding setting due 00:58
Friday 22:51:51 : Next wake up will be 23:21
Sleeping, checking every minute for kill signal..

thanks for a very useful tool btw
NiShfiSh is offline  
Old 08-24-2004, 03:02 PM   #873
Adder
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 216
Could this error occur if there was no next recording? As I suspect it is?

Code:
Tuesday 19:00:20 : endpad.tcl 1.4.1 log file, starting up
Tuesday 19:00:20 : Start padding set to 60 seconds
Tuesday 19:00:20 : End padding set to 180 seconds
Tuesday 19:00:20 : Suggestions will not be padded if another suggestion immediately follows them
Tuesday 19:00:20 : Detected TiVo software version 2.5.5-01-1-023
Tuesday 19:00:20 : Suggestion quality change disabled
Tuesday 19:00:20 : Woken up
Tuesday 19:00:20 : Error detected
Tuesday 19:00:20 : can't read "nextrecfsid": no such variable
while executing
"db $db openid $nextrecfsid"
("uplevel" body line 2)
invoked from within
"uplevel $body"
invoked from within
"transaction {uplevel $body}"
(procedure "RetryTransaction" line 4)
invoked from within
"RetryTransaction {
set nrec [db $db openid $nextrecfsid]
if {$version >= 3} {
set nrecbeh [dbobj $nrec get RecordingBehavior..."
Tuesday 19:00:20 : Attempting to recover
Tuesday 19:00:50 : Woken up
Tuesday 19:00:50 : Error detected
Tuesday 19:00:50 : can't read "nextrecfsid": no such variable
while executing
"db $db openid $nextrecfsid"
("uplevel" body line 2)
invoked from within
"uplevel $body"
invoked from within
"transaction {uplevel $body}"
(procedure "RetryTransaction" line 4)
invoked from within
"RetryTransaction {
set nrec [db $db openid $nextrecfsid]
if {$version >= 3} {
set nrecbeh [dbobj $nrec get RecordingBehavior..."
Tuesday 19:00:50 : Attempting to recover
Tuesday 19:00:50 : Too many errors, stopping

__________________
6022 Tivo + 2 x 120GB Samsung SV1204H + CacheCard

VM TiVo now installed!
Adder is offline  
Old 08-24-2004, 03:36 PM   #874
sanderton
TiVoer since 11/2000
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 6,341
Yes, same error as the previous post basically. It didn't occur to me that EndPad would be installed on an entirely virgin TiVo.
sanderton is offline  
Old 08-24-2004, 03:44 PM   #875
Adder
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 216
Cheers Stuart, have added a few more recordings and rebooting now, still haven't recreated my manual padding error... yet!
__________________
6022 Tivo + 2 x 120GB Samsung SV1204H + CacheCard

VM TiVo now installed!
Adder is offline  
Old 09-08-2004, 05:53 AM   #876
aerialplug
Serious TiVo User
 
aerialplug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Swansea
Posts: 1,180
Quote:
Note 2: if you try and add a recording as it is actually starting and get the clash warning because of EndPad's padding of the previous show, manually stop the current recording before adding the new one. TiVo's built in conflict resolution can result in the whole prior programme being deleted in some circumstances.
Oh *&@!. I wish I'd paid more attention to this rule - I did exactly this last night. I wanted to record the local news as there was a story of interest on it but I wasn't sure if the BBC would overrun the programme, as it started 3 1/2 minutes late. I waited to ensure The Grid had finished and then booked the extra programme.

Result - no episode 1 of The Grid in either the now showing list, or in the deleted list on Tivoweb (which is quite long as I had a good old cleanup yesterday).

I realise that this isn't really a bug - it's a "feature" of TiVo not understanding what endpad was doing. I'll have to be more vigilent and remember this in future. I was really looking forward to watching this programme too
__________________
TiVo user since the very beginning.
Hacks: 120Gb (44 hours best quality), Serial PPP (no longer used), Turbonet, TivoWeb, endpad,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
aerialplug is offline  
Old 10-01-2004, 02:06 PM   #877
TivoTown
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 223
Done some searching but haven't found an answer:

In the Endpad description:

"Note 1: By default, when EndPad looks at the next recording it takes suggestions as being disposable and deletes them to accommodate end padding if needed. If two back to back suggestions are scheduled, EndPad pads the first one and deletes the second. You can use the -sugeq switch to turn off the deletion of suggestions"

Does this still happen if the previous recording is on the same channel?

I currently SP 'Working Lunch' on BBC2 everyday, and find that I sometimes get the odd welcome suggestion that follows on BBC2. Would Endpad kill those ?

It's just a question - I'm not trying to knock the obviously excellent Endpad, just wondering what will happen when I finally get to install it.
TivoTown is offline  
Old 10-01-2004, 03:05 PM   #878
sanderton
TiVoer since 11/2000
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 6,341
Good question; I had to go and look in the code to check!

If there is a scheduled suggestion immediately after a user recording on the same channel then no padding is added and the suggestion is recorded.
sanderton is offline  
Old 10-01-2004, 03:53 PM   #879
TivoTown
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 223
Thanks Stuart !


TivoTown is offline  
Old 10-07-2004, 03:19 PM   #880
Gavin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Harlow, Essex
Posts: 436
Now I don't profess to be a unix expert, but how do I "upgrade" end pad to the latest version?
My guess is stop it, delete the files and put the new ones in and restart it but is it that simple?
Gavin is offline  
Old 10-07-2004, 06:10 PM   #881
sanderton
TiVoer since 11/2000
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 6,341
Yes.
sanderton is offline  
Old 10-08-2004, 03:59 AM   #882
SolidTechie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Rugeley, Staffs
Posts: 554
'Fraid so, yup!
__________________
Regards,

Ian

----
Keep yout TiVo alive with the
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
service
SolidTechie is offline  
Old 10-08-2004, 04:59 AM   #883
Gavin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Harlow, Essex
Posts: 436
what about the line that runs it on startup on tivo, do I need to remove the old one and put a new one in place?
Gavin is offline  
Old 10-08-2004, 05:20 AM   #884
sanderton
TiVoer since 11/2000
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 6,341
Depends how old the one there is. The syntax of the command line changed with 1.4.x
sanderton is offline  
Old 10-24-2004, 02:38 PM   #885
aleks
Triallist - Sep 2000
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: London, England
Posts: 51
Please forgive this newbie question: I've searched but can't find the answer.

I bought a cachecard mainly so I could install endpad. I can telnet into it and get a bash prompt - but cd /var/hack gives "no such file or directory". Should it be there before I transfer the file across? If yes then how do I create it. I've tried ls and mb but they both don't appear to exist.

Thanks for your help.

Aleks
aleks is offline  
Old 10-24-2004, 02:44 PM   #886
LJ
Registered User
 
LJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: West Sussex, England
Posts: 786
Try this:
Code:
cd /var
mkdir hack

__________________
Latest versions of my TiVoWeb modules: Now Playing with Folders and Sort; What's On; Show series conflicts; Showcase etc are
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
.
LJ is offline  
Old 10-24-2004, 02:52 PM   #887
aleks
Triallist - Sep 2000
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: London, England
Posts: 51
Thanks - I get "bash: cd/var: No such file or directory"

But if I put a space between cd and \var it seems to work. How daft of me!

Is there anything else I should download while I'm at it or will just the contents of the zip file do the trick?
aleks is offline  
Old 10-24-2004, 03:13 PM   #888
LJ
Registered User
 
LJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: West Sussex, England
Posts: 786
Yup, you'll need the space. Directory names in Linux are separated by forward slashes rather than backslashes as in DOS/Windows.

There're a ton of good resources around, but this one's a good'un to start with:

http://alt.org/wiki/index.php/TivoHackingLinks

TiVoWeb(Plus) is a must have - then you can download my modules too
__________________
Latest versions of my TiVoWeb modules: Now Playing with Folders and Sort; What's On; Show series conflicts; Showcase etc are
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
.
LJ is offline  
Old 10-25-2004, 06:31 AM   #889
alphabeta
Lurker
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Maidenhead, UK
Posts: 101
Quote:
TiVoWeb(Plus) is a must have
Though you might want to read this thread first
alphabeta is offline  
Old 10-27-2004, 09:47 AM   #890
cashew1970
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Co. Durham
Posts: 184
Padding hack

Hello Stuart.

I am looking to install your padding hack.... However I am a complete novice, and this would be the first thing that I do with my New webbed up tivo.

As far as I am aware, I have no FTP utility installed. I know nothing of all these new commands, and was wondering if it would be possible to do a bit of hand holding.

I am on a tivo with upgraded HD to 120gb, Cachecard with 512mbram Networked via wireless bridge.
Have Tivo web istalled (It came on the drive) and thats about all i know....

I can do all the networky bits, and have had a little play with TivoWeb other than that it is all dutch to me!


Can you help?

Martin
cashew1970 is offline  
Old 10-27-2004, 09:55 AM   #891
sanderton
TiVoer since 11/2000
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 6,341
If the networking software has been installed, chances are FTP has too - try using a FTP client to see.
sanderton is offline  
Old 10-27-2004, 10:04 AM   #892
cashew1970
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Co. Durham
Posts: 184
Will do Stuart, thanks......

Will any do?

Martin

PS will ahve to try tonight as I have not yet worked out how to drive everything from work!
cashew1970 is offline  
Old 10-27-2004, 10:06 AM   #893
sanderton
TiVoer since 11/2000
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 6,341
I use SmartFTP. But pretty much any will work, including Internet Explorer or the command line FTP built in to Windows.
sanderton is offline  
Old 10-28-2004, 06:01 AM   #894
alphabeta
Lurker
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Maidenhead, UK
Posts: 101
Quote:
including Internet Explorer
As I recall the Tivo FTP server only supports a single session, and you might have to be a bit careful as IE often opens several.
alphabeta is offline  
Old 10-28-2004, 08:33 AM   #895
aitcheff
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Redhill, Surrey
Posts: 100
I guess this is Off Topic, but I use CoreFTP Lite from www.coreftp.com. It is free, works well with TIVO, easy to use and supports FXP (for those interested in hacks from the 'other' place).
aitcheff is offline  
Old 10-29-2004, 04:41 AM   #896
cashew1970
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Co. Durham
Posts: 184
Thanks for all of your help on this.....
Got it installed yesterday from the command line, and all looks as if it is working great.....
Cheers
cashew1970 is offline  
Old 11-06-2004, 03:51 AM   #897
Fatbloke
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Deepest Barking
Posts: 620
Stuart - I'm having to turn to you for your thoughts!

OVer the last month, my Tivo has regularly failed to record Friday Night with Jonathan Ross (Friday showing). Well, actually Tivo does record it, but when you watch it, there's no channel changeover and I get Newsnight instead.
Anyway, this morning it's the same thing and this time I notice that as well as no changeover, there's also 4 minutes missing from the beginning of the recording.
Now, here's my theory...
The previous item to record before JR is IQ (which always works OK) and that ends 5 minutes before JR starts.

I'm running endpad with 1 minute pre-pad and 10 minutes post-pad.

ISTR, when I used to use 1pre and 5post, I was getting no problem but I'm wondering whether endpad might be throwing a wobbler and causing Tivo to reboot (the missing 4 minutes of recording).

Can someone elso possibly try this scenario, record 2 programs that end 5 minutes apart with a 1 min pre and 10 min post pad. I'd do it myself but my airnet is out of action and I'm awaiting my cachecard, so no direct access to tivoweb or endpad atm.
__________________
Cheers,

FB

1TB Tivo4. 320GB TiVo 6023 Tivoweb enabled. Sony KDL46D350 TV. Acer Revo 1610 running XBMC. BD. HDDVD. Netgem Iplayer DTV
Fatbloke is offline  
Old 11-06-2004, 04:04 AM   #898
gyre
Wookie
 
gyre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 382
IIRC, there was an older version of endpad that gave those symptoms under certain scenarios.

Have you tried the latest version of endpad?

-- gyre --
__________________
|6020|1x200GB|Cachecard 2.2 w/512MB|Endpad|Tracker|TivoWeb|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
gyre is offline  
Old 11-06-2004, 05:49 AM   #899
pmk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 388
Quote:
Originally posted by gyre
IIRC, there was an older version of endpad that gave those symptoms under certain scenarios.

Have you tried the latest version of endpad?

-- gyre --
I also experienced this problem with an older version of EndPad (using 2 mins and 15 mins padding). Interestingly I am using the latest version of EndPad (have been for ages now) and this fixed the "Black Time Bar Problem" but I did experience this again on one programme earlier this week. I just put it down to a one off (not occurred again).

I am suddenly experiencing many suggestions not being recorded however when the suggestion immediately follows a recorded program. The recorded program is not end padded but the suggestion is not recorded for some unknown reason. Again this has never been a problem until recently.

For reference (not changed for many months):
/var/hack/endpad.tcl -s 2 -e 15 -sugeq -auto >> /dev/null &

I was unfortunately too late to catch the relevant log files.

HTH
__________________
Do you know of a new series starting soon? A special one off episode? Seen a trailer for a new series? Post details to the following special thread to help out other TiVo users who have missed the trailers.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
pmk is offline  
Old 11-06-2004, 04:32 PM   #900
sanderton
TiVoer since 11/2000
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 6,341
Quote:
Originally posted by Fatbloke
Stuart - I'm having to turn to you for your thoughts!

This is a known bug which was fixed in the most recent release - suggest you update your copy of EndPad.
sanderton is offline  
Closed Thread
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:58 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |