TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Underground Playground > TiVo Underground
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-05-2015, 08:40 AM   #1
romain_eude
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 7
booting tivo without cable connection

Hi,

I've got a tivo which used to be connected to the cable. It's got stuff recorded on the HD.
When I start it (without connection to the tv cable), it hangs on 'starting up' screen forever.
At some point, I fiddled with buttons combinations to make it complete the boot sequence and get to the menu.
But I can't make it do it again.

Anyone has any idea?

Thanks!

R.

romain_eude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2015, 10:06 AM   #2
telemark
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1,474
What model of Tivo? You can look on the label on the back.

telemark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2015, 11:07 AM   #3
romain_eude
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 7
yeah, indeed, that could help :-o

it's samsung 500Gb, SMT-C7100 (see attachment)

Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_5036_JPG.jpg (28.6 KB, 4 views)
romain_eude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2015, 11:56 AM   #4
telemark
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1,474
Ya, none of us here know about the European units, because we don't have access to them. Which country are you in?

There is a UK/Virgin forum on here, you might ask there. They might know more.

In general a Tivo's boot sequence, there might be some LED's flashing. If you watch or video tape you might recognize the entry period. We call this Kickstart. A few codes could erase data so you want to make sure you're entering something sane instead of random.

May or may not be of use, in a US Tivo, it'll boot to menus without any connections. Being stuck at Welcome Screen would be a damaged boot media or corrupted software image on it.


Last edited by telemark; 06-05-2015 at 12:06 PM.
telemark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2015, 12:17 PM   #5
romain_eude
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 7
I'm in the UK.

Re leds,
* when booting, for last 4 leds, I see: 4 leds red flash, then led 4 blue, then all 4 red, then led 3 red,
* then it is stuck with 1: off, 2: off, 3: red blinking, 4: blue on

dunno if it helps.

romain_eude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2015, 01:40 PM   #6
telemark
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1,474
If you put the hard drive in a PC and view the partition map, it'll tell you if the OS is on the disk. Test the disk while on the PC. If it's on the disk, you might be able to restore the OS from a working Samsung unit.

There are a lot of if's in that.

telemark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2015, 01:15 AM   #7
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 14,715
Quote:
Originally Posted by telemark View Post
If you put the hard drive in a PC and view the partition map, it'll tell you if the OS is on the disk. Test the disk while on the PC. If it's on the disk, you might be able to restore the OS from a working Samsung unit.

There are a lot of if's in that.
If it's like stateside TiVos, you need something that can at least see an Apple Partition Map, and preferably something like

pdisk

and

mfsinfo

from the MFS Live cd

to see anything TiVo-specific.


As for the OP's problem, if stateside TiVos are anything to go by, if it boots to the first screen and just sits there, that means that for some reason (there are more possibilities than one) the motherboard isn't getting what it needs from the hard drive.

I'd use something like

dd_rescue

or

ddrescue

off of a Linux-based boot cd to "Xerox" the hard drive to another of equal or greater size and see how that other one works out in the TiVo.

I would think that the unit should be able to boot up with or without the cablevision cable connected.

__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2015, 11:31 AM   #8
telemark
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1,474
I found on this page the Samsung units are like Roamio.
http://www.rosswalker.co.uk/tivo_upgrade/

It also mentions
Quote:
If you have a UK Virgin Media Tivo then you need to hold TV+Down+Record during boot. You should then be good to go.
which does something I have no clue. Maybe it erases the hard drive.

If you have a PC, what unitron explained in more detailed wouldn't hurt, might tell you something useful.


Last edited by telemark; 06-07-2015 at 03:33 AM.
telemark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2015, 06:34 AM   #9
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 14,715
Quote:
Originally Posted by telemark View Post
I found on this page the Samsung units are like Roamio.
http://www.rosswalker.co.uk/tivo_upgrade/

It also mentions

which does something I have no clue. Maybe it erases the hard drive.

If you have a PC, what unitron explained in more detailed wouldn't hurt, might tell you something useful.
Just don't try to look at the drive with Windows, or let the PC boot into Windows with that drive attached, but boot with a Linux bootable cd instead.

But if that PC has a GigaByte brand motherboard, say so first, and let us tell you what precautions to take before ever hooking the drive to it.

__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump







Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Advertisements





TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media


(C) 2015 DBNet - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:07 AM.
Page generated in 0.07267499 seconds (81.84% PHP - 18.16% MySQL) with 19 queries