TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-07-2011, 02:52 PM   #1
OSXFreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 21
Hulu Plus Issues

Just wondering if it's ME...

I'm having a heck of a time to get Hulu to work properly on my Tivo Premiere running Software Version 14.8c-01-3-746.

It seems like it either freezes while loading the initial page, then pushes me back to the Tivo Menu.. Or it sometimes allows me to get to the Queue menu, all while not showing any images, and then after you scroll past the first few, it pushes you back to Tivo Menu.

The Tivo is hard wired, and Hulu Plus works perfect on the xBox which is also hardwired. A change of Ports on switch and cable netted same thing. Slow to no response once you get to the Hulu Plus welcome screen. Hangs while Loading...

Has anyone else had this issue?
OSXFreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2011, 07:21 PM   #2
viking
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: eureka, ca
Posts: 6
yup;
hulu plus and netflix work on ps3
netflix works on tivoprem, but not hulu plus
viking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2011, 08:22 AM   #3
muzzymate
Registered User
 
muzzymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Cleveland
Posts: 74
I've been getting the same thing and given up on Hulu Plus on my Tivo. INCREDIBLY slow & poorly thought out menus and always kicks me out to the main Tivo menu before I can watch a video. I haven't been able to watch a single thing on Hulu thru the Tivo because of the constant crashing and performance problems. Disappointed.

Also, can't believe the Tivo Search doesn't come up with Hulu results like it does with Netflix, Amazon, Blockbuster, etc.

For now, I'm switching back to the Xbox for Hulu Plus watching until Tivo gets it's act together. At least I got my 6 months free as promised and can use that benefit on any device..
muzzymate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2011, 02:21 PM   #4
Myphsto
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Pewaukee, Wisconsin
Posts: 17
I had a similar issue, and (crossed fingers) I fixed it.
What I did was remove the device from the Hulu Plus device page on the website, uncheck Hulu Plus from the video provider list on the TiVo Central > Messages & Settings > Settings > Channels > Video Provider List and reboot.
Made coffee, had a cup and when the reboot finished I added Hulu back to the video providers list and used the pairing code to add it back to the Hulu website.

So far it's been a few weeks of no issues with Hulu other than the normal commercial injection problems I see on my XBox and PS3 as well.
__________________

TiVo Premiere TCD746320 1TB lifetime
TiVo HD TCD652160 1TB lifetime
TiVo S3 TCD648250B 2TB lifetime
Philips HDR112 120GB (still kicking!) lifetime
Myphsto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2011, 12:03 AM   #5
tjhusker
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1
I had the same problem. What solved it for me was to clear out my Subscription Queue for Hulu. I had close to 700 clips in Queue and had to log in to Hulu on my pc to clear them out. Once I did that Hulu on the Tivo loaded just fine.

Hope this helps.
tjhusker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2011, 11:28 AM   #6
dallasjeff
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 2
I am having the same EXACT issue and no one at TiVo seems to know what is going on or is able to help. It is a brand new box with the latest software update. Mine is also hardwired to be router and my internet connection is 30 Mbps down and 5 Mbps up. WHat is going on ?
dallasjeff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2011, 12:00 PM   #7
dallasjeff
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 2
Emptying queue fixed it

I had over 2,000 items in my queue. Emptying my queue fixed the problem and now it works like a charm. Now, why TiVo tries to load the entire queue is beyond me and even if it does, there should be an error message before it just quits and throws you back to the My Shows screen is beyond me. And TiVo support is utterly clueless about this feature.
dallasjeff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2011, 05:43 PM   #8
MC Hammer
Registered User
 
MC Hammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 177
Generally, around 150-200 items in queue, you start to see performance issues.
MC Hammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2011, 06:20 PM   #9
dreamwish
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 8
I was thinking about Hulu+, but it looks like this service keeps getting worse.
dreamwish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2011, 12:30 AM   #10
Resist
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,708
Quote:
Originally Posted by Myphsto View Post
What I did was remove the device from the Hulu Plus device page on the website, uncheck Hulu Plus from the video provider list on the TiVo Central > Messages & Settings > Settings > Channels > Video Provider List and reboot.
I'm not seeing anything called "Video Provider List" under Channels on my Premiere. All I have is "Channel List", "Channel Scan" and "Signal Strength-Cable".
Resist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2011, 07:48 AM   #11
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 13,427
I tried this

Quote:
Originally Posted by Myphsto View Post
I had a similar issue, and (crossed fingers) I fixed it.
What I did was remove the device from the Hulu Plus device page on the website, uncheck Hulu Plus from the video provider list on the TiVo Central > Messages & Settings > Settings > Channels > Video Provider List and reboot.
Made coffee, had a cup and when the reboot finished I added Hulu back to the video providers list and used the pairing code to add it back to the Hulu website.

So far it's been a few weeks of no issues with Hulu other than the normal commercial injection problems I see on my XBox and PS3 as well.
and then this

Quote:
Originally Posted by dallasjeff View Post
I had over 2,000 items in my queue. Emptying my queue fixed the problem and now it works like a charm. Now, why TiVo tries to load the entire queue is beyond me and even if it does, there should be an error message before it just quits and throws you back to the My Shows screen is beyond me. And TiVo support is utterly clueless about this feature.
(although I only had around 200 items in my queue)
It is finally working on my Elite. The weird thing is, it had no problem working on my five , two tuner Premieres. But nothing I did would make it work on my Elite.

Thanks
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x3
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

Last edited by aaronwt : 10-23-2011 at 07:56 AM.
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2011, 08:30 AM   #12
whompus60
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Dothan, AL.
Posts: 34
I can not deal with streaming commercials. Just me I guess.
whompus60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2011, 04:23 PM   #13
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 13,427
Quote:
Originally Posted by whompus60 View Post
I can not deal with streaming commercials. Just me I guess.
I don't mind the 10 second to 30 second commercials. But when they are longer, especially over a minute it does bug me. But for certain content I don't mind watching off of Hulu+. Especially if they are the only source or if it's going to cost $2 or $3 from other sources.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x3
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:50 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |