TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 142 votes, 4.96 average.
Old 01-16-2016, 09:49 AM   #3241
alanerickson
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by jabingb View Post
My apologies for not sloughing through ~108 pages of this thread, a quick simple question:

I just ordered a 3TB green drive to replace the 500GB in my new Roamio. Do I need to do anything special to use ALL of the 3TB, eg mfsr, etc? Thx
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThAbtO View Post
Not really.
I'm looking at adding a 3TB drive also. Wouldn't msfr need to be ran after installing the new drive in order for ALL of the drive to be available? If I'm only adding a 2TB drive is it still worth it to run msfr to "align" the drive? Thanks.


Last edited by alanerickson; 01-16-2016 at 09:54 AM.
alanerickson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2016, 10:10 AM   #3242
HerronScott
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Staunton, VA
Posts: 2,569
Quote:
Originally Posted by alanerickson View Post
I'm looking at adding a 3TB drive also. Wouldn't msfr need to be ran after installing the new drive in order for ALL of the drive to be available? If I'm only adding a 2TB drive is it still worth it to run msfr to "align" the drive? Thanks.
It doesn't work on 2TB drives (only 3TB and larger) and it's not necessary to use all of the drive with a 3TB drive but it will align it for you.

http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=528428

Scott

__________________

Roamio Pro - 3TB - All-in
S3 HD - 2TB - Lifetime (son's)
S3 OLED - 2TB - Lifetime
S3 OLED - 2TB - Lifetime
S1 Phillips - 120GB - Lifetime trnsfrd to S3
S1 Sony - 30GB - Lifetime trnsfrd to S3
HerronScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2016, 04:32 PM   #3243
NashGuy
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 1,122
I noticed that NeweggFlash has the Seagate Pipeline 2TB HD (the same line as the 500GB drive that TiVo uses in the base Roamio/OTA) on sale until Tues. for $50 with free shipping:

http://www.neweggflash.com/Product/9SIA5AD2HT2468

From the specs I read, it looks like it uses slightly more power than the comparable DVR-specific Western Digital drive (AV-GP) but is still pretty low power.

NashGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2016, 04:32 PM   #3244
NashGuy
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 1,122
I noticed that NeweggFlash has the Seagate Pipeline 2TB HD (the same line as the 500GB drive that TiVo uses in the base Roamio/OTA) on sale until Tues. for $50 with free shipping:

http://www.neweggflash.com/Product/9SIA5AD2HT2468

From the specs I read, it looks like it uses slightly more power than the comparable DVR-specific Western Digital drive (AV-GP) but is still pretty low power.

NashGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2016, 07:12 PM   #3245
Hamstring
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 21
Can you still use the extender dvr if you upgrade the drive?

Hamstring is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2016, 01:31 AM   #3246
ChrisFix
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmbach View Post
I bought a LiteON Laptop Charger AC Adapter Power Supply PA-1041-71 12V 3.33A 40W for my Roamio Basic. Works well. The thought in this is that there would be increased power draw from the larger drives and the units power adapter may not be able to provide additional power needed causing system instability. There is no definitive proof of this only that some people experience some problems when they upgraded that went away with a power supply that can provide more power.
Just wanted to provide a data point for those interested in upgrading their Hard Drives.
I just installed a 5TB WD Green WD50EZRX IntelliPower drive in a Roamio Basic (and disabled the idle timer with WDIDLE3), and all was great for 24 hours, after which I had all the front panel lights flashing and the TiVo was stuck at the start up screen.
I had previously purchased a Woot OTA for spare parts and swapped the power brick, which immediately fixed the issue.
I've since ordered the LiteON power brick from Amazon as I'm certain the 2A OEM brick isn't up to the task.

Edit: Jan 31, 2016 - The 3.3 amp LiteON power brick completely fixed the issue...a $25 dollar fix that is working perfectly (and the barrel plug fit the TiVo very well)


Last edited by ChrisFix; 01-31-2016 at 08:00 PM.
ChrisFix is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanks For This Post:
Old 02-06-2016, 08:39 AM   #3247
JoeKustra
Cable only
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Ashland, PA 17921 TCD746500/TCD846500
Posts: 5,068
http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j...RGgp3Nwya1uKgQ

I guess I'll find out since I just installed one in my basic Roamio. My other basic Roamio has the WD10EURX (I had it on hand already), and no issues, but thanks for the power brick information.

JoeKustra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2016, 08:57 AM   #3248
mickinct
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: NUTMEG STATE
Posts: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeKustra View Post
http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j...RGgp3Nwya1uKgQ

I guess I'll find out since I just installed one in my basic Roamio. My other basic Roamio has the WD10EURX (I had it on hand already), and no issues, but thanks for the power brick information.
One would think the 5tb one has more platters. ie more weight on spindle motor.

__________________
TIVO 1 ROAMIO BASIC OTA LIFETIME 4tb, .... TIVO 2 ROAMIO OTA LIFETIME 3tb ,..... TIVO 3 BASIC OTA LIFETIME 2tb 1 MINI ,.... 4 ota units for parts, 1
mickinct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2016, 08:25 PM   #3249
ShoutingMan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 291
Has anyone had problems with TiVo transfer feature after a hard drive upgrade? This feature was working pretty stably for the previous six months or so. After my hard drive upgrade, transfer to my iPad mostly fails. I don't know if they're related, or if this is TiVo software updates and TiVo app problems.

Currently I get a T[0x1000000] error about 100MB into a transfer.

ShoutingMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2016, 09:22 PM   #3250
mattack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: sunnyvale
Posts: 20,518
I think it's completely unrelated. I get basically constant errors trying to download or stream shows, whether at home or away from home. once in a rare while I have had a successful download (i.e. ONE try or even a very few tries is a 'success' in my book though it should really always work unless the network literally goes away).. But usually I have lots of errors, have to wait a very long time.

The error #s used to be very predictable.. on a recent update, the #s changed, but the symptoms didn't.

Since I already download shows and watch them on my iPad with VLC (currently I do that with some shows I want to watch faster than realtime), I may end up doing that with dramas and such and watch them 'normally' in VLC, instead of trying to put up with the show downloading.

It's very very broken.

mattack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2016, 07:44 AM   #3251
ggieseke
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 3,946
Fyi

MFS Reformatter version 1.0.0.4 (available in the Upgrade forum) adds support for 8TB drives.


ggieseke is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanks For This Post:
Reply
Forum Jump







Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Advertisements





TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media


(C) 2016 DBNet - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:59 PM.
Page generated in 0.19018412 seconds (53.03% PHP - 46.97% MySQL) with 20 queries