TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-17-2013, 10:02 AM   #1
wildhog
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 6
TiVo HD having issues

I have a TiVO HD with 500 MB expansion drive. Last night we tried to watch some shows but none of the titles showed up in the now playing menu and scrolling through the menus was really slow. I did a system restart this morning and get just a blank gray screen; nothing else shows up and pressing the keys on the remote does nothing.

Anyone have this problem or know what's going on?

Thanks
wildhog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 10:56 PM   #2
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,353
Quote:
Originally Posted by wildhog View Post
I have a TiVO HD with 500 MB expansion drive. Last night we tried to watch some shows but none of the titles showed up in the now playing menu and scrolling through the menus was really slow. I did a system restart this morning and get just a blank gray screen; nothing else shows up and pressing the keys on the remote does nothing.

Anyone have this problem or know what's going on?

Thanks

Going from the welcome screen to a grey screen (without ever seeing a trace of the just a few more minutes screen) usually means a problem with communication between the motherboard and the hard drive.

This can be caused by several different things, and in your case I couldn't say if its' the internal or the external drive with which the motherboard can't communicate, assuming that the most likely explanation for your grey screen is the accurate one in your situation.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 03:31 PM   #3
wildhog
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 6
OK. So after checking the forums I opened up the TiVo box to find a bad capacitor. I replaced it this afternoon and plugged everything back in. The TiVo started up just fine and is connected to my wireless network. I can even see it on kmttg and I can transfer my files.

I get a red/orange menu screen on the TiVo with no items to select and pressing buttons on the remote does nothing. I can't even get to live TV.

Has anyone else had this problem and how did you fix it?
wildhog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 03:38 PM   #4
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,353
Quote:
Originally Posted by wildhog View Post
OK. So after checking the forums I opened up the TiVo box to find a bad capacitor. I replaced it this afternoon and plugged everything back in. The TiVo started up just fine and is connected to my wireless network. I can even see it on kmttg and I can transfer my files.

I get a red/orange menu screen on the TiVo with no items to select and pressing buttons on the remote does nothing. I can't even get to live TV.

Has anyone else had this problem and how did you fix it?
Sounds like some of your software got scrambled.

Maybe, no promises, switching to the alternate partitions would fix things.

Try KickStart 51.

If that doesn't do it, try KS 52.

http://www.weaknees.com/tivo-kickstart-codes.php
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 04:12 PM   #5
jrtroo
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,398
I assume you have rebooted?

Also, those older 500 GB WD boxes can cause issues as they die. Make sure it has a known good cord to the Tivo and that there is no issue with the drive.
__________________
TiVo Owner
jrtroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2013, 08:52 AM   #6
wildhog
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 6
Before trying the KS code suggestion I pressed every button on the remote control just to make sure it wasn't working at all. I'm not sure which button it was but it restarted the TiVo and all the menus and recorded shows displayed. Now everything is back to working properly.

Thanks for all of your help.
wildhog is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:36 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |