TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-25-2013, 11:07 PM   #1
ahwman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 174
TiVo placement question

I just took the plunge and purchased my first TiVo which is due to arrive soon. That said, I was considering placing it on top of my soundbar pedestal (SpeakerCraft CS3). My concern is if the vibrations from the soundbar could be harmful to the TiVo. I could also place the Tivo on a lower shelf, however it would then be out of line of site and may cause remote control/IR signal issues.

Any thoughts?
ahwman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 05:17 AM   #2
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,130
Where's the TV going to go?
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 05:39 AM   #3
ahwman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 174
I should've mentioned that the TV is mounted on the wall above the pedestal soundbar.
ahwman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 06:15 AM   #4
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,130
If you're worried that it's going to be a problem beyond the ability of the TiVo chassis regular rubber feet to deal with, and you want to throw money at it, you could try some of the things people use for turntables.

http://www.musicdirect.com/p-6779-br...-set-of-4.aspx

http://www.amazon.com/Vibrapod-Isola.../dp/B003P50FTI
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 07:39 AM   #5
mr.unnatural
Registered User
 
mr.unnatural's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,423
What's the soundbar sitting on? Is it an actual pedestal or some kind of shelf? Do you have any other A/V components or is the Tivo the only one?
mr.unnatural is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 09:31 AM   #6
ahwman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 174
[quote=unitron;9493522]If you're worried that it's going to be a problem beyond the ability of the TiVo chassis regular rubber feet to deal with, and you want to throw money at it, you could try some of the things people use for turntables.


Great idea, I'll probably just wind up putting it below the sound bar just to be safe... Thanks for the suggestion!
ahwman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 07:27 PM   #7
PCurry57
Liberal Hippie Chick
 
PCurry57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 191
Quote:
Originally Posted by ahwman View Post
I just took the plunge and purchased my first TiVo which is due to arrive soon. That said, I was considering placing it on top of my soundbar pedestal (SpeakerCraft CS3). My concern is if the vibrations from the soundbar could be harmful to the TiVo. I could also place the Tivo on a lower shelf, however it would then be out of line of site and may cause remote control/IR signal issues.

Any thoughts?
With the Tivo Slide Remote the TiVo can be completely out of sight.
PCurry57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 07:35 PM   #8
ahwman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by PCurry57 View Post
With the Tivo Slide Remote the TiVo can be completely out of sight.
Wow, that's pretty neat - I had no idea TiVo's had built in Bluetooth. That said, sine I'm using a WIFI to IR emitter (ThinkFlood RedEye) to control all of my devices, I still need line of site...
ahwman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 07:38 PM   #9
Arcady
Stargate Fan
 
Arcady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,888
You could use an IR repeater. Stick the IR sensor in line of sight and put the TiVo wherever you want. I did that before I had a slide remote. (And the TiVo does not have bluetooth; it uses a USB dongle.)
__________________
Roamio Pro (3TB)
Premiere Elite (2TB)
Premiere (320GB)
Two TiVo Minis

Left DirecTV 4/15/07. Left TWC 8/8/11. Now on Comcast Xfinity.
Arcady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 07:39 PM   #10
scole250
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Goldsboro, NC
Posts: 678
Tivos are very forgiving with remote pointing. The remote has a huge broadcast area. It works pointing over 45 deg from vertical and at the same time, 45 deg left or right, at least.
__________________
3 Premieres w/2TB each
Media server
scole250 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 07:54 PM   #11
ahwman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by scole250 View Post
Tivos are very forgiving with remote pointing. The remote has a huge broadcast area. It works pointing over 45 deg from vertical and at the same time, 45 deg left or right, at least.
If necessary that's what I'll do but I think I'll be ok as the TiVo will be about six inches below my bed but in a straight line. Hopefully it will pick up IR from the remote as the WIFI to IR base station is in line of site...
ahwman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:13 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |