TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-08-2013, 09:48 PM   #31
mattack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: sunnyvale
Posts: 17,162
What is the cheapest thing that will do Amazon Prime streaming? (That hooks to a TV..)
mattack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2013, 11:30 PM   #32
Mike-Wolf
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 158
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattack View Post
What is the cheapest thing that will do Amazon Prime streaming? (That hooks to a TV..)
Well Roku LT is $49 and so is the Netgear NeoTV Streaming Player. Here is a list of devices http://www.amazon.com/gp/video/ontv/devices
Mike-Wolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 07:31 AM   #33
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 14,021
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fist of Death View Post
Not snarky - it the same solution I wound up with, and it's considerably better (Amazon Prime streaming too).
Amazon streaming is only 720P. The TiVo gets the 1080P24 encodes from Amazon(if available).

But for getting titles from Amazon that the TiVos can't access, The Roku boxes are the ones I prefer to use. But since they are lower resolution, if I'm able to watch it on my TiVos, then they are what I use to watch, since most of the content I get from Amazon is available in 1080P24, and none of the Amazon streaming devices have access to that.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

Last edited by aaronwt : 04-10-2013 at 07:36 AM.
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 02:54 PM   #34
alleybj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: atlanta, ga usa
Posts: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
The chipset does not scale to 1080P. The max resolution it scales to is 1080i. The reason the panny and other devices have no issues is because they are able to scale content to 1080P.
I have to admit that I don't really understand the specifics here, but does the Panasonic have to do any scaling at all if the input signal is 1080p24? In that instance isn't it just passing the signal through?
alleybj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 04:35 PM   #35
Bigg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Hartford- New Haven CT
Posts: 3,556
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
Amazon streaming is only 720P. The TiVo gets the 1080P24 encodes from Amazon(if available).

But for getting titles from Amazon that the TiVos can't access, The Roku boxes are the ones I prefer to use. But since they are lower resolution, if I'm able to watch it on my TiVos, then they are what I use to watch, since most of the content I get from Amazon is available in 1080P24, and none of the Amazon streaming devices have access to that.
How's the quality compared to VUDU HDX/ Blu-ray?
__________________
My Place: Premiere XL4 Lifetime 3/26/13 XFinity
3 TiVo Mini's on MoCA
Formerly Win MCE 3TB Ceton4 XFinity
Parents: XFinity Motorola AnyRoom DVR
80 HR Series 2 Lifetime 4/11/04 DEAD as of 11/2010
Bigg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 06:12 PM   #36
swerver
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 199
Quote:
Originally Posted by alleybj View Post
I have to admit that I don't really understand the specifics here, but does the Panasonic have to do any scaling at all if the input signal is 1080p24? In that instance isn't it just passing the signal through?
The tivo can pass through 1080p24 also. The problem is when netflix switches to something other than 1080p24. Then the tivo has to use 1080i (or whatever else is enabled) since it cannot scale to 1080p, it can only pass it through. Then you get the annoying resolution switching on your tv. In your case the tv doesn't have to switch resolution because the blu-ray player is able to output 1080p24, regardless of what netflix is sending. The tivo can do that too, if you only enable say 1080i. If you enable 1080p, then you risk the resolution switching problem.
swerver is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:29 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |