TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-09-2012, 12:23 AM   #1
libraryowl
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2
Tivo Transfer: Can see DVR, but no shows

I have a MacBook running 10.6.8.

I purchased Toast with Tivo Transfer so that I could transfer shows off my dying Series 2 Tivo before replacing it with a new Premiere. Worked fine.

New Premiere came, and it worked, but after using it for a week or so I discovered a physical defect. Tivo agreed to replace it. So I used Tivo Transfer to transfer the few shows I'd recorded on this Premiere to my laptop. Also worked fine.

Now, even-newer Premiere has arrived. Tivo Transfer can find the DVR, but no shows. I am not sure if this is due to some issue with the new DVR, or recent new Toast release, or both.

I have tried all of the relevant fixes on Roxio support site - nothing works. I have rebooted and forced connection numerous times; changed Tivo's name, double-checked MAK; checked and un-checked the options under DVR preferences on Tivo.com, re-run Toast setup ...

In desperation I tried downloading kmttg - and that doesn't work either! Same problem - finds the box, but no shows. Produces the following error:
<h2>Access Forbidden</h2>
Failed to retrieve Now Playing List from [Tivo name]
Exit code: 0
Check YOUR MAK & IP settings

Can anyone think of anything that can be causing this? No response from Roxio/Corel.
libraryowl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 05:25 AM   #2
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,647
Try using your browser,

Https:// ..... Insert your tivo's IP here ...../nowplaying/index.html

It will ask for Name and password, use "tivo" for name and your Media Access Key for password.

If you see your recordings, then everything is working.
If not, it maybe because the media access hasn't been fully activated and may take a day or so.
__________________
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "652")
Roamio! Oh, wait, Its Juliet!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 10:46 AM   #3
libraryowl
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2
Hi ThAbtO,

Thanks for your reply. I tried it, and this is what happened:

Access Forbidden
permission denied

What's strange (to me anyway) is that the newest Tivo has the same MAK as the first new Tivo. No MAK displayed on the Tivo screen itself for at least a week - just said "not available" - until I forced a connection. When the system came back up, it displayed the same MAK as the first new Tivo - which is consistent with the one that is online at Tivo.com. Not sure if this is helpful or not. I appreciate your help with this.
libraryowl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 11:48 AM   #4
jrtroo
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,393
If the MAK changed, then you could not view the shows you already saved off.

You do not want this to change!
__________________
TiVo Owner
jrtroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:38 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |