TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Home Media Features & TiVoToGo
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-01-2015, 02:17 AM   #5161
lrhorer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Posts: 6,918
Hmm. Maybe it was just a delay on TiVo.com, or something. The name wasn't showing on Sunday right after installation or on Tuesday, but tonight it is.

lrhorer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2015, 01:45 PM   #5162
Vernon Smith
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 6
I have several opera videos in HD that are large - more than 12 GB - on my TiVo unit. When I use pyTivo to transfer them to my Mac, they seem to transfer OK - I get a Transfer Complete message, but in fact they are missing several GB. I have tried several times and they just do not transfer completely. Is there a setting that I need to change to accommodate these large files?

Vernon Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2015, 10:51 PM   #5163
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 9,367
No, there is no setting.

Do the same recordings fail at the same point each time? If you play that point back on the TiVo, do you notice any glitches?

You can try using transport stream mode, but you may not be able to decrypt the resulting file, if that's a concern. (You should still be able to send it back to any S4 or later TiVo on your account.)

__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmcbrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2015, 03:01 PM   #5164
Vernon Smith
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 6
Thanks for responding.
The same recordings do fail at the same point I believe.
I played the same section on my Tivo and it played smoothly - no glitches.
Not sure how to use transport stream mode. Is there a description for that?
I saw that there was a thread on Streambaby. Does that do what you are suggesting?

Vernon Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2015, 04:31 PM   #5165
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 6,160
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vernon Smith View Post
Thanks for responding.
The same recordings do fail at the same point I believe.
I played the same section on my Tivo and it played smoothly - no glitches.
Not sure how to use transport stream mode. Is there a description for that?
I saw that there was a thread on Streambaby. Does that do what you are suggesting?
Did you look very closely? I have had occasions where the glitch is almost indiscernible.

__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2015, 06:04 PM   #5166
Vernon Smith
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 6
I played it again several times and I cannot see any sign of a glitch.

Vernon Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2015, 09:55 AM   #5167
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 9,367
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vernon Smith View Post
Not sure how to use transport stream mode. Is there a description for that?

__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmcbrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2015, 11:38 AM   #5168
Vernon Smith
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 6
Thanks wmcbrine.
I noticed that in your message, there was a box for tivodecode.
This does not appear in my copy of pyTivo.
Do I need this to decode the file once it is transferred?

Vernon Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2015, 01:35 PM   #5169
Vernon Smith
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 6
I transferred the recording with the Transfer as mpeg-ts box checked, but what was actually transferred was almost identical to what I had transferred without checking this box. It was also incomplete. The file size was slightly larger but it finished at the same spot in the recording. I could play it with Roxio Video Player without the need to decode it.
Could it be that the Transfer as mpeg-ts box was ignored?

Vernon Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2015, 01:56 PM   #5170
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 9,367
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vernon Smith View Post
Thanks wmcbrine.
I noticed that in your message, there was a box for tivodecode.
This does not appear in my copy of pyTivo.
Do I need this to decode the file once it is transferred?
Yeah, the option would appear if there was a copy of tivodecode in pyTivo's bin directory, or in the system path. But if you don't need to decrypt, don't worry about it. (It doesn't really work yet with mpeg-ts, anyway.)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vernon Smith View Post
Could it be that the Transfer as mpeg-ts box was ignored?
Nope -- that's why it's bigger. It sounds like you're just out of luck, as far as pyTivo is concerned, sorry.

But, if you want to try KMTTG on it, see here: http://sourceforge.net/p/kmttg/wiki/Resume_Downloads/

__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmcbrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2015, 07:23 PM   #5171
Vernon Smith
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 6
Thanks. It does seem to describe my problem. I will have to figure out to install and us KMTTG.
I noticed that in the window for the recordings, the ones that did not work correctly had a yellow icon with an exclamation mark instead of the round green one. I assume that this might mean that this recording has problems.

Vernon Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2015, 07:37 PM   #5172
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 6,160
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vernon Smith View Post
Thanks. It does seem to describe my problem. I will have to figure out to install and us KMTTG.
While I suppose it's possible that kmttg will work better, it's very unlikely
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vernon Smith View Post
I noticed that in the window for the recordings, the ones that did not work correctly had a yellow icon with an exclamation mark instead of the round green one. I assume that this might mean that this recording has problems.
No, the green icon simply means that the recording is marked "Keep Until I Delete". The other icon means the TiVo can delete them if it needs space for a new recording.

__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2015, 09:32 PM   #5173
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 9,367
Quote:
Originally Posted by lpwcomp View Post
While I suppose it's possible that kmttg will work better, it's very unlikely.
It's not that it works better, it's that it has the "resume download" function, so he can (hopefully) wind past the bad spot and grab the remainder of the recording.

__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmcbrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2015, 08:34 AM   #5174
Lurker1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 165
I am using pyTivo with auto_push and it works great most of the time. The problem is every once in a while seemingly at random, I see in the log "Session cannot be authenticated; try login again", and that one video is not pushed. So there is one video missing from My Shows, and I would never know if I didn't search the log. Would it be possible for pyTivo to automatically retry a push whenever this temporary error occurs?

Lurker1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2015, 11:15 PM   #5175
Lurker1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 165
The transient authentication error actually happens more than once in a while, I've found it several more times since my other post.

I am asking why pyTivo doesn't do anything about the error. It adds the error to the log, but auto_push receives a successful return code so it thinks everything is fine. The end result is the file is quietly dropped through the cracks and is never pushed. I know I am coming into this application years late, but I cannot seem to find this problem mentioned in 100+ pages of discussion.

I have used TiVo's web video subscriptions for many years, but they rudely discontinued that functionality without notice. I thought pyTivo/auto_push (with gPodder) would be a great replacement, but it is proving to be unreliable because of this error. Is there a better solution that others are using?

Lurker1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2015, 11:31 AM   #5176
Lurker1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 165
Is the authentication error perhaps a rate-limiting thing by TiVo's servers? Since I stopped my intensive testing, it hasn't done it any more.

Lurker1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2015, 06:58 AM   #5177
shiffrin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 183
I recently got a Synology Diskstation ds1515+ to use as my NAS and am investigating what else it can do. The latest version of the operating system (DSM 5.2 - a Unix derivative) supports a tool called Docker which allows the installation of numerous packages that others have developed. There are 2 versions of Pytivo on Docker and I am trying to get eitehr of them to work.

I can load either one, but it gives me an error that it doesn't have permission to save the /config/pytivo.conf file when it installs. I can access the pytivo app from my desktop, but it won't save the settings due to the permission problem. I know a little about unix and I am learning as fast as I can, but I don't have any idea where the conf file is supposed to go. I think I have to manually create the folder but I don't know where it should go.

Has anyone had any experience with this?

__________________
Barry
shiffrin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2015, 10:08 PM   #5178
innocentfreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Florida
Posts: 8,665
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lurker1 View Post
I am using pyTivo with auto_push and it works great most of the time. The problem is every once in a while seemingly at random, I see in the log "Session cannot be authenticated; try login again", and that one video is not pushed. So there is one video missing from My Shows, and I would never know if I didn't search the log. Would it be possible for pyTivo to automatically retry a push whenever this temporary error occurs?
I just received this error on a push so not sure if the TiVo mind server is having issues.

I haven't pushed anything in the last couple of days.

__________________
1 - TiVo Roamio Pro
2 - TiVo Premiere XL

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
innocentfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump







Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Advertisements





TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media


(C) 2015 DBNet - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:12 AM.
Page generated in 0.09891295 seconds (65.80% PHP - 34.20% MySQL) with 19 queries