TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-01-2013, 04:40 PM   #1
Tanquen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Napa, CA
Posts: 88
What does one do with old TiVo series 1 boxes?

Can anyone use them or do they just get dumped with the other obsolete electronics?

I have 2 upgraded TiVo series 1 with all the manuals, boxes, remotes and not a mark on them. Never even used the remotes.
Tanquen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 06:42 PM   #2
P42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: 01460
Posts: 1,261
If it has Lifetime you might get a few bucks via eBay. Completed listing show a few with prices going from $17 to $76.
P42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 06:48 PM   #3
murgatroyd
Don't stop believin'
 
murgatroyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Berkeley CA
Posts: 23,170
I'm planning to hack mine and use them as music servers.
__________________
"The capacity of human beings to disappoint me is never ending." -- Ereth
murgatroyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 08:30 PM   #4
macjeepster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 45
My wife uses an old Series 2 as a platform to raise the TV about 4 inches.
Does it well; uses no electricity.
__________________
----
-mj
macjeepster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 08:47 PM   #5
malayphred
Underpowered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 142
Quote:
Originally Posted by macjeepster View Post
My wife uses an old Series 2 as a platform to raise the TV about 4 inches.
Does it well; uses no electricity.
You're killing me
malayphred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 09:37 PM   #6
mattack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: sunnyvale
Posts: 17,633
Heck, the remotes can be useful, though IMHO not as useful as ones with 1/2 switches on them.
mattack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 10:14 PM   #7
reubanks
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 262
Quote:
Originally Posted by macjeepster View Post
My wife uses an old Series 2 as a platform to raise the TV about 4 inches.
Does it well; uses no electricity.
Me too! Mine's a TCD1400060 with a 500GB and Lifetime. I plug it in every once in a while to get updates and keep my MSD in place.

Randy
__________________
1 Series2 ST w/500GB Lifetime
1 THD w/WD20EVDS
1 THD w/2TB Hitachi where the noise doesn't matter so much. Lifetime
1 HDXL w/WD20EADS and Lifetime
1 THD stock Lifetime. Smouldering wreckage...
reubanks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 09:19 AM   #8
HerronScott
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Staunton, VA
Posts: 1,023
I have 2 S1's still sitting in the basement since 2007 when we upgraded to 2 S3's and transferred the lifetime service. No real value but I can't force myself to get rid of them either.

Scott
HerronScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 10:16 AM   #9
sulli2p
Fried Green Tomatoes
 
sulli2p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 46
We just removed our DTVTiVo Series 1 from daily service in December. It is still sitting in our AV cabinet, as we occasionally hook it up to watch shows that are recorded on it. DTV wants their card back, but as soon as we pull it out, a permanent message is displayed on the screen to put the card back in. So DTV will get their card back when we are done watching all our old shows.

The Series 1 had a high end fan and Seagate HD upgrade in midlife (106 SD hrs), which is why it has lasted so long (13 yrs), and was still prepared to keep going. If I recall, we even switched the fan power from the motherboard, to the second HD cable, using an adapter.

Not sure what we will do with it when we are really finished, looking to this thread for ideas. Thanks everyone.
__________________

TiVo Premier
Philips DSR6000R01 DVTiVo [retired, available]
Samsung 5054
Yamaha RX-V371
Ascend CBM-170 mains
Ascend HTM-200SE center
Cambridge Audio Minx Min 10 surrounds
HSU STF-1 Sub
sulli2p is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 06:54 PM   #10
magnus
Tivo User
 
magnus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,479
Quote:
Originally Posted by sulli2p View Post
We just removed our DTVTiVo Series 1 from daily service in December. It is still sitting in our AV cabinet, as we occasionally hook it up to watch shows that are recorded on it. DTV wants their card back, but as soon as we pull it out, a permanent message is displayed on the screen to put the card back in. So DTV will get their card back when we are done watching all our old shows.

The Series 1 had a high end fan and Seagate HD upgrade in midlife (106 SD hrs), which is why it has lasted so long (13 yrs), and was still prepared to keep going. If I recall, we even switched the fan power from the motherboard, to the second HD cable, using an adapter.

Not sure what we will do with it when we are really finished, looking to this thread for ideas. Thanks everyone.
Any dtv card should work.
magnus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 06:55 PM   #11
magnus
Tivo User
 
magnus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,479
Quote:
Originally Posted by HerronScott View Post
I have 2 S1's still sitting in the basement since 2007 when we upgraded to 2 S3's and transferred the lifetime service. No real value but I can't force myself to get rid of them either.

Scott
I sold mine overseas. I think to someone in New Zealand.
magnus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 11:01 AM   #12
khom
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3
They make a good security camera DVR, you can always review the last 30minutes in the buffer, or set it to manually record certain time intervals via a manual Season Pass.
khom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 11:43 AM   #13
tricerabottoms
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 10
While a S1 could serve as a security DVR, modern security DVRs are very cheap and have many more features. A S1 would lack multi-channel capability, motion detection, PTZ control, email alerts, etc.

I considered doing this with my own S1 at one time, but it made more sense just to buy the DVR from costco.com.
tricerabottoms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 01:39 AM   #14
replaytv
Lunatic Fringe
 
replaytv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Denver ish Colorado
Posts: 4,064
For the poor jobless, they still can be used as a DVR with a converter box but the TV lineup won't be totally accurate. You have to tell the TiVo that it is using satillite and use a DTV converter box and set it up for Dish box.
That is because there is no TiVo software update for series 1 TiVos for the converter boxes.

Last edited by replaytv : 02-14-2013 at 05:12 PM. Reason: to add last line
replaytv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 03:25 PM   #15
bkc56
Designated Grunt
 
bkc56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Santa Rosa, CA, USA
Posts: 639
What is this "old" you speak of? Our two Tivo series 1 units (with lifetime) are still in daily use.
__________________
--bkc56
bkc56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 04:53 PM   #16
P42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: 01460
Posts: 1,261
Doing what? Propping up a TV?
P42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 07:12 PM   #17
magnus
Tivo User
 
magnus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,479
Quote:
Originally Posted by P42 View Post
Doing what? Propping up a TV?
Boat anchors
magnus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 04:48 PM   #18
TiVoJedi
Registered User
 
TiVoJedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 485
Mine is in production as well hooked up to the old 27" tube TV in my basement in front of the hot tub. As long as Time Warner keeps passing analog basic cable it'll keep running. I fooled with the ATSC converter box (CECB) stuff and then my drive died a couple years ago and I didn't bother to redo it.

This DVR will be in a museum someday. I watch a lot of Pawn Stars on mine and in 100 years it might be instead a subject on a show like that. LOL

I was curious though... does the TiVo company allot ONE lifetime transfer? Maybe I should get one of them new-fangled TiVos.
__________________
***~`TiVo.com essay winner! Early TiVo adopter~'***
"shift like an 'H', not like an 'X'"
TiVoJedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 10:02 PM   #19
mattack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: sunnyvale
Posts: 17,633
Quote:
Originally Posted by TiVoJedi View Post
I was curious though... does the TiVo company allot ONE lifetime transfer? Maybe I should get one of them new-fangled TiVos.
go read the FAQs. If you got the lifetime BEFORE a certain date (early 2000 IIRC), they allow you one transfer.. That's due to poorly worded legalize IMHO.. They always intended you to require a subscription, IMHO.
mattack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 11:06 PM   #20
TiVoJedi
Registered User
 
TiVoJedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 485
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattack View Post
go read the FAQs. If you got the lifetime BEFORE a certain date (early 2000 IIRC), they allow you one transfer.. That's due to poorly worded legalize IMHO.. They always intended you to require a subscription, IMHO.
I didn't activate mine until 10/11/2000 and bought lifetime on 3/8/2002 so I guess I missed that opportunity.
__________________
***~`TiVo.com essay winner! Early TiVo adopter~'***
"shift like an 'H', not like an 'X'"
TiVoJedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:36 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |