TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Home Media Features & TiVoToGo
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-30-2012, 09:11 AM   #1
jcthorne
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,828
Major bug for pushed video in fall update

It seems the fall update has wiped out all program data and grouping for all video that has been pushed to the Tivo.

I have over 200 recordings on the tivo in an unusable, ungrouped list.

Is there any way to fix this?

Does deleting them all and one by one pushing them again fix anything?

What a mess. I cannot believe Tivo pushed out crap that makes existing boxes this useless....Did they even test it?
__________________
Current : Roamio Base with 2TB drive and 2 Premieres, OTA. kmttg, pyTivo, running with a Synology 1511 NAS....serving up the world.

Setup help for pytivo under windows:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jcthorne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 10:26 AM   #2
matt@thehickmans
Hemo_jr
 
matt@thehickmans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 520
I noticed this myself. I also noticed that newly pushed videos are ungrouped as well. No work-arounds that I know of, I just deleted them and will wait on a fix to re-populate.
matt@thehickmans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 10:29 AM   #3
jcthorne
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,828
Verified, new pushes do not group at all. Grouping is completely broken. How sad Tivo.

Pushes also only display the series name, no episode number in the MyShows list. So I have a long list of entries all with the same name....
__________________
Current : Roamio Base with 2TB drive and 2 Premieres, OTA. kmttg, pyTivo, running with a Synology 1511 NAS....serving up the world.

Setup help for pytivo under windows:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jcthorne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 10:33 AM   #4
innocentfreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Florida
Posts: 8,404
Is it also broken with TiVo Desktop Plus?

Maybe they changed how metadata is handled due to the remote HDUI screens and this is something that will be covered in the web developer's SDK when it is released?
__________________
1 - TiVo Roamio Pro
2 - TiVo Premiere XL

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
innocentfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 10:49 AM   #5
dlfl
Cranky old novice
 
dlfl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Near Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 5,685
This provides a small bone of consolation for those of us who haven't upgraded to the Premiere I guess.
__________________

"It must be swell to be so perfect and odor-free" -- Del Griffith


VideoReDo users: Try
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

pyTivo users: Try
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
dlfl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 11:06 AM   #6
jcthorne
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,828
Quote:
Originally Posted by innocentfreak View Post
Is it also broken with TiVo Desktop Plus?
Yes.
__________________
Current : Roamio Base with 2TB drive and 2 Premieres, OTA. kmttg, pyTivo, running with a Synology 1511 NAS....serving up the world.

Setup help for pytivo under windows:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jcthorne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 11:15 AM   #7
innocentfreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Florida
Posts: 8,404
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcthorne View Post
Yes.
http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...24#post9353724

Quote:
Originally Posted by overFEDEXed View Post
That was me and yes it does work with a new folder.

I dropped 22 movies(80gigs) into a new folder and when I woke up this morning, it was done. Even the names showed up. Now I have not tried this with .tivo shows yet. I will tonight.

__________________
1 - TiVo Roamio Pro
2 - TiVo Premiere XL

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
innocentfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 11:39 AM   #8
jcthorne
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,828
It appears that tivo is no longer using the SeriesID for the grouping but some other criteria that pyTivo is not sending but TivoDesktop is.

Perhaps wmcbrine will have some time to look into it.
__________________
Current : Roamio Base with 2TB drive and 2 Premieres, OTA. kmttg, pyTivo, running with a Synology 1511 NAS....serving up the world.

Setup help for pytivo under windows:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by jcthorne : 10-30-2012 at 12:15 PM.
jcthorne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 12:36 PM   #9
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 8,497
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcthorne View Post
It appears that tivo is no longer using the SeriesID for the grouping but some other criteria that pyTivo is not sending but TivoDesktop is.

Perhaps wmcbrine will have some time to look into it.
seriesID grouping seemed to work for me when pushing the same show. I didn't try 2 different shows with same seriesID:
http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...21#post9353821

(Same show pushed twice without seriesID did not group so certainly seriesID plays a roll).
__________________
Roamio Pro (GigE)
Elite (MoCA)
Premiere (MoCA adapter)
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 12:55 PM   #10
jcthorne
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,828
Quote:
Originally Posted by moyekj View Post
seriesID grouping seemed to work for me when pushing the same show. I didn't try 2 different shows with same seriesID:
http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...21#post9353821

(Same show pushed twice without seriesID did not group so certainly seriesID plays a roll).
I really should have kept this conversation here, rather than the Premiere forum.

At any rate, Did you use SeriesId : NCIS or the tivo seriesId number? Two different episodes of the same show or the same episode twice?
__________________
Current : Roamio Base with 2TB drive and 2 Premieres, OTA. kmttg, pyTivo, running with a Synology 1511 NAS....serving up the world.

Setup help for pytivo under windows:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jcthorne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 01:44 PM   #11
innocentfreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Florida
Posts: 8,404
Someone else just posted that seriesID didn't group, but seriesId did.

This also matches moyekj's example of what worked for him so maybe some metadata programs are generating seriesID

http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...88#post9353988
__________________
1 - TiVo Roamio Pro
2 - TiVo Premiere XL

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
innocentfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 02:49 PM   #12
dlfl
Cranky old novice
 
dlfl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Near Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 5,685
Quote:
Originally Posted by innocentfreak View Post
Someone else just posted that seriesID didn't group, but seriesId did.

This also matches moyekj's example of what worked for him so maybe some metadata programs are generating seriesID

http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...88#post9353988
I thought it was always seriesId (not seriesID). At least that's what the pyTivo wiki says:
http://pytivo.sourceforge.net/wiki/i...adata#seriesId
Perhaps some program is generating seriesID and the tivo software was tolerating it -- until now.
__________________

"It must be swell to be so perfect and odor-free" -- Del Griffith


VideoReDo users: Try
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

pyTivo users: Try
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
dlfl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 03:56 PM   #13
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 8,497
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcthorne View Post
I really should have kept this conversation here, rather than the Premiere forum.

At any rate, Did you use SeriesId : NCIS or the tivo seriesId number? Two different episodes of the same show or the same episode twice?
I hate this multiple thread location business but as far as I can tell this is the story right now:
1. Yes, use seriesId, not seriesID
2. If you push 2 of the same show and they don't group I think you will have to generate a new unique seriesId #. If you do verify this then I guess you'll have to write a script perhaps to go append a string to the existing seriesId in all your metadata files such that you have new/fresh seriesId #s for all.

Personally I still wish there was a better streaming solution to TiVos (without the 1.1 GB HME limitation). I never much liked the push solution since I don't want to store program on the TiVo to begin with and don't like the fact they get set as copy protected when you do. I thought the recent SDK would give us a path to a better streaming solution but doesn't look that way right now.
__________________
Roamio Pro (GigE)
Elite (MoCA)
Premiere (MoCA adapter)
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 04:30 PM   #14
jcthorne
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,828
I will have to do some experimentation. All my metadata files generated by metagenerator use seriesId : SHxxxxxxx as required in the pytivo wiki and has worked for years. The id numbers are prescribed by tivo/tribune and are not random. If you use a different Id string, they will not group with items the tivo records of the same series. May not matter to some but was easier to do them right the first time.

First I have to delete all the non grouped vids and then remove them from the recently deleted. 320 items. Once they are gone, I can try pushing a few again to see if they will group. If not, will try a new unique id and try again. If anyone gets it figured out before I do, please post up.
__________________
Current : Roamio Base with 2TB drive and 2 Premieres, OTA. kmttg, pyTivo, running with a Synology 1511 NAS....serving up the world.

Setup help for pytivo under windows:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jcthorne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 07:12 PM   #15
jcthorne
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,828
Update.

Removeing all instances of a show including those in the recently deleted folder and pushing again with the same seriesId does not help.

Using a new and different seriesId does allow the pushed vids to group again.

Well, its an answer. Trouble is, I have thousands of meta data files that will need to be edited if they are ever to be used with the tivo again. All to change them to INCORRECT seriesId.

I'll head over to the metagenerator thread and discuss the metadata files with dlfl.

Thanks everyone for the help. What a pain to fix a Tivo screw up.
__________________
Current : Roamio Base with 2TB drive and 2 Premieres, OTA. kmttg, pyTivo, running with a Synology 1511 NAS....serving up the world.

Setup help for pytivo under windows:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jcthorne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 07:23 PM   #16
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 8,497
My guess is if you delete all shows containing same seriesId and let some time pass such that the TiVo loses trace of that ID that if you push again they may group OK. i.e. With patience it may be possible to push again using the "correct" seriesId, but I don't know how long the purge time would be. Question remains whether it is even important to have the "correct" seriesId - do pushes with seriesId matching a recording on the TiVo still group with this release? That I don't know.
__________________
Roamio Pro (GigE)
Elite (MoCA)
Premiere (MoCA adapter)
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 07:51 PM   #17
jcthorne
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,828
Quote:
Originally Posted by moyekj View Post
My guess is if you delete all shows containing same seriesId and let some time pass such that the TiVo loses trace of that ID that if you push again they may group OK. i.e. With patience it may be possible to push again using the "correct" seriesId, but I don't know how long the purge time would be. Question remains whether it is even important to have the "correct" seriesId - do pushes with seriesId matching a recording on the TiVo still group with this release? That I don't know.
Good point, no idea if they still group with tivo recordings using that seriesId.
__________________
Current : Roamio Base with 2TB drive and 2 Premieres, OTA. kmttg, pyTivo, running with a Synology 1511 NAS....serving up the world.

Setup help for pytivo under windows:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jcthorne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 07:53 PM   #18
innocentfreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Florida
Posts: 8,404
While you are testing, if you use a series ID# for a show currently airing does it group? What about if the show isn't in search?
__________________
1 - TiVo Roamio Pro
2 - TiVo Premiere XL

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
innocentfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 07:58 PM   #19
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 8,751
Quote:
Originally Posted by moyekj View Post
My guess is if you delete all shows containing same seriesId and let some time pass such that the TiVo loses trace of that ID that if you push again they may group OK.
Concur.

Quote:
i.e. With patience it may be possible to push again using the "correct" seriesId, but I don't know how long the purge time would be.
28 days? Or more...
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmcbrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 11:41 PM   #20
cherry ghost
Registered User
 
cherry ghost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,834
Quote:
Originally Posted by moyekj View Post
do pushes with seriesId matching a recording on the TiVo still group with this release? That I don't know.

shows transferred to my computer with kmttg before the update don't group with shows transferred to my computer after the update even though the seriesId is the same
cherry ghost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 04:12 AM   #21
jcthorne
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,828
Quote:
Originally Posted by innocentfreak View Post
While you are testing, if you use a series ID# for a show currently airing does it group? What about if the show isn't in search?
Done.

Shows not in search does not matter, still groups fine with the new seriesId

Shows currently airing do not group with old (does not group at all) or new (groups with themselves) seriesId.
__________________
Current : Roamio Base with 2TB drive and 2 Premieres, OTA. kmttg, pyTivo, running with a Synology 1511 NAS....serving up the world.

Setup help for pytivo under windows:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jcthorne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 07:48 AM   #22
innocentfreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Florida
Posts: 8,404
Thanks. I was hoping it might give us some insight in what they did, but it doesn't look like it.

I wonder what would happen if you pushed a show with a series ID for something set to record but it doesn't have any current recordings. I wonder if the recording would then group with what you already pushed.
__________________
1 - TiVo Roamio Pro
2 - TiVo Premiere XL

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
innocentfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 10:38 AM   #23
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 8,751
Pushes always generate unique seriesIds. You can't match existing seriesIds if you try. This is different from pulls, where what you specify as "seriesId" is what actually ends up on the TiVo. In a push, when you give pyTivo a seriesId, it just passes that on as the source ID (an arbitrary unique string) to mind.tivo.com, which does with it what it will. You should get back the same seriesId for the same source ID each time, but that's the extent of our control of the process.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmcbrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 12:43 PM   #24
txporter
One sec, almost done
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 666
I noted in the other thread (and I think earlier in this one) that someone mentioned needing to delete the shows in the recently deleted folder as well. I wonder if the 28 days time (or whatever the purge time is for seriesId) starts after the shows roll-out of the trash? i.e. are shows in the recently deleted treated as being in the NPL for tracking seriesId.

I am contemplating possibly waiting on doing too much with regards to redoing seriesId until the full roll-out. It seems like minor changes are many times made between the priority roll-out and regular. Perhaps this one will be fixed?

In regards to the lack of control with seriesId/grouping with recorded programs, it's too bad that more information isn't released by Tivo. Amazon can group their programs in its own folder as well as the standard folder for a program. It is obviously possible.
__________________
Tivo Premiere 2TB WD20EARS (lifetime)
TivoHD 1TB WD10EACS + 1TB WD10EVCS Antec MX-1 (lifetime)
TivoHD 1TB WD10EACS (lifetime)
Series2 540 400GB Seagate DB35 (lifetime)
txporter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:03 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |