TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 08-31-2013, 03:31 PM   #1
Surrealone
TiVoOnThEmInD
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 307
Slide Remote BT dongle

Does my Roamio even need the BT USB dongle that comes with the slide remote?
Surrealone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2013, 03:34 PM   #2
HenryFarpolo
Registered User
 
HenryFarpolo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Andover Ma
Posts: 207
If you want to use the Slide and get the benefit of BT....Yes.

Last edited by HenryFarpolo : 08-31-2013 at 05:22 PM.
HenryFarpolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2013, 03:35 PM   #3
Surrealone
TiVoOnThEmInD
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 307
the slide remote does RF?
Surrealone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2013, 03:35 PM   #4
DaveDFW
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Richardson, TX
Posts: 519
Quote:
Originally Posted by Surrealone View Post
Does my Roamio even need the BT USB dongle that comes with the slide remote?
The slide remote will work without the bluetooth dongle, however it will only use IR. To use bluetooth, the dongle is still required.
DaveDFW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2013, 03:37 PM   #5
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,258
You have to use the dongle for the keyboard anyway. The main control buttons are transmitted as both IR and BT, but the keyboard is BT only.

The RF used by the Roamio remote is not the same as the BT used by the Slide, so they are not interchangeable. There is a rumor of a new slide coming for the Roamio. It's possible it could use the built in RF rather then a BT dongle.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2013, 03:41 PM   #6
Surrealone
TiVoOnThEmInD
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 307
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
You have to use the dongle for the keyboard anyway. The main control buttons are transmitted as both IR and BT, but the keyboard is BT only.

The RF used by the Roamio remote is not the same as the BT used by the Slide, so they are not interchangeable. There is a rumor of a new slide coming for the Roamio. It's possible it could use the built in RF rather then a BT dongle.
Thanks Dan.
I hope the new slide will support BT RF and IR. But the current slide is IR and the BT is for keyboard. Got it.
Surrealone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 02:40 AM   #7
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,258
Quote:
Originally Posted by Surrealone View Post
the current slide is IR and the BT is for keyboard. Got it.
Not quite. When the dongle is connected everything is BT. If you disconnect the dongle the remote will revert to IR mode and the basic commands will still work. You can tell which mode it's in because when it's in BT mode the little LED blinks blue when you press a button and when it's in IR mode it blinks red.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 11:18 AM   #8
Jonathan_S
Registered User
 
Jonathan_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 13,635
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
Not quite. When the dongle is connected everything is BT. If you disconnect the dongle the remote will revert to IR mode and the basic commands will still work. You can tell which mode it's in because when it's in BT mode the little LED blinks blue when you press a button and when it's in IR mode it blinks red.
Clarifiction (Dan I know you know this, but wanted to make sure Surrealone understood): When the dongle is connected everything sent to the TiVo is BT. The remote still sends IR commands (power, volume, etc) to your TV and/or receiver.
__________________
Xbox: MetalThreshkeen -- PSN: Threshkeen
TiVo Elite
Jonathan_S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 12:03 AM   #9
miller890
Member
 
miller890's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: MA
Posts: 345
I noticed that my slider remote is using IR. Is there a way to force it to use BT?
__________________
TiVo
Roamio Pro
w/LT | Premier Elite w/LT | Roamio Basic w/msd | Mini w/LT | Series 3 1.5TB w/LT | Series 3 1.5TB w/LT | S2DT 1TB retired| S2-140 retired | Stream
Comcast, all wired to 1GB
miller890 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 12:05 AM   #10
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,258
It's been a while but I think there is a pairing ritual. I think there is a little button on the BT dongle and for the remote I think you hold TiVo & D until it starts searching. I think there is a document on the TiVo support if I'm wrong.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 12:09 AM   #11
kdmorse
Registered User
 
kdmorse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Germantown, MD
Posts: 4,192
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
It's been a while but I think there is a pairing ritual. I think there is a little button on the BT dongle and for the remote I think you hold TiVo & D until it starts searching. I think there is a document on the TiVo support if I'm wrong.
Tivo + B. B for Bluetooth, and it's a blue button. (Makes it easy to remember)
__________________
"I disapprove of what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it"
"Stop slouching! It's two O'clock in the afternoon, PUT PANTS ON!"
"Statistically speaking, there are two Popes per square kilometer in Vatican City..."
kdmorse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 12:09 AM   #12
Surrealone
TiVoOnThEmInD
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 307
In rare instances, you may find your remote in infrared-only mode even though the USB receiver is plugged into the TiVo box. In this case, you will need to enable Bluetooth manually. Simply press and hold the TiVo button and the B button simultaneously until the remote’s activity indicator light starts blinking blue. Then press and hold the button on the USB receiver until its LED starts blinking. When pairing is successful, the remote’s activity indicator light will blink rapidly five times and then go off.
Surrealone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 12:18 AM   #13
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,258
Quote:
Originally Posted by kdmorse View Post
Tivo + B. B for Bluetooth, and it's a blue button. (Makes it easy to remember)
So close.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:51 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |