TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-30-2012, 09:26 AM   #1
buscuitboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Atlanta area
Posts: 693
Question Series 3 & local HD channels

I have Premiere & an older Series 3 (OLED) HD TiVos. I recently got another Premiere that will essentially replace the Series 3 in living room. Since it has a lifetime plan, I plan to then just put the Series 3 in the basement. It will still be hard wired to my home network so I'll have MRV access to shows on it from the two Premiers on the main floor.

However, Since Comcast charges $8 for more cable cards, I don't plan to get cable cards for this older Series 3 and just hooking the coax cable right to it. This basic hookup will essentially just get me local channels only on this Series 3 (I'm in a Comcast area that has done the digital transition). My Sony HDTV can get local HD channels with the direct coaxial connections. They are channels like ch4-1, 5-1, 11-1, etc.

I realize I will have to go through the setup process again, but can my Series 3 get these HD channels as well (with just a simple direct coax connection)? Or will it really just get the analog version of the local channels?
buscuitboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2012, 10:36 AM   #2
sbourgeo
Hepcat Daddio
 
sbourgeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: New England
Posts: 6,419
It will get those channels, but without guide data. You can watch live tv and do manual recordings with no problem.
__________________
"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
-- cheesesteak
"You know, ground beef is a real winner nowadays" -- Faster Guy
sbourgeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2012, 04:54 PM   #3
A J Ricaud
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Hacienda Heights, CA (Los Angeles County)
Posts: 1,069
If you can get the network channels from an OTA antenna you will get full guide data. OTA TV signal quality is often better than that from the cable co.'s.
A J Ricaud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2012, 09:00 PM   #4
Teeps
Registered User
 
Teeps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Torrance,Cal. 90503
Posts: 995
Quote:
Originally Posted by A J Ricaud View Post
If you can get the network channels from an OTA antenna you will get full guide data. OTA TV signal quality is often better than that from the cable co.'s.
Agreed; but we don't know OP's location.
We're OTA spoiled here in greater L.A. Basin.
Teeps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2012, 01:18 PM   #5
buscuitboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Atlanta area
Posts: 693
Well, I JUST got a notice from Xfinity/Comcast (Atlanta area) stating that as of June 26th, ALL TVs in my home will HAVE to have some sort of Comcast digital equipment in order to receive ANY programming. Either a cable card, DTA or digital box. Even the local basic package (ch2-30) will require something.

Therefore, my possible desire to have my S3 hooked up with JUST the coax cable, record HD locals and then MRV them to two other Premieres won't be possible after all.

Comcast is REALLY starting to irk me.

Last edited by buscuitboy : 06-02-2012 at 01:25 PM.
buscuitboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:30 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |