TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-26-2014, 07:45 PM   #1
josborne
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 20
Is there a way to get HDMI and Component out at the same time?

I did see a previous post about this, but it was from 2011. I have my tivo elite connected to my receiver then my tv using HDMI. I just bought a slinbox and was hoping to use the component out on the tivo to supply the picture. I'm pretty sure I'm SOL, but wanted to ask around before I give up. Is there a way to get the Tivo to output both at the same time?
josborne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2014, 08:04 PM   #2
XIBM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 47
Yes, plug it in.
__________________
Charter in NW GA
P XL4 with Motorola Cable Card and Tuning Adapter
XIBM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2014, 09:18 PM   #3
Bierboy
Seasoned gas passer
 
Bierboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Quad Sillies
Posts: 11,427
Quote:
Originally Posted by josborne View Post
I did see a previous post about this, but it was from 2011. I have my tivo elite connected to my receiver then my tv using HDMI. I just bought a slinbox and was hoping to use the component out on the tivo to supply the picture. I'm pretty sure I'm SOL, but wanted to ask around before I give up. Is there a way to get the Tivo to output both at the same time?
Quote:
Originally Posted by XIBM View Post
Yes, plug it in.
Exactly. I've got HDMI going to my Denon Home Theater Receiver (which feeds my plasma) and components going to my Slingbox....works just fine. What problems are you having?
__________________
"You don't know Bierboy like I know Bierboy. He became a lot more amusing after I figured out his sense of humor..." -- Rob Helmerichs

XL4
Bierboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2014, 10:10 AM   #4
josborne
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 20
I feel like an idiot. My TIVO is pushing out HDMI and Component at the same time without issue. The damn component cable I bought was really short and stiff(that's what she said) and it had pulled itself out of the back of the TIVO during installation. I was concerned about it working as designed as I had read from older posts that when HDMI was active all other output ports were off.
josborne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2014, 07:23 PM   #5
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,451
Quote:
Originally Posted by josborne View Post
I feel like an idiot. My TIVO is pushing out HDMI and Component at the same time without issue. The damn component cable I bought was really short and stiff(that's what she said) and it had pulled itself out of the back of the TIVO during installation. I was concerned about it working as designed as I had read from older posts that when HDMI was active all other output ports were off.
Them Red,Green,Blue buggers weigh a ton and really need to be supported near both ends by something more than friction fit of the plugs in the jacks.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2014, 07:07 PM   #6
Bigg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Hartford- New Haven CT
Posts: 3,440
I've had component cables that could unplug themselves, as they were so rigid that you couldn't get all the plugs in at the same time. Oy vey. Better made ones are more flexible, and will work on friction alone.
__________________
My Place: Premiere XL4 Lifetime 3/26/13 XFinity
3 TiVo Mini's on MoCA
Formerly Win MCE 3TB Ceton4 XFinity
Parents: XFinity Motorola AnyRoom DVR
80 HR Series 2 Lifetime 4/11/04 DEAD as of 11/2010
Bigg is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:28 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |