TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-09-2012, 08:34 PM   #1
BetaMark
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Van Nuys, CA
Posts: 47
Trouble with TiVo iOS app

Can't seem to get the TiVo app to talk to the box. It either gives an error communicating with the TiVo service and/or requests the Media Access Key, but says the key is invalid after I enter it. I've tried rebooting both the box and the iPhone, but still no go. I'm running iOS 6, but am pretty sure the app was working with it until a day or two ago.
__________________
Premiere XL, 20.2.2
BetaMark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 08:36 PM   #2
hooper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 146
Quote:
Originally Posted by BetaMark View Post
Can't seem to get the TiVo app to talk to the box. It either gives an error communicating with the TiVo service and/or requests the Media Access Key, but says the key is invalid after I enter it. I've tried rebooting both the box and the iPhone, but still no go. I'm running iOS 6, but am pretty sure the app was working with it until a day or two ago.
Same problem here
hooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 08:42 PM   #3
innocentfreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Florida
Posts: 8,522
I think there is a server issue currently. I am getting the N33 message across two of my TiVos.
__________________
1 - TiVo Roamio Pro
2 - TiVo Premiere XL

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
innocentfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 08:49 PM   #4
jimerb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 23
Same problem here. Ack! Going away soon and I need to use my stream!
jimerb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 08:52 PM   #5
innocentfreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Florida
Posts: 8,522
Try this. Switch to the SDUI and see if you can access it then. My one TiVo running the SDUI isn't affected, but I don't know why.
__________________
1 - TiVo Roamio Pro
2 - TiVo Premiere XL

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
innocentfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 10:01 PM   #6
compnurd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 951
It is working again
compnurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 11:26 AM   #7
ducker
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: MA
Posts: 421
I had some weird stuff happening as well with my ipad that night. it kept disconnecting me, and then unable to find. on-and-off... nothing was changing (ie. sitting in the same seat as I usually am)
__________________
4 8 15 16 23 42
ducker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 09:22 AM   #8
Durkis007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 16
This has been happening to me since at least the weekend. If im away from home, and try to log in with away access, it is saying there is trouble logging in.
This is getting me mad, as I missed an opportunity to setup to record a show while I was out.
Durkis007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 10:48 PM   #9
jfh3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Denver area
Posts: 4,463
I've had this happen. I deleted/reinstalled the ap and all was fine.
__________________
- Roamio; Roamio Pro; Premiere Elite
- Premiere (2TB) (both for sale - PM me)
- TiVo Mini x 3
jfh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 04:20 AM   #10
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 24,912
TiVo had some sort of outage yesterday morning. Apparently the iOS app can't function if it can't talk to TiVo's servers.

Dan
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 02:37 PM   #11
sushikitten
Exhausted mama
 
sushikitten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: DC-ish Suburbia
Posts: 25,731
So is there a real fix for this or a "just try this and hope it works" fix? My Tivo app says "Invalid Media Access Key" even though I've double-checked it.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
sushikitten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 03:03 PM   #12
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 24,912
I've seen a few others with that issue. They said that if you delete the app and then reinstall it from the app store it fixes the problem.

Edit: There seems to be some sort of outage with the TiVo Service right now. It's effecting everyone, so if you're having this problem right now you might want to just wait and see if it resolves itself.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo

Last edited by Dan203 : 09-03-2013 at 03:13 PM.
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 05:26 PM   #13
sushikitten
Exhausted mama
 
sushikitten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: DC-ish Suburbia
Posts: 25,731
Thanks!
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
sushikitten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2013, 03:59 PM   #14
Green Eggs
Registered User
 
Green Eggs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 3
I've had this issue for the past few days (where the TiVo app claims that my Media Access Key is invalid when I try to sign in) - I've deleted and reinstalled the app on my iPad (iOS 7.0.2, TiVo app v3.1.1) without success.

I have a TiVo HD, so I don't have full app functionality anyway, but it was nice to be able use the iPad as a remote control. What other options do I have to try out?
Green Eggs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2013, 06:07 PM   #15
GameJerk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 17
I constantly have to re-login whenever i use the TiVo iOS app on my iphone. It's starting to drive me nuts. It worked fine months ago and now its giving me these problems.
GameJerk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2014, 10:19 PM   #16
bbmegjoy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 1
Same problem. Just happened to me about 20 minutes ago. App first said it lost connectivity -- that the Tivo Box could not connect to the internet. Checked all connections and internet is working fine. Then the app started asking for the media access key, which I know I entered correctly, but the app rejects as incorrect. So bummed because the app is my only remote and I'm missing the Olympics!!!!
bbmegjoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:17 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |