TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-21-2012, 02:36 PM   #1
MeInDallas
Registered User
 
MeInDallas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 835
Seagate 2TB $69 at Newegg

Just got an email on this and thought I would share. I dont know much about Seagate drives, but I know some people love them. Thought it was a good deal for 2TB.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822148834
MeInDallas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 03:09 PM   #2
MikeAndrews
Registered abuser
 
MikeAndrews's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern Illinois (Dn Nr WI)
Posts: 12,093
The 3TB Seagate internal drive is $89.

Everybody is saying the drives have fatal bug with head parking.

I'm going to send my new 3TB Seaqate external back to Amazon.
__________________
1) Series 4 Premiere - Lifetime
2) Series 3 OLED - Lifetime.
2) Series 2 DT 500GB
Mac Mini NAS with 9 7 x 2TB drives.
UVerse and OTA

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
MikeAndrews is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 03:10 PM   #3
Arcady
Stargate Fan
 
Arcady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,894
I almost bit, until I read the reviews. I'll stick with WD drives.
__________________
Roamio Pro (3TB)
Premiere Elite (2TB)
Premiere (320GB)
Two TiVo Minis

Left DirecTV 4/15/07. Left TWC 8/8/11. Now on Comcast Xfinity.
Arcady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 03:12 PM   #4
MeInDallas
Registered User
 
MeInDallas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 835
A 3TB drive wont work in a Tivo anyhow.
MeInDallas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 09:05 PM   #5
gchance
4 8 15 16 23 42
 
gchance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Olivehurst, CA
Posts: 12,633
Quote:
Originally Posted by MeInDallas View Post
A 3TB drive wont work in a Tivo anyhow.
It will, but it's tricky... you need your own enclosure and to reformat the drive using Seatools. It will create two partitions that are readable by TiVo.

Greg
__________________
"Too bad she died, would have been an excellent companion." - Anubys

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

5k:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
10k:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
13.1M
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
26.2M
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
gchance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 12:31 AM   #6
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,550
Quote:
Originally Posted by gchance View Post
It will, but it's tricky... you need your own enclosure and to reformat the drive using Seatools. It will create two partitions that are readable by TiVo.

Greg
I know it says it'll let you use it with XP, but are you talking about some kind of MetaPartitions that appear to actually be 2 separate drives?

Because the TiVo is going to want an Apple Partition Map drive on which there are 13 to 16 partitions as its internal drive.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2012, 03:10 PM   #7
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 6,005
Quote:
Originally Posted by gchance View Post
It will, but it's tricky... you need your own enclosure and to reformat the drive using Seatools. It will create two partitions that are readable by TiVo.

Greg
I could not do that and have it readable with my TP.
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis,
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 08:25 PM   #8
BlackBetty
I <3 TiVo!
 
BlackBetty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,402
Quote:
Originally Posted by MeInDallas View Post
A 3TB drive wont work in a Tivo anyhow.
Not true. It will work, you just won't be able to utilize the full 3TB.
BlackBetty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 09:32 PM   #9
MeInDallas
Registered User
 
MeInDallas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 835
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackBetty View Post
Not true. It will work, you just won't be able to utilize the full 3TB.
Well I'm not gonna be real nit-picky about it, but what I meant was that the full 3TB will not be used. Better?
MeInDallas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 11:53 PM   #10
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,550
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackBetty View Post
Not true. It will work, you just won't be able to utilize the full 3TB.
Please tell us who got which TiVo model to even boot with a drive over 2TB installed, regardless of how much of it was actually formatted or how large it claimed to be.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 12:08 AM   #11
nrnoble
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 226
I bought two of these HDDs from newegg.com 3 days ago. I paid $109 each. Does Newegg have any price guarantee policy where they refund the difference when someone buys the exact item (same part number) a few days prior to sale?
__________________
Two Series 3 TiVos, One TiVo Premiere, all with lifetime subs.
One dedicated media server with Steambaby and other media services.
Use VideoRedo for editing TiVo files.
Tivo user since 1999.
nrnoble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 12:39 AM   #12
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,550
Quote:
Originally Posted by nrnoble View Post
I bought two of these HDDs from newegg.com 3 days ago. I paid $109 each. Does Newegg have any price guarantee policy where they refund the difference when someone buys the exact item (same part number) a few days prior to sale?
If you haven't opened, or even received, the package yet, call and talk to customer service (or maybe you can email them or "chat" online) and see if being polite to them will get them to be nice to you.

Read this:

http://www.eggxpert.com/forums/thread/211396.aspx

and this:

http://forums.extremeoverclocking.co...d.php?t=311040


Sounds like they haven't tied their hands with an official policy, but are willing to take things on a case by case basis "on the downlow", so to speak, so give them a chance to make you happy.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 01:55 AM   #13
nrnoble
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by unitron View Post
If you haven't opened, or even received, the package yet, call and talk to customer service (or maybe you can email them or "chat" online) and see if being polite to them will get them to be nice to you.
Thanks I will give it a try.

And yes, I have found that "Praising" and doing a little bit of "butt kissing" can go a long way. I am amazed how sometimes others online think that being a hardass works better (Ie threats never to do business again). My goal generally is motivate the person to help, not try to get me off the phone asap. "Please" and "thank you" works amazingly well with a friendly tone of voice.
__________________
Two Series 3 TiVos, One TiVo Premiere, all with lifetime subs.
One dedicated media server with Steambaby and other media services.
Use VideoRedo for editing TiVo files.
Tivo user since 1999.
nrnoble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 11:51 AM   #14
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 6,005
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackBetty View Post
Not true. It will work, you just won't be able to utilize the full 3TB.
Any drive over 2Tb will not boot in any TiVo, does not matter what you do, I did a copy without any expansion and the drive will not boot, you can't even boot such a drive in Windows XP without downloading and installing some special driver software, Windows 7 and up will give you the option to partition the drive in the MBR system, limit to 2.2TB, or the new system, then you get the full 3TB.
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis,
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 12:08 PM   #15
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,550
Quote:
Originally Posted by lessd View Post
Any drive over 2Tb will not boot in any TiVo, does not matter what you do, I did a copy without any expansion and the drive will not boot, you can't even boot such a drive in Windows XP without downloading and installing some special driver software, Windows 7 and up will give you the option to partition the drive in the MBR system, limit to 2.2TB, or the new system, then you get the full 3TB.
It occurs to me that one might deliberately put a host protected area on a 3TB drive, using one of the more dangerous options of

hdparm

so that only 2TB are accessible, put an image on it with jmfs and expand, and see if an S3 HD or S4 will boot just out of curiosity, but even if successful you have only 2TB usable.

And there's always the risk of winding up with a rather expensive shiny silver paperweight.

I just got WinMFS to think a 2TB drive was a 1TB drive as part of an experiment using the same technique.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 12:52 PM   #16
gamo62
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 413
Quote:
Originally Posted by netringer View Post
The 3TB Seagate internal drive is $89.

Everybody is saying the drives have fatal bug with head parking.

I'm going to send my new 3TB Seaqate external back to Amazon.
Would you post the link for the 3TB. Doing a search on Newegg shows the $169 price.
gamo62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 04:08 PM   #17
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 6,005
Quote:
Originally Posted by unitron View Post
It occurs to me that one might deliberately put a host protected area on a 3TB drive, using one of the more dangerous options of

hdparm

so that only 2TB are accessible, put an image on it with jmfs and expand, and see if an S3 HD or S4 will boot just out of curiosity, but even if successful you have only 2TB usable.

And there's always the risk of winding up with a rather expensive shiny silver paperweight.

I just got WinMFS to think a 2TB drive was a 1TB drive as part of an experiment using the same technique.
It is not the size it is the type of low level format that has to be used to address more than 2.2TB, at this point TiVo, or for that matter, Windows XP will not recognize that type of low level format. There is some driver software one can download to use the drive with XP, but in the case of special TiVo drivers only TiVo can provide them, or somebody above my pay grade.
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis,
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 09:37 PM   #18
mattack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: sunnyvale
Posts: 17,211
Gee, this is even worse than the ~10 year ago limit of 137 gigs… since they won't even boot at all.. At least you used to be able to use bigger drives but wasted that. Now in a couple of years, when only > 2 gig are available, we may be hosed.

(Then again, I've been using offline storage more often anyway lately… since most of the channels I record are not protected, and a huge proportion of what I record is off of OTA rebroadcast stations, which CAN'T be protected.)
mattack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 11:04 AM   #19
tootal2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 946
Is that a 6 gigs per second black drive or a slow green drive?

Quote:
Originally Posted by gamo62 View Post
Would you post the link for the 3TB. Doing a search on Newegg shows the $169 price.

tootal2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 12:09 PM   #20
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,550
Quote:
Originally Posted by tootal2 View Post
Is that a 6 gigs per second black drive or a slow green drive?
Moot point, the sale was last week or the week before.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:54 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |