TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-23-2013, 09:27 AM   #1
rcr2
It's you, not me.
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Monmouth County, NJ
Posts: 95
N11, occasionally N13 connection issues can't connect for a week

So - I have a Series 3, an HD, and a Series 2, all Lifetime subscriptions. Series 3 and HD both have 2 cablecards each.

I tired to download a movie last night via Amazon on my Series 3 and I was told the service wasn't available. This happened to me about a month ago, and I figured out the problem was that the TiVo hadn't connected in a few days for some reason. I forced a connection and everything went through. Hurrah.

But this time, I got an N11 error while on step 3 - Retrieving data/Downloading.

So I tried again. And again. And again.

I have FIOS, the newer Actiontec router, central NJ. Series 3 and HD are connected via ethernet/powerline. Series 2 via wireless G.

I checked the Series2 - connected fine via wireless.

I checked the HD - hadn't connected either, since a day after the Series 3 last daily attempt. Forced connection - same thing, N11.

Troubleshooting;
- rebooted everything (router, TiVo) first one at a time, tried to reconnect, then both at the same time
- Tried using the wireless. Rebooted everything again with wireless on the Series 3. No dice.
- on wireless and ethernet configs, pinged S3 Tivo from multiple computers, both wired and wireless. No problems. Typed IP address into browser, connected fine.
- started messing with router features, created rule with all the TCP and UDP ports; added the Series 3 TiVo. No dice.

Note this setup has been running for years without interruption.

Tried the TiVo chat guy and he was no help whatsoever. Still saying ports must not be opened.

The HD box, I forced connection with and it worked, went through, downloaded and loaded. Yippie.

Series 3 is still failing, though. I've gone through the 10-12 or so previous posts here and elsewhere quoting N11 or N13 issues.. most seem pretty old, and not much help.

Help me, TiVo Community, you're my only hope!
rcr2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2013, 05:11 PM   #2
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,542
I would try in the Network settings, to set the IP of your router for DNS and Gateway servers. Usually its 192.168.1.1.
__________________
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "S3HD")
Roamio, Oh Roamio!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 10:48 AM   #3
rcr2
It's you, not me.
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Monmouth County, NJ
Posts: 95
Already tried that as well - static IP, assign IP, wireless, not wireless. It actually connected yesterday after about 50 forced tries, though. But it still doesn't make sense why it goes N11 or N13. Those errors are not very descriptive, and you would think TiVo would be able to give a better idea of what causes it to happen.
rcr2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 10:47 PM   #4
PAP
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Ohio
Posts: 144
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcr2 View Post
Already tried that as well - static IP, assign IP, wireless, not wireless. It actually connected yesterday after about 50 forced tries, though. But it still doesn't make sense why it goes N11 or N13. Those errors are not very descriptive, and you would think TiVo would be able to give a better idea of what causes it to happen.
We just spent over an hour with a "tech" who was totally worthless from tivo.

He couldn't/wouldn't tell me the IP of the server to which the unit is trying to connect.

I can access my tivo by IP on my LAN and am having no other connectivity issues, but after an hour he disconnected abruptly saying we needed to talk to our router manufacturer or ISP.

We have two Tivo XLs both having same problem, failing connections.

Time warner, with tuning adapters FWIW.

I'm about ready to junk these things and go with whatever time warner will give me.
PAP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 10:54 PM   #5
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,542
Quote:
Originally Posted by PAP View Post
We just spent over an hour with a "tech" who was totally worthless from tivo.

He couldn't/wouldn't tell me the IP of the server to which the unit is trying to connect.

I can access my tivo by IP on my LAN and am having no other connectivity issues, but after an hour he disconnected abruptly saying we needed to talk to our router manufacturer or ISP.

We have two Tivo XLs both having same problem, failing connections.

Time warner, with tuning adapters FWIW.

I'm about ready to junk these things and go with whatever time warner will give me.
You do not need the Tivo Servers IP addresses. It would not help you any.

If you are having problems connecting wirelessly, you can try what I did that works. Go through your wireless settings again, and select where it says about gateway and DNS servers, set those to the IP of your router (usually 192.168.1.1) and it should try to connect.
__________________
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "S3HD")
Roamio, Oh Roamio!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 12:17 PM   #6
PAP
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Ohio
Posts: 144
I am on a wired connection.

I have my dns server set to my router, but I have gateway I think 255.255.255.0 as I recall.
PAP is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:00 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |