TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-13-2014, 06:21 PM   #1
Gerhard
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 229
Crummy power supplies!?

So,

I call TiVo today as one of my Premiers is continuously rebooting at the TiVo Welcome screen. (It's the familiar clicking of the a hard disk...)

Anyway, tech support tells me that it MUST be plugged into an outlet, as a power strip provides to much resistance, and will prevent the tivos power supply from working.

I say to the guy "you mean 10-300 ohms of copper wire breaks a TiVo?"

I then ask about UPSes and he tells me that all UPSes are "approved."

So I ask if the includes any UPSes that have a stepped wave form, as opposed to a true sine wave.

Question:

Are TiVo premiers really that flakey? Or was technical support smoking a little weed?

The answer effects if we start looking for another solution.
__________________
3 x Tivo Premier Units
1 x TivoHD unit

Every seen the movie office space? These Tivos are in the Xerox II graveyard:

2 x Tivo (original)
2 x Tivo2
1 x Tivo3 750GB
1 x TiVo HD 1.2TB
Gerhard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 06:40 PM   #2
Time_Lord
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 119
It amazes me what type of total B.S. tivo's customer support can come up with just to get you off the phone.

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk
Time_Lord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 07:02 PM   #3
CrispyCritter
Purple Ribbon Wearer
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: North Potomac, MD
Posts: 3,620
Sounds like a tech rep who doesn't quite understand the issues.

It is the case that a malfunctioning power strip or UPS can cause problems for a TiVo (or anything) and that plugging the TiVo into an outlet should eventually be part of the investigatory process for problems like yours, if only to try the no-cost options before telling you to replace the TiVo.

You have to realize that the TiVo rep absolutely CANNOT talk about the most likely problems and solutions here: namely a bad disk or power supply that can be replaced. Unlike desktop PC's, TiVos are not approved for the consumer opening them up (power supplies/capacitors are not shielded.) Therefore, legal liability issues prevent any representative of TiVo from even suggesting that a disk could be replaced. So they have to spend their time on much less probable causes like bad power strips. They're only other option is to tell you to replace the TiVo.
__________________
CrispyCritter
TiVo Roamio:Felix TiVo Premiere:Bob TiVo XL4:Fred TiVo HDXL:Sharon TiVoHD:Susan
CrispyCritter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 07:45 PM   #4
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,151
I'm running S2s and S3s plugged into a power strip plugged into a UPS with no ill effects, and it's not a super-expensive pure sine wave UPS, either, just your average APC or equivalent.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 09:51 PM   #5
Gerhard
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 229
Well,

I just ordered the latest 6 tuner unit and will just put a drive in the other one...

...or maybe I'll take it to work, plug it into a powerstrip, and then blow it up while we take a high speed film of it. We'll call it "TiVo and you - When power strips are counter-indicated."

Maybe my boss will approve it? Can't hurt to ask... make a hell of an internet post.
__________________
3 x Tivo Premier Units
1 x TivoHD unit

Every seen the movie office space? These Tivos are in the Xerox II graveyard:

2 x Tivo (original)
2 x Tivo2
1 x Tivo3 750GB
1 x TiVo HD 1.2TB
Gerhard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2014, 03:48 AM   #6
replaytv
I <3 Wintergreen
 
replaytv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Denver ish Colorado
Posts: 3,760
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gerhard View Post


Question:

Are TiVo premiers really that flakey? Or was technical support smoking a little weed?

The answer effects if we start looking for another solution.
They were smoking weed. We have a TiVo call center in Ft. Collins north of Denver, in Colorado, pot capital of the world.

-Sent using two cans and a string, or by doting and dashing in Morse code on my prison wall using my tin cup.
replaytv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2014, 06:19 AM   #7
dianebrat
Uncontrolled Force
 
dianebrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: boston'ish
Posts: 7,545
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gerhard View Post
...or maybe I'll take it to work, plug it into a powerstrip, and then blow it up while we take a high speed film of it. We'll call it "TiVo and you - When power strips are counter-indicated."
You're not getting it...
It's a standard troubleshooting step to make sure the user has nothing in the path between the outlet and the Tivo, while the CSR didn't have the right logic as to WHY, they were 100% in the right as to the need to go through the step.

CSRs have scripts they have to go through to troubleshoot problems, while they are allowed more freedom to vary from it in many companies the script is where they start. I'm not saying it's good, just saying that's how it works.
__________________
"There is a distinct difference between having an open mind and having a hole in your head from which your brain leaks out."
dianebrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:29 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |