TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Home Media Features & TiVoToGo
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-04-2012, 06:28 AM   #1
atomarchio
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 564
Need help with MP4 settings for playback on Streambaby

I am using Tivo Premiere/Streambaby for streaming MP4 files.

Most of the time it works fine, however, I am noticing a slowdown with some of my larger sized MP4 videos. I try to use handbrake but sometimes it will not convert the entire video file.

So I purchased Aimersoft Video Converter to convert larger MKV files to MP4 with the standard Aimersoft settings.

While it does work, I am noticing the video playback just stops and then I have to press the play button every few seconds to get the video to keep playing.

Are there any suggestions for settings I should change which would avoid the pause when streaming MP4 video files?

Please help. Thanks.
atomarchio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 08:06 AM   #2
ajayabb
Registered User
 
ajayabb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Moorestown NJ
Posts: 427
Have you tried mkvtivomp4. http://code.google.com/p/mkv2tivomp4/. Rather than transcode, it extracts or remuxes the h.264 video file from an mkv container into an mp4 file that streams natively to the Tivo.
__________________
A.J.


2 Roamio Plus Tivos
1 Tivo Mini
Running Pytivo and Streambaby
ajayabb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 10:08 AM   #3
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 8,862
Sounds to me like Streambaby is transcoding your video files on the fly (perhaps to mpeg2) and that the processor is not doing it fast enough to keep up with real time playback. i.e. Likely the converted videos you are generating are not TiVo compatible (or at least Streambaby doesn't think they are).
__________________
Roamio Pro (GigE)
Elite (MoCA)
Premiere (MoCA adapter)
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 01:49 PM   #4
atomarchio
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 564
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajayabb View Post
Have you tried mkvtivomp4. http://code.google.com/p/mkv2tivomp4/. Rather than transcode, it extracts or remuxes the h.264 video file from an mkv container into an mp4 file that streams natively to the Tivo.
I just followed the instructions and installed this. Once the file is converted, how do I find the folder it's in?
atomarchio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 07:36 PM   #5
ajayabb
Registered User
 
ajayabb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Moorestown NJ
Posts: 427
I think it places the mp4 file in the same folder as the original
__________________
A.J.


2 Roamio Plus Tivos
1 Tivo Mini
Running Pytivo and Streambaby
ajayabb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 08:24 PM   #6
atomarchio
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 564
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajayabb View Post
I think it places the mp4 file in the same folder as the original
I must have done something wrong installing then. I see a text file with the same name as the MKV file and a ".info" at the end.

Here is the contents of the file.

1: h264/AVC, 720p (16:9)
2: AAC, 2.0 channels, 48kHz

Can someone help me understand how to fix this? Please help. Thanks.
atomarchio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 06:05 PM   #7
ajayabb
Registered User
 
ajayabb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Moorestown NJ
Posts: 427
Did you install eac3to.exe and mp4box
__________________
A.J.


2 Roamio Plus Tivos
1 Tivo Mini
Running Pytivo and Streambaby
ajayabb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 06:41 AM   #8
atomarchio
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 564
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajayabb View Post
Did you install eac3to.exe and mp4box
I just installed MP4BOX and have this working. Wow, this is much easier/faster than transcoding!

I will be using this application often in the future. Thank you for the help.
atomarchio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 12:36 PM   #9
ajayabb
Registered User
 
ajayabb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Moorestown NJ
Posts: 427
Glad it worked
__________________
A.J.


2 Roamio Plus Tivos
1 Tivo Mini
Running Pytivo and Streambaby
ajayabb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:33 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |