TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-07-2013, 10:29 PM   #1
TiVoTom
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Napa
Posts: 62
Considering TiVo and Xfinity

I had TiVo years ago with DirecTV and really miss it.

I have Uverse now but am just starting to consider switching to TiVo and Xfinity but I have a few questions:

1. I have 3 TVs. If I have TiVo on one and Xfinity boxes on the other two how will that work?

2. I read in an Amazon review of the Premium TiVo that there is a lot of TiVo generated advertising. Is that the case and is it a problem?

3. Does the new TiVo work as well as the old DirecTV TiVo's as far as Wish List and scheduling programs? Anything new that will blow me away.

4. With Uverse they advertise recording 4 HD shows at the same time. Turns out it all depends on the copper length to your house. I get 2 HD and one SD stream. Are there any similar gotcha's with Xfininty?

5. I hear rumors of a 6 tuner TiVo. Sill Xfinity support that?

Any other thoughts or suggestions regarding switching from Uverse to Xfinity and TiVo?

Thanks,
Tom
TiVoTom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 10:45 PM   #2
mattack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: sunnyvale
Posts: 17,468
Premiere 4 and Premiere 4 XL (I think that's what it's called, the main difference is hard drive size), record 4 channels at once.

Yes, they work as well as your DirecTivo.. Better, since you can download (non protected) shows to a computer, or use with a Tivo Stream, etc.

Tivos have some ads, but they are MUCH less intrusive than what I've ever seen on cable boxes.

I hate ads, and wish I could pay EXTRA for no ads, but again, Tivo's level of ads is FAR less objectionable than others, even though they're "all over the place".. They're in inconspicuous places in most cases.
mattack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 11:03 PM   #3
TiVoTom
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Napa
Posts: 62
Thanks mattack.

Any thoughts on how a mix of TiVo and Xfininty boxes will work together?
TiVoTom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 11:56 PM   #4
supasta
Registered User
 
supasta's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Colorado
Posts: 2,938
Quote:
Originally Posted by TiVoTom View Post
Any thoughts on how a mix of TiVo and Xfininty boxes will work together?
They won't (work together). The Xfinity boxes will work as they do. The TiVo will work as it does.
__________________
TiVo Roamio Pro Lifetime ∙ TiVo Mini Lifetime

XBOX LIVE: fiftyfootfang
supasta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 08:54 AM   #5
markp99
TakoKichi
 
markp99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 8,918
I ran my Xfinity box beside my TiVo S3 box to permit access to on-demand stuff. Would just switch inputs to select the desired source. As noted above, they do not interact.

Fortunately, Xfinity on-demand stuff is supported by TiVo Premier in my area, so OUT went the cable box!

Woohoo!
markp99 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:30 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |