TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-10-2014, 01:59 PM   #1
AdeleL
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 1
Arrow Roamio Plus Remote lost volume/mute capability

5 month-old Roamio Plus, 2 year-old Vizio TV (M470VSE), remote cleaned twice with isopropanol only, no obstructions to IR sensors on TV, surge protected power supply (exterior ground wired to home service panel), Vizio remote still works fine
Our Roamio remote worked fine for 4 months.
Then its Volume up/down toggle started to fail intermittently
followed by intermittent function of Mute button.
Now neither functions at all. All other buttons function perfectly.
What I've tried:
1st- Software reset of remote TV code (tried all three codes for Vizio), followed menu commands explicitly twice (6 attempts). Remote's red LED lit up promptly (as expected) as I followed instructions. Found two of three codes will allow power button, channel toggle and numerical buttons to work on Vizio. However, neither of these two codes allowed volume or mute control.
2nd- Removed & reinstalled batteries, repeated code reset... still no volume/mute operation.
3rd-Software reset of remote to "default settings" by following directions involving amber LED and "thumbs down" button.
4th- Repeated 2nd (see above)
5th- Cycled power (10 second interrupt) on both Roamio and Vizio
6th- Repeated 1st (see above)
Still no love... how is this possible? It can't be the Vizio, as its remote still controls the mute and volume.
Must I purchase a new Roamio remote? And... why should I have to? It should be covered under warranty. I'm certain sludge isn't obstructing buttons or IR transmission. Any thoughts on how I should proceed, or am I doomed to keeping two remotes on the table?
AdeleL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2014, 02:38 PM   #2
Edmund
Remote Czar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Ca
Posts: 5,165
The TiVo remote volume and mute keys have lost conductivity, happens to all remotes. Yes a replacement is in order, buy two.
Edmund is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2014, 06:16 PM   #3
lgnad
Pantless Mofo
 
lgnad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 518
Why did you clean the remote with alcohol? Makes me think it was gooped up?

1. Try fresh batteries. The weaker the batteries, the weaker the IR signal.
2. Try the remote on another set in a different space, maybe the IR receiver on the tv is starting to die or something in the space is generating enough IR interference to cause a problem (plasma tv, screwy florescent light, etc)
3. Try a new remote. The slide remote is pretty swanky!
__________________
-Roamio Pro/Slide Pro
-Premiere Xl4
-Mini
-Stream (Gotta go unplug the sucker one of these days!)
lgnad is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:11 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |