TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-14-2012, 04:17 PM   #31
MeInDallas
Registered User
 
MeInDallas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 831
Lets also not forget that the new Elite/XL4 has a different motherboard and power supply as well. A lot of people think its the same as the base Premieres and its not. I havent found a picture of the new Premiere 4 but it probably has the same motherboard, power supply, and tuners that the Elite/XL4 has.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg EliteXL4.jpg (74.1 KB, 39 views)
File Type: jpg Premiere.jpg (69.7 KB, 38 views)
MeInDallas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2012, 05:53 PM   #32
kswartz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 20
Okay, so this is starting to sound like the opposite answer.

Is the CPU the same? On-board Memory?
kswartz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2012, 07:32 PM   #33
danjw1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 291
Quote:
Originally Posted by kswartz View Post
Can you elaborate a little on the MoCA support? I wasn't familiar with this until I just googled it now. Is this just to improve performance for carrying four signals across a single cable? I'm wondering if there's any benefit realized for this feature if you only have two tuners.

Cheers.
It can act as a MoCA/ethernet bridge and communicate with other MoCA devices. MoCA is a networking technology that works over coaxial cables. Looking at the specs from Tivo, it looks like the 4 has MoCA support as well. http://www.tivo.com/products/tivo-pr...specs.html#tab
__________________
Dan
Tivo HD (activated on Comcast)
danjw1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2012, 07:37 PM   #34
kswartz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by danjw1 View Post
It can act as a MoCA/ethernet bridge and communicate with other MoCA devices. MoCA is a networking technology that works over coaxial cables.
Ah, okay. Given I have no other MoCA devices (as far as I know), I'm guessing this is not of much use to me, personally. I'm also assuming that if one is relying solely on HDMI for device communication and wifi for network communication, this also won't provide any value-add.

Thanks for the info -- always nice to learn something new, I guess...
kswartz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2012, 08:32 PM   #35
BigJimOutlaw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,405
Quote:
Originally Posted by kswartz View Post
Okay, so this is starting to sound like the opposite answer.

Is the CPU the same? On-board Memory?
Same CPU, same amount of RAM. It's the same basic "platform" though it was designed to be modular so they can change things as needed.
BigJimOutlaw is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 01:50 AM   #36
kswartz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigJimOutlaw View Post
Same CPU, same amount of RAM. It's the same basic "platform" though it was designed to be modular so they can change things as needed.
Okay, so it sounds like they just tweaked a few things to accommodate the extra tuners. That seems logical. Thanks again!
kswartz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 07:38 PM   #37
danjw1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 291
Quote:
Originally Posted by kswartz View Post
Ah, okay. Given I have no other MoCA devices (as far as I know), I'm guessing this is not of much use to me, personally. I'm also assuming that if one is relying solely on HDMI for device communication and wifi for network communication, this also won't provide any value-add.

Thanks for the info -- always nice to learn something new, I guess...
Tivo suggests a wired connection for streaming, so if you intend to stream from one to another or use the Tivo Stream, then it might.
__________________
Dan
Tivo HD (activated on Comcast)
danjw1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 09:43 PM   #38
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 5,811
Quote:
Originally Posted by danjw1 View Post
Tivo suggests a wired connection for streaming, so if you intend to stream from one to another or use the Tivo Stream, then it might.
I have no problems streaming between my 4 TPs using TiVos "N" adapters at 5Mhz and a Netgear dual band router (3700).
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis, Also 1 not used Humax Series 2 with a DVD burner
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 01:06 AM   #39
cruiserandmax
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrtroo View Post
Optimization of the HD menus continues with an additional upgrade expected this fall.
Considering this device was released 2 1/2 years ago, the idea that any continuing optimization is even needed it nuts. Just saying...
cruiserandmax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 08:53 AM   #40
brentil
Registered User
 
brentil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 307
Where the 4 tuner system is going to come in very handy is if you want to add a TiVo Stream or TiVo Mini. These two devices will allow you to have 1 TiVo for the entire house so the conflict of tuning because much more important.

I'm also at a point now with my dual tuners that I want the 4 tuners as I'm missing shows because of conflicts and new season shows only being aired once. Yeah I can record them on another TiVo but I want to watch them on this TV and thanks to cable companies and their restrictions I can't copy the shows.
__________________

  • To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

  • To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
brentil is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:31 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |