TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-08-2013, 09:51 AM   #1
bigguy126
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 83
slingbox + tivo + pytivo

Here is what I want to do: slingbox 350 connected to my premiere xl-4 and use my Asus transformer prime android tablet - with the slingplayer app and use the tablet's micro hdmi port to connect to a remote tv for remote tv viewing.

Will this work?
any cautions?
Will I have full access to the tivo - including pytivo and vidmgr remotely?
I have a bunch of movies that I would like to stream remotely too via pytivo.

Thanks in advance.
bigguy126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2013, 12:57 PM   #2
jaredmwright
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 206
I do this exact thing, with the only difference being that I don't have an Android tablet with HDMI output, I have a Windows Phone and iPad that I use on my two Slingbox 350 and Solo remotely. The only question is if your Android outputs over HDMI while watching Slingbox, which I assume it does?

It works perfectly fine for me and I don't have any issues. It's too bad that TiVo restricts the stream from working outside the home with mobile devices, because it could replace my Slingbox if it was more fully featured and supported.
__________________
TiVo XL4 (2TB) HDMI
TiVo Roamio Plus (3TB) HDMI & Slingbox 350
(4) - TiVo Mini (MoCa) HDMI, two on each TiVo
DirecTV HR22 HDMI & Slingbox Solo
jaredmwright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 03:16 PM   #3
ADent
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 2,102
How well does FF thru commercials work with the Slingbox 350.
ADent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2013, 12:50 PM   #4
ShayL
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 196
Quote:
Originally Posted by ADent View Post
How well does FF thru commercials work with the Slingbox 350.
I can't speak for the 350, but the delay is horrible with the Pro HD. There is 3 or 4 second delay between button press and seeing it. I use quick skip.
ShayL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2013, 02:26 PM   #5
jaredmwright
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 206
Quote:
I can't speak for the 350, but the delay is horrible with the Pro HD. There is 3 or 4 second delay between button press and seeing it. I use quick skip.
I second this, 30 second skip is the best way, otherwise you have a hard time getting stopped at the right location.

Hopefully one day Slingbox will integrate with the TiVo using IP controls instead of IR and it will improve, along with decreasing the lag.

Note: If you have your Slingplayer set to Control mode on the PC app(they don't support any longer) this isn't an issue, but performance is horrible in my experience.
__________________
TiVo XL4 (2TB) HDMI
TiVo Roamio Plus (3TB) HDMI & Slingbox 350
(4) - TiVo Mini (MoCa) HDMI, two on each TiVo
DirecTV HR22 HDMI & Slingbox Solo
jaredmwright is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:47 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |