TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Underground Playground > TiVo Upgrade Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-28-2013, 06:32 PM   #1
SuMeRiaN
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2
Premiere XL Model TCD748000

I was just passed a TIVO that was not booting. STUCK at welcome screen. The power was cut off to the device abruptly and it hasn't boot since. Everything points to the HD having failed in reading however I remove the drive and I can hear and feel it spinning. I plugged the drive into windows 8 and in the system management I can see the unallocated 1TB drive.

Did I just mess up the boot sector?

I feel this drive has some life and would like to wipe and restart it. Everything I have read appears to require backing up the existing working drive and using this image on the new drive. I am not upgrading to larger disk, just hoping I can make the current one work.

Can someone please guide me. In reading I think I need an image for model and tools to load the image on the drive. Looking forward to hearing from the group. Thanks in advance.

I guess even if we get the disk right there is still a possibility the power supply is not functioning as designed but we will cross that road when we get there.

SuM
SuMeRiaN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 07:00 AM   #2
ggieseke
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2,795
When you cranked up Disk Manager it should have asked if you wanted to initialize the drive. If you said yes, the boot sector is gone. If you said no it should still be OK.

The software you need is at

http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=503261

I will send you a PM with s link to the image.
ggieseke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 07:50 AM   #3
SuMeRiaN
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by ggieseke View Post
When you cranked up Disk Manager it should have asked if you wanted to initialize the drive. If you said yes, the boot sector is gone. If you said no it should still be OK.

The software you need is at

SUM "removed link to post"

I will send you a PM with s link to the image.
I received your PM and am downloading the file. I am almost certain I did say YES to initialize to the disk. Can't see how the disk manager would see it unless I had. What is next for the boot sector?

Headed to your link now to read up.
SuMeRiaN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 08:36 AM   #4
ggieseke
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2,795
I'd just overwrite the whole drive with the clean image and start from scratch. It only takes a few minutes with the Quick Restore option and I don't get the impression that you're trying to save anything like old recordings.

Don't forget to run Clear & Delete Everything in the Premiere once you get it booting up again to "marry" the drive to the motherboard.
ggieseke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 08:52 PM   #5
jmbach
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 568
Would run the manufacturer diagnostic to make sure the drive is okay. Even if the SMART passes it might be reassigning sectors. If it is it needs to be replaced.
__________________
"Delay is preferable to error" - Thomas Jefferson
"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of Giants" - Sir Isaac Newton
jmbach is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2014, 02:54 PM   #6
nibblet787
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by ggieseke View Post
When you cranked up Disk Manager it should have asked if you wanted to initialize the drive. If you said yes, the boot sector is gone. If you said no it should still be OK.

I will send you a PM with s link to the image.
I'm a little late to the party here, but would that image perhaps still be available? My father-in-law has been one grump guy since his tivo died.
nibblet787 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2014, 11:56 AM   #7
tazman3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 2
Hard drive died a couple weeks ago and have a replacement drive. Just need the image now. So I'm looking for the TCD748000 image too.

Thanks
tazman3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2014, 12:26 PM   #8
ggieseke
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2,795
Quote:
Originally Posted by tazman3 View Post
Hard drive died a couple weeks ago and have a replacement drive. Just need the image now. So I'm looking for the TCD748000 image too.

Thanks
PM sent.
ggieseke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2014, 07:45 AM   #9
tazman3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by ggieseke View Post
PM sent.
That worked like a champ. Thanks.
tazman3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2014, 12:47 PM   #10
tapple
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 1
I also have a TCD748000 that bit the dust. Original drive just clicking. Any chance I could get that image as well?

Thanks for helping everyone like this!
tapple is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2014, 06:08 PM   #11
ggieseke
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2,795
Quote:
Originally Posted by tapple View Post
I also have a TCD748000 that bit the dust. Original drive just clicking. Any chance I could get that image as well?
PM sent.
ggieseke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2014, 10:16 PM   #12
kgr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 4
Hi Gary
I tried restoring the image you sent me in the main Dvr Backup And Restore Software for Windows (DvrBARS) thread, and it said completed. but the tivo still boot loops, so i guess the issue is not actually with the drive as I thought.

It stays on the 'Welcome! Starting Up' screen for about 4 seconds, and then reboots..

On the front of the tivo, all it has is the green circle, nothing else.

any ideas of what could be wrong? i tried unplugging everything, just the component cable to the tv and power.
kgr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2014, 11:29 PM   #13
jmbach
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 568
What model drive did you restore the image to and try to boot in the TiVo.
__________________
"Delay is preferable to error" - Thomas Jefferson
"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of Giants" - Sir Isaac Newton
jmbach is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2014, 11:33 PM   #14
kgr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 4
its a WD10evvs-63m5B0. its a 1TB drive.
kgr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2014, 12:03 AM   #15
jmbach
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 568
Did it pass the WD long test?
__________________
"Delay is preferable to error" - Thomas Jefferson
"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of Giants" - Sir Isaac Newton
jmbach is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2014, 08:38 PM   #16
kgr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 4
you are right, it failed the WD long test!. I'll get a different drive and try it out again. Thanks for all the help.
kgr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:31 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |