TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-23-2013, 11:10 AM   #1
eric102
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 107
$100 off Premiere/antenna combo at BB

Seems like a good deal for those shopping for an OTA package: http://www.bestbuy.com/site/TiVo+Pre...99199900050000

Good reviews on the antenna at BB and Amazon.
eric102 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2013, 09:14 AM   #2
ncbill
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Posts: 170
That's the antenna I use.

Mine is mounted outside on the end of my deck, w/ high-gain UHF amp (all my stations here are UHF).

I can get all my locals plus one out-of-market station whose transmitter is 60 miles away (according to tvfool.com) - that station is my preferred CBS feed.

Too bad the $9.99/month (for OTA-only) deal hasn't returned.
ncbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2013, 09:32 AM   #3
drkside
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 10
This still available?
drkside is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2013, 04:56 PM   #4
compnurd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 951
Quote:
Originally Posted by drkside View Post
This still available?
yeh looks like all week
compnurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 06:07 PM   #5
mickpetey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 21
I thought that the premiere doesn't support OTA. Is this a specific antenna that only works with Tivo?
mickpetey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 06:18 PM   #6
compnurd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 951
Quote:
Originally Posted by mickpetey View Post
I thought that the premiere doesn't support OTA. Is this a specific antenna that only works with Tivo?
The 2 Tuner Premiere Does. Only the XL4 and Elite Dont


I bought my first 2 Tivos this way. Kept one Antenna and sold the other
compnurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 06:31 PM   #7
mickpetey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by compnurd View Post
The 2 Tuner Premiere Does. Only the XL4 and Elite Dont


I bought my first 2 Tivos this way. Kept one Antenna and sold the other
Thank you for the clarification! I have been fighting with Comcast for the last 6 months they keep charging me for HBO and won't cancel it. All I need is a MLB app on TIVO for this summer. I'm late to the party on the antenna, is it possible to download mlb app on my pc and stream that over to the tivo? Anyone point me to the correct thread?
mickpetey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 07:30 PM   #8
P42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: 01460
Posts: 1,214
Quote:
Originally Posted by mickpetey View Post
I'm late to the party on the antenna, is it possible to download mlb app on my pc and stream that over to the tivo? Anyone point me to the correct thread?
No, but Roku will.
__________________

WTB: Sprint iPhone5s
P42 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2013, 06:31 PM   #9
P42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: 01460
Posts: 1,214
@MMaleto not knowing where you are makes it impossible for anyone to know how well this antenna might work for them. However, if they had your TV Fool results they could compare their with yours and hazard a guess.
__________________

WTB: Sprint iPhone5s
P42 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 12:56 PM   #10
HookedOnTivo
This is my title
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 215
Quote:
Originally Posted by eric102 View Post
Seems like a good deal for those shopping for an OTA package: http://www.bestbuy.com/site/TiVo+Pre...99199900050000

Good reviews on the antenna at BB and Amazon.
Seems like a good antenna. It's $99 at best buy, $75 at amazon.
HookedOnTivo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 03:19 PM   #11
Mashdoc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 30
Better Quality than Comcast

Quote:
Originally Posted by P42 View Post
@MMaleto not knowing where you are makes it impossible for anyone to know how well this antenna might work for them. However, if they had your TV Fool results they could compare their with yours and hazard a guess.
I have the TIVO Premiere and this antenna in the Atlanta area 50 miles south.

I get all the major network channels and about 28 more foreign language channels. Quality is better than Comcast.

Records well on TIVO.
Mashdoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 03:27 PM   #12
drcos
HD where available
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Venice FL
Posts: 238
I have TiVo Premiere XL and this antenna in Venice, FL, about 42 miles from Tuckers Grade where most of the Ft. Myers antennas are.
With no amp, and the antenna inside the house, I get the six Ft. Myers channels I wanted (CBS, NBC, ABC, PBS, Fox, CW) without an amplifier (but remember, this part of FL is fairly flat). Signal strength is between 60-85, with S/Ns between 25 and 30dB. So far, I see very few if any dropouts, and PQ is better than Comcast.
Now when the Bucs are blacked out on Tampa TV, I can see them in HD anyways.

In case you're keeping score, these are all UHF channels.
__________________
Hey, if I had some place to go I certainly wouldn't be in 'Cleve-Land'.
drcos is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:41 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |