TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Stream
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-27-2013, 02:07 PM   #1
webdoubt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1
TiVo Stream Download Failures

TiVo Stream, Router and TiVo Premiere all wired directly via Ethernet.

When a show won't download because of copyright restrictions does that mean that the show won't begin to download at all or will it start to download and then fail in the middle.

The reason I question this, is that some shows download perfectly 100% of the time, others fail 100% of the time at about the same point (8-9 minutes of content downloaded). For example, Storage Wars on A&E fails 100% of the time. American Pickers on History succeeds 100% of the time. The error message says nothing about copyright restrictions, it just says an error occurred and gives me the option to try again.

If it was a hardware problem or a problem with the connection I wouldn't think any shows would fail or succeed this consistently.

Anyone have any insight or similar experiences?
webdoubt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 02:50 PM   #2
button1066
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 140
The copyright restricted ones show up as a different color and won't transfer at all.

In the days when I used TiVo Desktop I seem to remember the transfers would sometimes fail if a file was corrupted and this could be a signal strength issue when they were recorded. Maybe some cable channels have better signal strength than others (I don't know) but if I was you I would check all cable connections and splitters.
button1066 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 07:33 PM   #3
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,899
Protected recordings are not downloadable, but streaming is a different function.

If you can start a download and it stops in the same place, there may be some type of glitch in the video and if you can pause it after that, you can resume the download if you are using another tivo or software such as KMTTG, since Tivo desktop does not have the capability to resume downloads from a paused point.
__________________
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "652")
Roamio! Oh, wait, Its Juliet!
OTA! OTA! OTA!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 04:36 PM   #4
ellinj
Seems Very Friendly
 
ellinj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: RI
Posts: 11,186
I have been getting a lot of failed transfers lately which I didn't get originally. Usually restarting the d/l fixes it. Not sure if a software update recently was the catalyst for this or not.
__________________
Wondering when the next trip to
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
will be ?
ellinj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 02:40 AM   #5
DavidTigerFan
Transporter Accident
 
DavidTigerFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 9,980
So has it been figured out why it's so slow in transferring? Is it transcoding and downloading?
__________________
The invasion is complete. :D

Xbox Live: DTigerFan
DavidTigerFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 11:30 AM   #6
ellinj
Seems Very Friendly
 
ellinj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: RI
Posts: 11,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidTigerFan View Post
So has it been figured out why it's so slow in transferring? Is it transcoding and downloading?
slow is relative, its still much faster then downloading to a pc and transcoding, but it isn't a straight copy at all.
__________________
Wondering when the next trip to
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
will be ?
ellinj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2013, 10:55 AM   #7
compnurd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 951
Quote:
Originally Posted by ellinj View Post
slow is relative, its still much faster then downloading to a pc and transcoding, but it isn't a straight copy at all.
It is probably a combo of both. I can transfer faster to my 4S then my Wife's 4.

I am sure an IPAD 4 can go faster that my 4S
compnurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 10:30 PM   #8
mattack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: sunnyvale
Posts: 17,468
Quote:
Originally Posted by ellinj View Post
slow is relative, its still much faster then downloading to a pc and transcoding, but it isn't a straight copy at all.
It isn't a straight copy, but it sure seems like the transcoding is FASTER than the transfer, so the transcoding isn't the bottleneck.
mattack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 11:13 PM   #9
ellinj
Seems Very Friendly
 
ellinj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: RI
Posts: 11,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattack View Post
It isn't a straight copy, but it sure seems like the transcoding is FASTER than the transfer, so the transcoding isn't the bottleneck.
The stream has a special chip that can do transcoding of multiple streams in faster then real time, something your pc can't do.
__________________
Wondering when the next trip to
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
will be ?
ellinj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 10:33 PM   #10
mattack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: sunnyvale
Posts: 17,468
Yes, I know that.
mattack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 12:54 PM   #11
ellinj
Seems Very Friendly
 
ellinj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: RI
Posts: 11,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattack View Post
Yes, I know that.
And we all know it isn't a straight copy, so what are you trying to prove. This thread is about failed downloads.
__________________
Wondering when the next trip to
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
will be ?
ellinj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2013, 09:18 AM   #12
good2me
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThAbtO View Post
Protected recordings are not downloadable, but streaming is a different function.
Thats my question before I think about buying this. How or is it possible to know what shows I have recorded would be protected? Don't want to get this only to find out that most of the shows I have recorded are protected. The shows I record are scripted dramas, i.e.: NCIS, Elementary, and some from Showtime and HBO.
good2me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2013, 10:05 AM   #13
ellinj
Seems Very Friendly
 
ellinj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: RI
Posts: 11,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by good2me View Post
Thats my question before I think about buying this. How or is it possible to know what shows I have recorded would be protected? Don't want to get this only to find out that most of the shows I have recorded are protected. The shows I record are scripted dramas, i.e.: NCIS, Elementary, and some from Showtime and HBO.
Anything on showtime will be protected, broadcast shows on network tv will be ok. Shows on basic cable like TBS/TNT/USA etc, may or may not be protected depending on your cable provider.
__________________
Wondering when the next trip to
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
will be ?
ellinj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2013, 02:37 PM   #14
good2me
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
Thanks for the reply, guess Ill wait for a while, can buy 60 hrs of SD from iTunes for what this cost, that should hold me for a bit, since I only would use it when out of town, which isnt very often.
good2me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2013, 10:55 PM   #15
mattack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: sunnyvale
Posts: 17,468
Quote:
Originally Posted by ellinj View Post
And we all know it isn't a straight copy, so what are you trying to prove. This thread is about failed downloads.
I wasn't trying to prove anything, I was trying to show that it's not "so slow", since even though it is doing transcoding, THAT HARDWARE is faster than realtime, and the speed seems ABOUT the same if not faster as when downloading a show to a computer (which doesn't involve ANY transcoding).
mattack is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:42 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |