TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-26-2013, 10:08 PM   #1
SamD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 20
TiVo HD doesn't start up

This happened after moving M-Card from TiVo HD to new Premier XL4.
Decided to dedicated TiVo HD to OTA viewing and recording, implemented Guided Setup, attached antenna; Tivo made channel search, started download of program info...and suddenly rebooted. After this the infinite loop started: "Powering Up", " Almost there...", "Powering Up", " Almost there..." and so on.
Waited for four hours, tried to disconnect DVR Expander, no change, same infinite loop.
Is there any way to force full startup? Or some loader got corrupted on hard drive and device is a dead meat?
SamD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 06:43 AM   #2
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 12,456
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamD View Post
This happened after moving M-Card from TiVo HD to new Premier XL4.
Decided to dedicated TiVo HD to OTA viewing and recording, implemented Guided Setup, attached antenna; Tivo made channel search, started download of program info...and suddenly rebooted. After this the infinite loop started: "Powering Up", " Almost there...", "Powering Up", " Almost there..." and so on.
Waited for four hours, tried to disconnect DVR Expander, no change, same infinite loop.
Is there any way to force full startup? Or some loader got corrupted on hard drive and device is a dead meat?
I assume you mean a TCD652160?

Always suspect "capacitor plague" in the power supply on those when you get weird symptoms.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 10:52 AM   #3
SamD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 20
Yes, TCD652160. Interesting that I unplugged it and left for a few hours. Turned it on and it started up, reached the small animated movie it always plays on starting...and fall into Powering up loop again...

Last edited by SamD : 01-27-2013 at 11:11 AM.
SamD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 10:56 AM   #4
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 12,456
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamD View Post
Yes, TCD652160. Interesting that I unplug it and left for a few hours. Turned it on and it started up, reached the small animated movie it always plays on starting...and fall into Powering up loop again...
Time to break out the #10 Torx bit and eyeball the power supply caps.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:00 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |