TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-30-2012, 11:28 PM   #1
Ixne
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 4
Drive upgrade - input source disappeared?

I'm trying to upgrade my 320GB drive to a 2TB drive using the Linux boot CDrom. I'm doing this on a laptop with the destination 2TB drive in an eSATA enclosure and the original drive connected via USB-to-SATA adapter. I get as far as Copying the contents; this runs for 8-10 minutes, then it errors out with "Input source disappeared". Has anyone seen this before? I can't seem to find anything about it. Thanks!
Ixne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 11:47 PM   #2
HockeyFan
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ixne View Post
I'm trying to upgrade my 320GB drive to a 2TB drive using the Linux boot CDrom. I'm doing this on a laptop with the destination 2TB drive in an eSATA enclosure and the original drive connected via USB-to-SATA adapter. I get as far as Copying the contents; this runs for 8-10 minutes, then it errors out with "Input source disappeared". Has anyone seen this before? I can't seem to find anything about it. Thanks!
Yes.
Both need to be connected sata only.
Use desktop computer
without enclosure.
Otherwise you'll be in an endless loop of
Failures. won't work with laptop with
Either USB to esata or just USB .
copies bit-by-bit. All shows, settings,
And season passes, are transferred.

There's another sub-forum here that
Can help if you run into further issues
after copying.

Good luck

Last edited by HockeyFan : 12-30-2012 at 11:55 PM.
HockeyFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 08:40 AM   #3
steve614
what ru lookin at?
 
steve614's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 10,722
If you are trying to upgrade a Premiere, then you need to use the JMFS software.

http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...47#post8143047
__________________
The Man Prayer: I'm a man ...... I can change ...... If I have to ...... I guess.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

F*CK CANCER!
steve614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 08:56 AM   #4
lillevig
Hot in West Texas
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Angelo, TX
Posts: 1,760
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ixne View Post
I'm trying to upgrade my 320GB drive to a 2TB drive using the Linux boot CDrom. I'm doing this on a laptop with the destination 2TB drive in an eSATA enclosure and the original drive connected via USB-to-SATA adapter. I get as far as Copying the contents; this runs for 8-10 minutes, then it errors out with "Input source disappeared". Has anyone seen this before? I can't seem to find anything about it. Thanks!
As was stated, only JMFS will work for Premiere and newer drives. I would think that you can connect via the USB because the older SW allows that and I believe that JMFS is based on the older SW.
__________________
"I'm just one story in a two story town." Bon Jovi
lillevig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 12:09 PM   #5
99gixxer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 17
I would make sure that you disable power saving while you are trying to copy the drives - sounds like it might be shutting devices down due to inactivity.
99gixxer is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:43 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |