TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 05-27-2014, 07:22 PM   #1
missingwings
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 10
Need Roamio Purchase Advice

With one exception, I need none of the additional features provided by the Roamio Plus or the Roamio Pro beyond those of the basic Roamio. However, I would like to have more than the Roamio’s “up to 75 hours of HD” storage capacity. I assume that by connecting an external hard drive to the Roamio’s “External Storage” port the storage capacity will be increased accordingly.

Q1. What exactly constitutes a “TiVo-verified external hard drive” (e.g. would a 500-Gb Seagate USB 2.0 FreeAgent SATA Hard Drive, m/n ST305004FDA2E1-RK qualify?)

Q2. Does the Roamio use the external drive only when the internal storage is maxed out, or does it use the external drive first, or some other scheme?

Q3. Also, can the Roamio send its output signal to one TV from the HDMI port while simultaneously sending the same signal to a second TV via the composite output?
missingwings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2014, 08:37 PM   #2
CoxInPHX
COX Communications
 
CoxInPHX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,389
First, you would be better off with waiting the 90 day warranty period and then replacing the internal hardrive with a 2TB or 3TB, Western Digital AV-GP Harddrive,
either a
WD20EURX - http://www.amazon.com/Western-Digita...dp/B00DXOJJQQ/
or a
WD30EURX - http://www.amazon.com/Western-Digita...dp/B00DXFEQGI/

Roamio Hard Drive Upgrade Info Thread

Q1.
Only the Western Digital My Book AV DVR Expander 1TB will work with a TiVo:
https://www.tivo.com/shop/detail/dvr-expander
http://www.amazon.com/Book-Expander-...dp/B003MVZ60S/

Q2.
The TiVo splits recordings across both HDDs once an External is connected, if the External fails you lose all recordings, best to install a larger internal HDD first.

Q3.
Never tried, I believe the answer is yes, though. NO
The Base Roamio does not have standard Component or Composite AV jacks though, you would need to purchase the Break-Out kit from TiVo also.
https://www.tivo.com/shop/detail/av-cable


__________________
Roamio Pro, XL4, Premiere 2TB-WD20EURS, & Mini, 20.4.2, w/ Cisco SDV TA, FW F.2001, Cisco CC FW PKEY1.5.3_F.p.1301

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Last edited by CoxInPHX : 05-28-2014 at 03:32 AM.
CoxInPHX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2014, 12:43 AM   #3
HarperVision
Registered User
 
HarperVision's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,324
He wouldn't have to worry about voiding his warranty and to wait the 90 days for the warranty if he bought from somewhere like best buy and got the warranty through them.

Q3's answer is no, not yes. It only has one video decoder which is used for all the outputs simultaneously. The basic Roamio only has HDMI and the small 1/8" AV jack which is composite video only. No component.
__________________
Dave Harper
Director, Event Technology
ISF, CTS
HarperVision is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2014, 03:26 AM   #4
CoxInPHX
COX Communications
 
CoxInPHX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,389
That is odd, that the Mini supports Component via Break-out AV cables but the base Roamio does not.
EDIT: I do now see the Mini has two separate jacks.

Also strange that TiVo's website has an X for Component Video output on the Plus/Pro as well as the base Roamio on the Specifications.
https://www.tivo.com/shop/roamio
__________________
Roamio Pro, XL4, Premiere 2TB-WD20EURS, & Mini, 20.4.2, w/ Cisco SDV TA, FW F.2001, Cisco CC FW PKEY1.5.3_F.p.1301

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

CoxInPHX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2014, 08:01 AM   #5
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 14,038
The Mini was released around half a year prior to the Roamio models.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2014, 09:01 AM   #6
poppagene
User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 703
Quote:
Originally Posted by missingwings View Post

Q3. Also, can the Roamio send its output signal to one TV from the HDMI port while simultaneously sending the same signal to a second TV via the composite output?
Yes for the basic as well as the pro and plus according to this thread: http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=511825

You will need to get an optional cable to utilize the composite output on the basic roamio.
poppagene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2014, 09:07 AM   #7
Grakthis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 659
Quote:
Originally Posted by missingwings View Post
With one exception, I need none of the additional features provided by the Roamio Plus or the Roamio Pro beyond those of the basic Roamio.
I just want to toss out there that you think, right now, you don't need the 6 tuners. And you might be right, today. But someday you might want to add minis. And as soon as you add 2 minis, you will be glad you have 6 tuners.

Something to chew on.
Grakthis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2014, 11:05 AM   #8
tarheelblue32
Registered User
 
tarheelblue32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 1,362
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoxInPHX View Post
That is odd, that the Mini supports Component via Break-out AV cables but the base Roamio does not.
EDIT: I do now see the Mini has two separate jacks.

Also strange that TiVo's website has an X for Component Video output on the Plus/Pro as well as the base Roamio on the Specifications.
https://www.tivo.com/shop/roamio
Yeah that's wrong. The Plus and Pro models have both composite and component outputs. Someone should email TiVo Margaret and get her to fix that on the TiVo website.
tarheelblue32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2014, 12:26 PM   #9
HarperVision
Registered User
 
HarperVision's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,324
Quote:
Originally Posted by poppagene View Post
Yes for the basic as well as the pro and plus according to this thread: http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=511825 You will need to get an optional cable to utilize the composite output on the basic roamio.
I misread the original question, you and CoxinPhx are right. I was thinking he was asking if it can output a separate channel's video from each output (HDMI & composite). I could swear that's what was asked, man I must be losing it, haha!
__________________
Dave Harper
Director, Event Technology
ISF, CTS
HarperVision is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2014, 04:43 PM   #10
eboydog
Just TiVo'ing.....
 
eboydog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 904
Quote:
Originally Posted by missingwings View Post
With one exception, I need none of the additional features provided by the Roamio Plus or the Roamio Pro beyond those of the basic Roamio. However, I would like to have more than the Roamio’s “up to 75 hours of HD” storage capacity. I assume that by connecting an external hard drive to the Roamio’s “External Storage” port the storage capacity will be increased accordingly.

Q1. What exactly constitutes a “TiVo-verified external hard drive” (e.g. would a 500-Gb Seagate USB 2.0 FreeAgent SATA Hard Drive, m/n ST305004FDA2E1-RK qualify?)

Q2. Does the Roamio use the external drive only when the internal storage is maxed out, or does it use the external drive first, or some other scheme?

Q3. Also, can the Roamio send its output signal to one TV from the HDMI port while simultaneously sending the same signal to a second TV via the composite output?
Just to promote my personal sale, I have a Roamio basic that I upgraded to 3tb last February, been in use just four months and if you buy it now, I can arrange a service transfer which will give you a no commitment monthly fee of $9.95 monthly. Pm me or check my thread in buy/sell section...... No TiVo warranty would be the only negitive thing about this one of mine, I can though throw in a breakout AV cable set if you need it, TiVo gave me a couple free.

I just upgraded to a Pro and have two Roamio basics for sale, I needed more tuners so a couple months ago I tried running two basics instead of a plus or pro, it got too complicated so bit the bullet and just bought a Pro.
__________________
TiVo Roamio Pro
TiVo Roamio Plus (3tb)
TiVo Mini (three)
TiVo Premiere


Last edited by eboydog : 05-28-2014 at 04:48 PM.
eboydog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2014, 06:09 PM   #11
missingwings
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 10
To all (CoxInPHX, HarperVision, aaronwt, poppagene, Grakthis, tarheelblue32, eboydog),

I only got one emailed reply notification (thanks CoxInPHX), so I didn’t realize all of you others had responded. You have all been very helpful and given me much to mull over – I appreciate everyone’s input.

Grakthis – I probably won’t ever add a mini as our retirement home is very small, but it’s still worth considering the Plus or Pro.

Eboydog – The Roamio purchase is still a ways off, but your offer is tempting. If you still have it in a couple months, let me know.
missingwings is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVo® is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:35 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |