TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-06-2013, 08:23 PM   #1
rfcarpentier
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 15
reboots after short time

Tivo Premiere reboots over and over

A few weeks ago one of my Tivo Premiere units started becoming increasingly unstable.

At first I found it locked up on a channel with a pink screen. The unit became more unstable that it would lock within 5 mins of just sitting at menu screen.

Put in another drive from a spare Tivo and did a clear and delete. Once everything was setup I called Cablevision to redo the cable card. Everything worked great.

The box ran from 1230am et today till about 5 today. At some point it started rebooting till I returned home at 8pm. I got it to stay up for 45mins and now it loops at welcome screen.

Any suggestions would be appreciated
__________________
2 Tivo Premiere with Cablecard from CV
1 Tivo HD with Cablecard from CV


2 Pioneer DVR-810HS with SA 4200 Cablebox from CV (offline at the moment need repairs)
1 Sony Series 1 (retired)
rfcarpentier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2013, 06:04 PM   #2
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,550
Quote:
Originally Posted by rfcarpentier View Post
Tivo Premiere reboots over and over

A few weeks ago one of my Tivo Premiere units started becoming increasingly unstable.

At first I found it locked up on a channel with a pink screen. The unit became more unstable that it would lock within 5 mins of just sitting at menu screen.

Put in another drive from a spare Tivo and did a clear and delete. Once everything was setup I called Cablevision to redo the cable card. Everything worked great.

The box ran from 1230am et today till about 5 today. At some point it started rebooting till I returned home at 8pm. I got it to stay up for 45mins and now it loops at welcome screen.

Any suggestions would be appreciated

Is it on a UPS?

Did you check that second drive with wdidle3.exe /R to see if Intellipark is involved?

If the rebooting was random I'd say maybe the power supply (if not on a UPS) was marginal and couldn't ride out spikes and sags on the line as well as other stuff in your house, but putting on the welcome screen, and then never making it to the few more minutes screen, but losing video for an instant and then going back to the welcome screen indicates something causing problems with the motherboard and drive communicating with each other well enough to "hand off" to the drive, which is where the few more minutes screen would come from.

Got a voltmeter?
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:55 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |