TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-15-2013, 04:01 PM   #1
Emacee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 158
Thumbs down Inaccurate Schedule

It's customary to blame schedule inaccuracies on Tribune Media. However, last week was the season premiere of Justified on FX. It was scheduled to run at 10pm and 11pm. Due to a schedule conflict at 10pm, I recorded the 11pm showing. I realized I got the last five minutes of the 10pm showing first and missed five minutes of the 11pm when showing when the recording cut off.

Tivo's program guide showed Justified running one hour - starting and ending on the hour. But I checked Comcast's program guide and they had the correct times and showed the program running 65 minutes. Comcast boxes would record the start and end of the show correctly. Comcast boxes' on screen listings carry a TV Guide logo. Maybe their listings are more accurate than Tribune Media's.

If somebody from Tivo reads this, I hope they will talk to Tribune about it. We pay Tivo for program listings and Tivo pays Tribune (Tivo must be one of their biggest clients). I think we have a right to expect accurate - to the minute - listings, without having programs cut off at the beginning or end.
__________________
Tivo Premiere w/ Comcast Xfinity
20.4.4*
TiVo Series3 HD (with upgraded 1g hard drive) w/ Antenna
Previously:
Hughes DirecTivo (02-06)
Phillips Series1 (99-03)
Emacee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 06:53 PM   #2
WhiskeyTango
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 5,777
Mine recorded just fine at 10pm, Duration 1:06.
WhiskeyTango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 07:31 PM   #3
HomeUser
Registered User
 
HomeUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: A2 Michigan
Posts: 2,318
The TiVo DVR recorded 1hr 6min here, WOW Detroit.
You should be able to re-record it S4 E1 "Hole in the Wall" re-airs again tonight.
__________________
VicW, Ex-Comcast customer ... And loving it!.
HomeUser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 07:39 PM   #4
efilippi
Registered User
 
efilippi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Mundelein, Il
Posts: 4,169
Worked perfectly with Comcast in Chicago, as well. Must be a Phili thing.
__________________
Ed
Comcast cable Blast
Tivo Roamio Pro
efilippi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 08:44 PM   #5
scandia101
Just the facts ma'am
 
scandia101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: MN, greater TC metro area
Posts: 9,405
I also recorded the second airing last week, but had no issues, it recorded 1:06 just like it was scheduled.
__________________
discipuli nostrum bardissimi sunt.
scandia101 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 08:45 PM   #6
Arcady
Stargate Fan
 
Arcady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,894
It was cut off on Insight Cable here in Louisville.
__________________
Roamio Pro (3TB)
Premiere Elite (2TB)
Premiere (320GB)
Two TiVo Minis

Left DirecTV 4/15/07. Left TWC 8/8/11. Now on Comcast Xfinity.
Arcady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 09:08 PM   #7
CraigK
(unspecified)
 
CraigK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: North of Seattle
Posts: 1,019
Comcast in Seattle recorded 60 minutes. Cut off just as they were saying stay tuned for scenes from the upcoming season so I didn't miss any of the actual episode.
__________________
"Work hard, rock hard, eat hard, sleep hard, grow big, wear glasses if you need 'em!"
CraigK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 11:32 PM   #8
astrohip
Stuart F
 
astrohip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Houston & Brenham TX
Posts: 7,520
Comcast Houston recorded one hour on the first (premiere) showing. Cut off 6 minutes. Luckily we watched "close to live", so we finished watching from the buffer.

Odd that some places got hit and others didn't.
astrohip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 11:55 PM   #9
Phil Broughton
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: San Diego
Posts: 5
Cox San Diego also cut off

now sure how much; the inmate/trustee was walking down the corridor in the cell area. "the end...."
Phil Broughton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 10:26 AM   #10
astrohip
Stuart F
 
astrohip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Houston & Brenham TX
Posts: 7,520
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phil Broughton View Post
now sure how much; the inmate/trustee was walking down the corridor in the cell area. "the end...."
You missed a key and critical final scene. Another minute or two of show, and a couple minutes of "coming this season" scenes.
astrohip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 11:05 AM   #11
Arcady
Stargate Fan
 
Arcady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,894
I recorded the rerun, padded it with an extra minute, and it still cut off the last scene.

We ended up downloading the episode just to see what happened.
__________________
Roamio Pro (3TB)
Premiere Elite (2TB)
Premiere (320GB)
Two TiVo Minis

Left DirecTV 4/15/07. Left TWC 8/8/11. Now on Comcast Xfinity.
Arcady is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:14 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |