TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-08-2012, 05:01 PM   #1
troydog
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2
Can I use this without tivo service

Hi

I order a tivo from woot it is the TCD746320. I wonder can it be used without tivo service?

I ask this since I need a hdtv tuner for my projector. I have over the air tv and do not care about the rec or anything else like the guide. I just want to be able to use it as a tuner. I have roku for the other things.

If it can not that is cool I will give it to the junk man. lol
troydog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 05:06 PM   #2
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 14,341
you can use it as a tuner. No guide, buffer, dual tuners, recording, FF, pausing, or rewinding though. Basically no features that make it a TiVo.
At least for now. At some point I guess they could even eliminate viewing any channels.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic OTA
40TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 05:10 PM   #3
troydog
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2
Thanks so much for the info. I only get about 6 over the air networks and watch only one antenna tv so this will be great.
troydog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 05:20 PM   #4
jrtroo
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,602
Search is your friend. There are gobs more data on this, with multiple recent threads.
__________________
TiVo Owner
jrtroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 05:46 PM   #5
Arcady
Stargate Fan
 
Arcady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,895
Can I drive my new Ferrari without any gas in it?
__________________
Roamio Pro (3TB)
Premiere Elite (2TB)
Premiere (320GB)
Two TiVo Minis

Left DirecTV 4/15/07. Left TWC 8/8/11. Now on Comcast Xfinity.
Arcady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 05:54 PM   #6
rvsj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arcady View Post
Can I drive my new Ferrari without any gas in it?
Yes if you only drive it down hill.

rvsj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 06:28 PM   #7
scandia101
Just the facts ma'am
 
scandia101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: MN, greater TC metro area
Posts: 9,428
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arcady View Post
Can I drive my new Ferrari without any gas in it?
bad analogy
__________________
discipuli nostrum bardissimi sunt.
scandia101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 03:11 AM   #8
Arcady
Stargate Fan
 
Arcady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,895
Why is it a bad analogy? I can still turn on the car and listen to the radio, but I can't go anywhere. And when the battery dies, I can't even do that.

In the case of a Ferrari, I could just buy a house instead. But then I would need to pay for electricity and natural gas. (And cable TV service and my TiVo fees.)

If you can't afford to pay for DVR service, get a new job or go on welfare. You don't need a DVR. Buy food and hide.
__________________
Roamio Pro (3TB)
Premiere Elite (2TB)
Premiere (320GB)
Two TiVo Minis

Left DirecTV 4/15/07. Left TWC 8/8/11. Now on Comcast Xfinity.
Arcady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 08:11 AM   #9
gonzotek
tivo_xml developer
 
gonzotek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Outside Phildadelphia
Posts: 2,233
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arcady View Post
If you can't afford to pay for DVR service, get a new job or go on welfare. You don't need a DVR. Buy food and hide.
OP didn't state anything about his personal finance situation. OP posted that they needed an HD tuner for a projector. The unsubbed TiVo Premiere is an HD tuner. The recent deal from Woot put the cost at ~$50. This seems to be more-or-less in-line with other boxes with the same function. The TiVo peanut is a very nice remote compared to many other low-cost STB remotes. That alone might be worth a few dollars more to some people, versus some of the other tuners available.
__________________
Follow @pytivo on Twitter for project updates and more!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
A Web app for Roku Remote Control
gonzotek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 11:02 AM   #10
L David Matheny
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 1,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
you can use it as a tuner. No guide, buffer, dual tuners, recording, FF, pausing, or rewinding though. Basically no features that make it a TiVo.
At least for now. At some point I guess they could even eliminate viewing any channels.
But try not connecting it to the Internet, and it may retain old enough software to allow dual-tuner buffering of live TV. The latest updates cripple more features.
L David Matheny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 03:03 PM   #11
ComputerLover
Registered User
 
ComputerLover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Kent,WAshington
Posts: 16
my tivo premiere use comcast m card only -don't need dvr record with tivo service
ComputerLover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 11:35 AM   #12
heyted
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: South Florida
Posts: 171
Quote:
Originally Posted by troydog View Post
I have over the air tv
I have an unsubscribed TiVo Premiere with software version 14.8c-01-3-746, and I do not think it can be used as an OTA tuner. I see this message on one of the screens: "You will not be able to watch or record programs received via antenna." I do use the Premiere as a cable tuner as described at http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...=462985&page=2.
heyted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 12:53 PM   #13
steve614
what ru lookin at?
 
steve614's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 10,722
I have an unsubscribed Premiere on OTA only, and it works just fine as a digital tuner, currently on v20.2.
IIRC the live buffers were removed with v14.9.
__________________
The Man Prayer: I'm a man ...... I can change ...... If I have to ...... I guess.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

F*CK CANCER!
steve614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 02:49 PM   #14
scandia101
Just the facts ma'am
 
scandia101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: MN, greater TC metro area
Posts: 9,428
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arcady View Post
Why is it a bad analogy? I can still turn on the car and listen to the radio, but I can't go anywhere. And when the battery dies, I can't even do that.
For starters
That is not operating the car, it's operating a radio.
__________________
discipuli nostrum bardissimi sunt.
scandia101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 03:36 PM   #15
Arcady
Stargate Fan
 
Arcady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,895
The radio is OTA reception. The car is the rest of the TiVo (recording, Netflix, schedules, MRV, and all the other things a TiVo does other than tune in programming.)
__________________
Roamio Pro (3TB)
Premiere Elite (2TB)
Premiere (320GB)
Two TiVo Minis

Left DirecTV 4/15/07. Left TWC 8/8/11. Now on Comcast Xfinity.
Arcady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 06:03 PM   #16
lillevig
Hot in West Texas
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Angelo, TX
Posts: 1,760
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arcady View Post
Can I drive my new Ferrari without any gas in it?
As long as you are going downhill.
__________________
"I'm just one story in a two story town." Bon Jovi
lillevig is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:44 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |