TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-14-2014, 03:12 PM   #31
JoeKustra
Cable only
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Ashland, PA 17921 TCD746320/500
Posts: 307
Two units two years old. After summer update both have done a complete reboot during playback. Last power cycle was 14 days ago.
After reboot finished, the playback seems to have continued. I selected the program, selected continue, and it jumped back to the reboot point.
JoeKustra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2014, 11:14 PM   #32
knarf829
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 13
Also getting reboots on my previously rock-solid XL4 following the recent update. Yesterday's was during a recording. When it came back up, it briefly displayed the message that there was a problem with the TiVo service but I could continue using it as normal before coming back fully. Was not a power outage.

Also, the "Aspect Correction Mode" setting does not stick after a restart since the update. I have it on "Panel" and it says Panel in the settings, but SD content is showing as if it was set to "Full" until I go into the setting, switch it, and then switch it back. Then it will stay until the next power outage or shut down.

Not a well tested update. Sure is purty, though.
knarf829 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2014, 01:21 PM   #33
ddunnrn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 5
Reboots since software update

Like other users posted here, I've been having seemingly random reboots with my xl4 since the summer software update. It's been occurring every 2 days or so, and the only commonality I have noticed is that it seems to happen when I use the remote to access "My Tivo" or some other menu. I just chatted tivo tech, gave them requested diagnostic info, and they suggested it was the cable connection. I doubted that because the tivo only started rebooting since the new update, and the cable connection hasn't been changed since the box was activated almost a year ago. I guess tivo doesn't wart to admit a software problem. Hopefully the next update will solve the problem.
ddunnrn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2014, 11:54 PM   #34
nooneuknow
TiVo User Since 2007
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Cox Cable Market, NV
Posts: 2,653
Quote:
Originally Posted by ddunnrn View Post
Like other users posted here, I've been having seemingly random reboots with my xl4 since the summer software update. It's been occurring every 2 days or so, and the only commonality I have noticed is that it seems to happen when I use the remote to access "My Tivo" or some other menu. I just chatted tivo tech, gave them requested diagnostic info, and they suggested it was the cable connection. I doubted that because the tivo only started rebooting since the new update, and the cable connection hasn't been changed since the box was activated almost a year ago. I guess tivo doesn't wart to admit a software problem. Hopefully the next update will solve the problem.
TiVo's (CSRs) do tend to avoid admitting anything is TiVo's fault. That sounds like a typical TiVo support experience. There are different tier levels in support. If you don't say the words "I want the support ticket number for this, and I want it escalated to a higher level", the outsourced support provider has just gotten rid of you, without having to work for their money. This assumes that you actually did everything they asked you to try, and provided all the info they requested from you. If so, it's not right.

Call back, and keep escalating, if you are up to playing their games by their rules. Get names and details for every interaction.

As far as hoping for an update to fix an update... Every update tends to break something else. If you are lucky, it will fix the severe issue, and only break something you never use, or rarely use.

If you just let them turn you away, at tier-1 level, and don't pursue things, the odds that your issue will make its way to those who are supposed to fix things, are not in your favor.
__________________
Cisco tuning adapters should never be used inline (using the TA coax OUT port) to connect a TiVo, if MoCA is in use. Use a splitter w/PoE filter on leg to TA, use other leg for the TiVo. Enjoy!
nooneuknow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2014, 01:16 PM   #35
NorthAlabama
tabasco rules
 
NorthAlabama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: rocket city, al
Posts: 2,547
for about 3 weeks following the update, my normally rock solid pxl began locking up and rebooting, and then it just stopped - it seems to be stable again.
__________________


The truth will set you free. But not until it is finished with you. - David Foster Wallace
NorthAlabama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2014, 03:54 PM   #36
timstack8969
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 417
Just happened again this time when I pressed Tivo button I got Locked up when in the menus scrolling down.
timstack8969 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2014, 11:26 PM   #37
Henry Guerrar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 5
Bad... Bad..
Henry Guerrar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2014, 03:50 PM   #38
NorthAlabama
tabasco rules
 
NorthAlabama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: rocket city, al
Posts: 2,547
i've signed up for the 20.4.4 priority software update, thinking it's easiest to troubleshoot as a software issue first before digging deeper, since mine is now stable the update is on the way soon.
__________________


The truth will set you free. But not until it is finished with you. - David Foster Wallace
NorthAlabama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2014, 01:10 PM   #39
toanderso
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 12
Premiere Reboot Loop

All,

So I also have a Premiere in a reboot loop. I've tried all the KS with no luck. KS54 did show a Fail 7 on 3 of the SMART tests.

So the question now is if I replace the drive, will the new drive be ok if copied from the original (ideally i want to save the recordings). The original drive is the one failing as I have not upgraded this unit prior.

So if following the upgrade process here, will the result be ok or still have the problems?

http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...+drive+upgrade

Just want to validate before I head to the store to pick up a drive.

Thanks
toanderso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2014, 07:01 PM   #40
nooneuknow
TiVo User Since 2007
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Cox Cable Market, NV
Posts: 2,653
Quote:
Originally Posted by toanderso View Post
All,

So I also have a Premiere in a reboot loop. I've tried all the KS with no luck. KS54 did show a Fail 7 on 3 of the SMART tests.

So the question now is if I replace the drive, will the new drive be ok if copied from the original (ideally i want to save the recordings). The original drive is the one failing as I have not upgraded this unit prior.

So if following the upgrade process here, will the result be ok or still have the problems?

http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...+drive+upgrade

Just want to validate before I head to the store to pick up a drive.

Thanks
If it is boot-looping, you will need to acquire a "clean" backup of another drive for your model. See the DVRBARS thread: http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=503261

The software runs under windows, and you can place a request for an image for your model there (example: TCD746320), and you will receive a PM for the link to download it.
__________________
Cisco tuning adapters should never be used inline (using the TA coax OUT port) to connect a TiVo, if MoCA is in use. Use a splitter w/PoE filter on leg to TA, use other leg for the TiVo. Enjoy!
nooneuknow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2014, 09:56 PM   #41
toanderso
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 12
OK will give that a try - thanks.
toanderso is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:16 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |