TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-24-2013, 03:57 PM   #1
dadrepus
Registered User
 
dadrepus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 54
Netgear Readynas has Tivo Archiving Support

Did you know there was a Tivo app for that? I certainly didn't.
newegg

Nice NAS on sale with2/ 3TB drives.

Last edited by dadrepus : 03-24-2013 at 03:59 PM. Reason: spelling
dadrepus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2013, 11:41 PM   #2
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 13,395
I'd heard people talking about it last year. But I also figured it was cheaper just to use TiVo Desktop on a PC or on a WHS.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x3
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 02:35 AM   #3
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 8,919
...and it's probably broken by the cookie bug.

Of course, you could fix that by installing pyTivo on it.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmcbrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 08:03 AM   #4
Impulse0022
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 11
Nope. Netgear recently provided a patch to fix the TiVo "cookie bug".

http://www.readynas.com/forum/viewto...69689&start=15

As a ReadyNAS user the TiVo archiving functionality works pretty good but it doesn't archive shows with the copy protection flag set.
Impulse0022 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 08:08 AM   #5
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 13,395
Quote:
Originally Posted by Impulse0022 View Post
Nope. Netgear recently provided a patch to fix the TiVo "cookie bug".

http://www.readynas.com/forum/viewto...69689&start=15

As a ReadyNAS user the TiVo archiving functionality works pretty good but it doesn't archive shows with the copy protection flag set.
That would not be expected since those titles are not allowed to be transferred from the box they were recorded on.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x3
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 05:36 PM   #6
swerver
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 187
For those that have are familiar with the netgear - kmttg also offers archiving based on selecting KUID. Do you know if this works basically the same as the netgear, or are there differences?

BTW, the nas in the link above does not include 2 3TB drives.
swerver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 07:00 PM   #7
Bigg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Hartford- New Haven CT
Posts: 3,224
They sell 2TB TiVos now... Probably better to upgrade when the 6-tuner comes out in the fall to a 2 or 3TB TiVo than set up this contraption...
__________________
My Place: Premiere XL4 Lifetime 3/26/13 XFinity
3 TiVo Mini's on MoCA
Formerly Win MCE 3TB Ceton4 XFinity
Parents: XFinity Motorola AnyRoom DVR
80 HR Series 2 Lifetime 4/11/04 DEAD as of 11/2010
Bigg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 09:09 PM   #8
mattack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: sunnyvale
Posts: 16,496
That's a *lot* of money! Also, don't they do something weird like "mirror" your Tivo contents? So IIRC, it wasn't as much for having additional offline storage like I'd want (I'd *also* want to back up my current recordings if they were transferrable).

One of the 4 bay SATA boxes like http://www.amazon.com/Mediasonic-HF2.../dp/B002UUPWP6 look intriguing.. yes I realize they DON'T copy off of a Tivo themselves.
mattack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2013, 07:08 AM   #9
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 13,395
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattack View Post
That's a *lot* of money! Also, don't they do something weird like "mirror" your Tivo contents? So IIRC, it wasn't as much for having additional offline storage like I'd want (I'd *also* want to back up my current recordings if they were transferrable).

One of the 4 bay SATA boxes like http://www.amazon.com/Mediasonic-HF2.../dp/B002UUPWP6 look intriguing.. yes I realize they DON'T copy off of a Tivo themselves.
I've been using seven of those with my WHS for over two years(one with eSATA, six with USB). They have worked great for storage. With those plus the four drives in my WHS I have 56TB of storage for my WHS to use.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x3
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2013, 06:24 PM   #10
Bigg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Hartford- New Haven CT
Posts: 3,224
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
I've been using seven of those with my WHS for over two years(one with eSATA, six with USB). They have worked great for storage. With those plus the four drives in my WHS I have 56TB of storage for my WHS to use.
HOLY ****. Someone needs a delete key! I got the XL4 because I may end up with roommates at some point, but I'd be unlikely to hit 250GB. 56TB is just insane! I do find it funny we're going back and forth on AVS and TCF.
__________________
My Place: Premiere XL4 Lifetime 3/26/13 XFinity
3 TiVo Mini's on MoCA
Formerly Win MCE 3TB Ceton4 XFinity
Parents: XFinity Motorola AnyRoom DVR
80 HR Series 2 Lifetime 4/11/04 DEAD as of 11/2010
Bigg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2013, 09:13 PM   #11
mattack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: sunnyvale
Posts: 16,496
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
I've been using seven of those with my WHS for over two years(one with eSATA, six with USB). They have worked great for storage. With those plus the four drives in my WHS I have 56TB of storage for my WHS to use.
Have no idea what WHS is.. but are you using them with *tivos*?
mattack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2013, 10:21 PM   #12
Bigg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Hartford- New Haven CT
Posts: 3,224
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattack View Post
Have no idea what WHS is.. but are you using them with *tivos*?
Windows Home Server. Basically dead, but obviously it has it's fans out there.
__________________
My Place: Premiere XL4 Lifetime 3/26/13 XFinity
3 TiVo Mini's on MoCA
Formerly Win MCE 3TB Ceton4 XFinity
Parents: XFinity Motorola AnyRoom DVR
80 HR Series 2 Lifetime 4/11/04 DEAD as of 11/2010
Bigg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2013, 07:58 AM   #13
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 13,395
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattack View Post
Have no idea what WHS is.. but are you using them with *tivos*?
I'm not using them with my TiVos. I store copies of my BDs on there. But my WHS is only around half my network storage. I have a TiVo Desktop machine with around 5TB for use with my TiVos. But for other network storage I have a 32TB unRAID, an 11TB unRAID, and several other NAS devices adding around seven more Terabytes.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x3
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2013, 08:58 PM   #14
mattack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: sunnyvale
Posts: 16,496
Dang.. I wish some of these NAS devices would get 'cheap'. Instead, I'm looking at one of the $99-ish computer-connected devices (I'd basically call it a "multi-drive external case", though you can use computer-controlled RAID I guess) to use the cheap drives in.
mattack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2013, 09:09 PM   #15
Bigg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Hartford- New Haven CT
Posts: 3,224
Storage is as cheap as ever. The only thing that's not getting way cheaper way faster is bandwidth, and even that is making progress by increasing speed significantly with minimal cost increases.
__________________
My Place: Premiere XL4 Lifetime 3/26/13 XFinity
3 TiVo Mini's on MoCA
Formerly Win MCE 3TB Ceton4 XFinity
Parents: XFinity Motorola AnyRoom DVR
80 HR Series 2 Lifetime 4/11/04 DEAD as of 11/2010
Bigg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 07:36 AM   #16
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 13,395
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigg View Post
Storage is as cheap as ever. The only thing that's not getting way cheaper way faster is bandwidth, and even that is making progress by increasing speed significantly with minimal cost increases.
Well it's not as cheap as ever. The last time I purchased a dozen or so hard drives, I paid around $65 for each 2TB drive. They aren't back to prices that low yet. What are they at now? around $100 for a 2TB drive? That's still around 50% higher than when they were at the lowest prices.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x3
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 06:58 PM   #17
Bigg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Hartford- New Haven CT
Posts: 3,224
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
Well it's not as cheap as ever. The last time I purchased a dozen or so hard drives, I paid around $65 for each 2TB drive. They aren't back to prices that low yet. What are they at now? around $100 for a 2TB drive? That's still around 50% higher than when they were at the lowest prices.
Ok, almost.
__________________
My Place: Premiere XL4 Lifetime 3/26/13 XFinity
3 TiVo Mini's on MoCA
Formerly Win MCE 3TB Ceton4 XFinity
Parents: XFinity Motorola AnyRoom DVR
80 HR Series 2 Lifetime 4/11/04 DEAD as of 11/2010
Bigg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:11 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |