TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-11-2012, 09:12 PM   #1
Gary-B
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 92
Week for Dead Tivos.

After replacing the bad PS in my S3, My wifes Premiere XL died.
Changed power supply with a reg. premiere power supply with no help. It's stuck on Welcome! Starting Up and just sits there.
Would the Hard drive from the Premiere work in the Premiere XL?
Gary-B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 10:10 PM   #2
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 6,005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary-B View Post
After replacing the bad PS in my S3, My wifes Premiere XL died.
Changed power supply with a reg. premiere power supply with no help. It's stuck on Welcome! Starting Up and just sits there.
Would the Hard drive from the Premiere work in the Premiere XL?
NO, as far as i know, but you could try but i think the guide data will stop comming after a few days.
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis,
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 10:16 PM   #3
Gary-B
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 92
It worked. Had to do a clear & delete get it to work.
Gary-B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 10:22 PM   #4
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,550
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary-B View Post
After replacing the bad PS in my S3, My wifes Premiere XL died.
Changed power supply with a reg. premiere power supply with no help. It's stuck on Welcome! Starting Up and just sits there.
Would the Hard drive from the Premiere work in the Premiere XL?
Well it would screw up the Premiere hard drive so that it couldn't be used in the Premiere again, possibly.

(unless you dd'ed from another Premiere drive to it)

However, it might work well enough that you could safely assume the problem to be with the XL's hard drive.

But that wouldn't tell you if it's the drive itself or the software on it.

Suggest you run manufacturer's long test on XL drive first.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2012, 05:27 PM   #5
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 6,005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary-B View Post
It worked. Had to do a clear & delete get it to work.
You will not know for a few days because as i understand the problem your first load of guide data goes OK but you will not get any updates to that guide data so the TiVo will run out of guide data in about 12 days, let us know what happens.
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis,
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:24 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |