TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-01-2012, 01:47 PM   #31
bareyb
Under Maintenance
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Silicon Valley, California
Posts: 22,416
TC CLUB MEMBER
Quote:
Originally Posted by moyekj View Post
I always use component (not HDMI) and the problem has always been there on 2 different component-connected Premiere units. As I theorized in the thread I posted above I think it's a fundamental video decoding issue as part of Series 4 hardware. I still think S3 OLED units have the best mpeg2 decoding capabilities in the TiVo hardware line.
Hmmm.... Whatever the reason, I miss the HELL out of 30SS. I've sunk down to using FF now... I try to look at it as the price I pay to have four tuners....
__________________
Never attribute to malice that which is adequately explained by human error
bareyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 01:50 PM   #32
bareyb
Under Maintenance
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Silicon Valley, California
Posts: 22,416
TC CLUB MEMBER
Quote:
Originally Posted by moyekj View Post
I always use component (not HDMI) and the problem has always been there on 2 different component-connected Premiere units. As I theorized in the thread I posted above I think it's a fundamental video decoding issue as part of Series 4 hardware. I still think S3 OLED units have the best mpeg2 decoding capabilities in the TiVo hardware line.
By the way... Does using component bypass all that Copy Protection crap they put on TiVo? If I buy a UFC PPV (sports) it starts deleting it after 90 minutes... Is that an HDMI thing? Probably not, but one can hope...
__________________
Never attribute to malice that which is adequately explained by human error
bareyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 01:54 PM   #33
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 9,202
Quote:
Originally Posted by bareyb View Post
By the way... Does using component bypass all that Copy Protection crap they put on TiVo? If I buy a UFC PPV (sports) it starts deleting it after 90 minutes... Is that an HDMI thing? Probably not, but one can hope...
No, that's TiVo honoring CCI byte settings (which they are required to do for CableLabs approval).
__________________
Roamio Pro, Elite, Premiere
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 08:20 PM   #34
bareyb
Under Maintenance
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Silicon Valley, California
Posts: 22,416
TC CLUB MEMBER
Quote:
Originally Posted by moyekj View Post
No, that's TiVo honoring CCI byte settings (which they are required to do for CableLabs approval).
I thought so... How much does it suck that the approval only applies to third party boxes? Comcast DVR's can keep PPV's for as long as you like. Of course there's only room for about four... but at least they stick around for awhile.
__________________
Never attribute to malice that which is adequately explained by human error
bareyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 09:16 PM   #35
mattack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: sunnyvale
Posts: 17,271
Quote:
Originally Posted by bareyb View Post
I thought so... How much does it suck that the approval only applies to third party boxes? Comcast DVR's can keep PPV's for as long as you like. Of course there's only room for about four... but at least they stick around for awhile.
I suggest complaining to the FCC about that. I have no citation, but if cable company equipment behaves differently than customer owned equipment, that sounds bad..
mattack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 10:08 PM   #36
bareyb
Under Maintenance
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Silicon Valley, California
Posts: 22,416
TC CLUB MEMBER
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattack View Post
I suggest complaining to the FCC about that. I have no citation, but if cable company equipment behaves differently than customer owned equipment, that sounds bad..
They already know. It's common knowledge. Just another way the Cable Co's have an unfair advantage.
__________________
Never attribute to malice that which is adequately explained by human error
bareyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:26 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |