TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-28-2013, 04:35 AM   #1
phydeauxman
Registered User
 
phydeauxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Harpers Ferry WV
Posts: 42
Can't see movies on ReadyNAS

I have just switched to Comcast and TiVo from DirecTV and was excited to learn about the value add I was getting because of the partnership formed between TiVo and Netgear to integrate TiVo with ReadyDLNA devices. I enabled the TiVo feature on my ReadyNAS Pro and entered my TiVo Media Access Key. I now see the ReadyNAS as an option on the TiVo and can see the folders for each movie on the ReadyNAS but I don't see any files in the folders. Based on past experiences, I believe it is something to do with permissions...just not sure where to change that or what to change it to.
phydeauxman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 07:15 AM   #2
jcthorne
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,890
In what format are the files? The ReadyNAS does no file conversion, it only presents the files it has so they must be Tivo compatible as stored on the NAS.
__________________
Current : Roamio Base with 2TB drive and 2 Premieres and a mini. OTA. kmttg, pyTivo, running with a 78TB Synology 1511 NAS....serving up the world.

Setup help for pytivo under windows:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jcthorne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 07:16 AM   #3
Impulse0022
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 11
Mine has stopped working as well since the last TiVo service update. There is a thread on the ReadyNAS forums on this topic.

http://www.readynas.com/forum/viewto...59659&start=75

If you figure it out let us know.

Thanks,
Matt
Impulse0022 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 08:21 AM   #4
phydeauxman
Registered User
 
phydeauxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Harpers Ferry WV
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcthorne View Post
In what format are the files? The ReadyNAS does no file conversion, it only presents the files it has so they must be Tivo compatible as stored on the NAS.
That must be what the issue. All of my movies are WMV. I will need to convert them I guess for them to show up.
phydeauxman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 10:58 AM   #5
mlippert
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by phydeauxman View Post
That must be what the issue. All of my movies are WMV. I will need to convert them I guess for them to show up.
The only format I've seen work on my ReadyNAS is mpeg-2 (usually .mpg extension).

if you have the ffmpeg utility available you might try the following which has worked for me (I'm not sure if it can convert wmv files or not though, I was converting avi files).

Code:
ffmpeg -y -i "$input" -target ntsc-dvd -acodec copy -async 1 -aspect 16:9 -qmin 2 -qmax 9 -qscale 1 -sameq "$output"
$input should be the input file name (e.g. movie.avi) and $output the output filename (e.g. movie.mpg)

This produced an mpeg-2 file which the TiVo could fast-forward and rewind, I had created others where the TiVo would play the file but couldn't navigate it.
mlippert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 06:54 AM   #6
jcthorne
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,890
You could run pytivo rather than the ReadyNAS built in tivo server......
__________________
Current : Roamio Base with 2TB drive and 2 Premieres and a mini. OTA. kmttg, pyTivo, running with a 78TB Synology 1511 NAS....serving up the world.

Setup help for pytivo under windows:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jcthorne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 11:01 AM   #7
phydeauxman
Registered User
 
phydeauxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Harpers Ferry WV
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcthorne View Post
You could run pytivo rather than the ReadyNAS built in tivo server......
Yeah, but wouldn't I need to have that always running on a computer on my network? Was trying to get away from having a solution like that if possible.
phydeauxman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 07:42 AM   #8
jcthorne
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,890
pytivo runs fine on many linux based NAS boxes.
__________________
Current : Roamio Base with 2TB drive and 2 Premieres and a mini. OTA. kmttg, pyTivo, running with a 78TB Synology 1511 NAS....serving up the world.

Setup help for pytivo under windows:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jcthorne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 08:41 AM   #9
phydeauxman
Registered User
 
phydeauxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Harpers Ferry WV
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcthorne View Post
pytivo runs fine on many linux based NAS boxes.
Yeah, I don't think I am going to be able to get that installed on my Netgear NAS unless it shows up as an Addon in their interface...and it does not.
phydeauxman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:09 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |