TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-06-2012, 07:20 PM   #1
igirl
Tivo and EyeTV User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Sarasota, FL
Posts: 146
Setting up a P4 killed my P3

I am trying to get a Premiere 4 going - paid the Lifetime fee and it's in process - however when I went through the setup on it - I didn't realize it was using the exact same remote controller ID as my 2 channel Premiere right below it.

Now my old Premiere won't receive cable any more!!!!!!

The only thing I can think is that something I did, blew up the cablecard settings for it.

I did have a cablecard from another Tivo in the house I was seeing if I could get working on the P4....

I went through the guided setup again on the old Premiere, but still dead cable. hmmm Good news I have had already scheduled the cable guy to come and get the P4 cablecard setup. Now looks like he'll have to do them both!

Any way I can get the remotes to not conflict with each other?
__________________
* Tivo Premiere 4 w/Lifetime * Tivo Premiere unsub - (a cablecard box) * EyeTV 3 w/dual HDTV tuner (Silicon Dust HDHR) * Tivo Stream * Apple TV 3 (front end for EyeTV3 & film library)
igirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 08:04 PM   #2
HomeUser
Registered User
 
HomeUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: A2 Michigan
Posts: 2,308
You need to program both remotes, instructions on TiVo.com Controlling two TiVo boxes with separate remotes
__________________
VicW, Ex-Comcast customer ... And loving it!.
HomeUser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 10:33 PM   #3
igirl
Tivo and EyeTV User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Sarasota, FL
Posts: 146
Thanks - that did the trick! Of course it doesn't fix the skewed cablecards - but tomorrow hopefully we'll be OK.
__________________
* Tivo Premiere 4 w/Lifetime * Tivo Premiere unsub - (a cablecard box) * EyeTV 3 w/dual HDTV tuner (Silicon Dust HDHR) * Tivo Stream * Apple TV 3 (front end for EyeTV3 & film library)
igirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 10:45 AM   #4
igirl
Tivo and EyeTV User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Sarasota, FL
Posts: 146
Well interestingly for some reason late this morning - just before the cable guy arrived (of course) the signal came back!

Meanwhile - the P4 also came up with service - and I was able to go in and copy the Season Passes from the old Tivo to the new one!

HOWEVER - we cannot access the to do list or my shows - on either box right now from the website.

Wonder if this too will cure itself given time?
__________________
* Tivo Premiere 4 w/Lifetime * Tivo Premiere unsub - (a cablecard box) * EyeTV 3 w/dual HDTV tuner (Silicon Dust HDHR) * Tivo Stream * Apple TV 3 (front end for EyeTV3 & film library)
igirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 02:14 PM   #5
bshrock
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 263
It will take a connection or two before the website gets the info from the DVR.
bshrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 07:05 PM   #6
igirl
Tivo and EyeTV User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Sarasota, FL
Posts: 146
Quote:
Originally Posted by HomeUser View Post
You need to program both remotes, instructions on TiVo.com Controlling two TiVo boxes with separate remotes
Now I'm having issues with this - the procedure to set the different IR channels on each individual controller/tivo box combo goes great - until they are both exposed.

The next click - no matter which controller - changes the box it's NOT supposed to work with - back to that controller's channel. It's maddening. I'll have to play with it a lot more - but I know I'm doing it exactly right as per the instructions - it works fine on the last one set - as long as I don't touch the second controller with both boxes exposed.

I'm using aluminum foil to ensure blocking the IR - and cross testing it to make sure it's not receiving during the setup process. hmmmm
__________________
* Tivo Premiere 4 w/Lifetime * Tivo Premiere unsub - (a cablecard box) * EyeTV 3 w/dual HDTV tuner (Silicon Dust HDHR) * Tivo Stream * Apple TV 3 (front end for EyeTV3 & film library)
igirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 08:37 PM   #7
HomeUser
Registered User
 
HomeUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: A2 Michigan
Posts: 2,308
Points to consider.
  • A remote set to the default code '0' controls all TiVo's.
  • A TiVo set to '0' will be controlled by all remotes.
  • Leaving a TiVo on the "System Information" screen will be re-programmed to any TiVo remote it sees.

__________________
VicW, Ex-Comcast customer ... And loving it!.
HomeUser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2012, 07:16 AM   #8
igirl
Tivo and EyeTV User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Sarasota, FL
Posts: 146
Quote:
Originally Posted by HomeUser View Post
Points to consider.
  • A remote set to the default code '0' controls all TiVo's.
  • A TiVo set to '0' will be controlled by all remotes.
  • Leaving a TiVo on the "System Information" screen will be re-programmed to any TiVo remote it sees.
Thanks - I'm aware of all those things... I had been using CH 1 and 2 or 2 and 3 in my attempts - always exiting back to the main menu. Strangely, I had it working fine then things got skewed for some reason. I did run Manual > Connect to the TiVo service several times yesterday because the website wasn't reflecting My To Do List - or My Shows - for either box. Maybe that messed them up?

Anyway after a few more tries I got it to stick gain - let's hope it holds this time!
__________________
* Tivo Premiere 4 w/Lifetime * Tivo Premiere unsub - (a cablecard box) * EyeTV 3 w/dual HDTV tuner (Silicon Dust HDHR) * Tivo Stream * Apple TV 3 (front end for EyeTV3 & film library)
igirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:48 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |