TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 30 votes, 5.00 average.
Old 08-16-2014, 08:43 AM   #151
sts1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 11
thanks for the reply. I tried doing that, but couldn't make it work. I'm running a Pioneer TV (0304) and an NAD receiver (1036 or 1055). The old remote works without a problem, but the roamio remote only turns the tv on and off and runs the volume on the receiver.
sts1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2014, 02:09 AM   #152
philt56
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 53
I just ordered a Pro and plan on getting a mini which will be right next to it. I need the mini to provide the second picture when using picture and picture on my Sony tv. Currently I have a premiere and HD. When using P&P, one window has its input to hdmi of the premiere and the second window has its input to component of the HD. ( can't use 2 digital inputs at same time). I use the HD remote with the 1-2 switch so I can easily control both from one remote.

So am I stuck to using the same old remote to do the same with a roamio and mini? Or buy a harmony? Does a harmony provide every button on a TiVo remote? Or do I go to having to have to 2 remotes sitting around? I assume the mini has to get set to ir code2. Do I need to do anything to the roamio like set it to ir code 1 so it never affects the mini?

It sounds like I'm not the only one with multiple boxes in the same room! Why won't tivo give the equivalent of the 1-2 switch again!
philt56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2014, 10:09 AM   #153
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 14,500
I used that remote many years ago. And while I use my Harmonies for many things, I now just use the TiVo RF Slide remotes and use one for each TiVo/ Mini instead of using IR with my Harmony. But as far as I know you can duplicate every button press of the regular TiVo remote with the Harmony.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic OTA
40TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2014, 11:54 AM   #154
philt56
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
I used that remote many years ago. And while I use my Harmonies for many things, I now just use the TiVo RF Slide remotes and use one for each TiVo/ Mini instead of using IR with my Harmony. But as far as I know you can duplicate every button press of the regular TiVo remote with the Harmony.
Thanks. I guess I would have to relearn button layouts on the harmony and buttons which are not labelled for all TiVo functions. I would like to avoid having 2 remotes out all the time plus I have TV remote out to switch between windows (to switch the sound to the window I want to hear).
philt56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2014, 10:54 PM   #155
philt56
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 53
I will have a roamio and mini in the same room to use picture and picture. Could I setup the remote so that when its in RF mode it will control the roamio and when in IR mode, then it will control the mini? I would set up IR to use code 2 rather than 0. Not quite as convenient but may be an alternative to using my old remote with the 1-2 switch.
philt56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:04 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |