TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 04-06-2014, 10:51 AM   #1
bengalfreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 2,066
Anyone using 6 tuner Roamio w/TWC SW Ohio

I'm trying to decide between the base Roamio and the plus model. Is anyone successfully using a 6 tuner Roamio with Time Warner Cable of SW Ohio? I don't really have the extra $200 but the plus model has stream built in, plus a bigger HD, and the extra tuners. I will beg, borrow and steel if I have to but I want to make sure I can actually use a six tuner model.

thanks.
__________________
The Bengals and Tivo, life should have a few obsessions.
bengalfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2014, 01:39 PM   #2
sjsaliba
Registered User
 
sjsaliba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 9
Roamio Pro w/TWC in Central Ohio

Works great for me!
sjsaliba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2014, 02:21 AM   #3
bengalfreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 2,066
Wow, one response? That's it?
__________________
The Bengals and Tivo, life should have a few obsessions.
bengalfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2014, 08:53 AM   #4
dlfl
Cranky old novice
 
dlfl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Near Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 5,994
I thought I remembered a recent thread on this so spent a little time with search and here it is:
http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=515395
Oh ... I see it's a thread you started just a month ago.

I've seen similar underwhelming responses from SW Ohio users and must conclude:
1. SW Oh isn't exactly a hotbed of Tivo users
(or)
2. They are all so satisfied that they don't access this forum often.

From my experience I would find #2 amazing ... but who knows?

I don't have a Roamio but I'm still having SDV tuning failures on my TiVo HD even with the latest CC and TA software updates that were pushed in February.
__________________

"It must be swell to be so perfect and odor-free" -- Del Griffith


VideoReDo users: Try
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

pyTivo users: Try
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
dlfl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2014, 01:17 PM   #5
SASouth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 56
It works fine here in Greene County. Including all 6 tuners.

Last edited by SASouth : 04-16-2014 at 03:16 PM.
SASouth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2014, 01:22 PM   #6
truman861
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Tampa FL
Posts: 88
I use it on TWC on tampa FL, and my opinion is as follows, bigger hard drive, built in stream, built in moca and the two extra tuners - very well worth the 200.00 extra
truman861 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2014, 01:32 PM   #7
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 5,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by truman861 View Post
I use it on TWC on tampa FL, and my opinion is as follows, bigger hard drive, built in stream, built in moca and the two extra tuners - very well worth the 200.00 extra
The question being asked was whether or not all 6 tuners are useable in his location.
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2014, 03:05 PM   #8
truman861
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Tampa FL
Posts: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by lpwcomp View Post
The question being asked was whether or not all 6 tuners are useable in his location.
My sincerest of appologies,

If the 4 tuners work then the 6 tuners should also work just fine, just make sure you have a multicard (dont know anyone that has single's these days)
only thing is with TWC you may need a Tuning Adapter to get some of the channels as they are switched digital video or SDV for short. Also you cant access any video on demand VOD. That's more a cable card issue verses TWC issue but the benefits still outweigh the cons.

Hopefuly this answer verses my previous answer is helpful to you. Seemed like it was more a question of "does it work" which wasnt really specified.
truman861 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2014, 03:16 PM   #9
bobrt6676
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Huber Heights, Ohio
Posts: 178
Quote:
Originally Posted by bengalfreak View Post
Wow, one response? That's it?
My Roamio Pro has been working so well I have not been on the forums in a while. No problems here in the north of Dayton area. All 6 tuners work fine. Who-Dey!!
bobrt6676 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2014, 03:31 PM   #10
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 5,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by truman861 View Post
My sincerest of appologies,

If the 4 tuners work then the 6 tuners should also work just fine, just make sure you have a multicard (dont know anyone that has single's these days).
That is not necessarily the case. There is a problem with some CableCARDs with older firmware that do not support more than 4 streams.
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2014, 04:10 PM   #11
dlfl
Cranky old novice
 
dlfl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Near Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 5,994
You definitely need a TA in TWC SW Ohio and they pushed the latest TA and CC software versions out earlier this year.
__________________

"It must be swell to be so perfect and odor-free" -- Del Griffith


VideoReDo users: Try
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

pyTivo users: Try
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
dlfl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2014, 05:21 PM   #12
Rob RUNKLE
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 2
I'm using the base model roamio on TWC, 4 ch, no problem. Needs cable card and tuning adapter.

As for hard drive space, upgraded to 3tb in the first two weeks of buying the roamio, and it was a piece of cake.

Rob
Rob RUNKLE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2014, 04:06 AM   #13
bengalfreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 2,066
Thanks guys. That gives me a reasonable expectation that the two extra tuners should work. I would say its worth the extra cash. Thanks again.
__________________
The Bengals and Tivo, life should have a few obsessions.
bengalfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:05 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |