TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Forum Jump
Thread Tools
Old 12-03-2012, 09:44 PM   #1
Registered User
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 5
No channels coming through

I just hooked up a new tiro premier in our bedroom, but I can not get any channels to come through. If I click the live TV button on the remote, a screen showing a progress bar and "scanning for channels" shows but never completes. It has been plugged in for a few days. I do have a M-card already installed in it that we picked up from the cable company (Cox).

They mentioned that I might need a decoder. I'll probably be callign them tomorrow, but I wanted to check here first to see if I'm missing something. I would have expected at least non-HD channels to come through, but I get nothing.

Note that if I hook up the cable straight to the TV, I do get all the normal non-HD channels that I used to get.

Thanks for any help.


luaufish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 10:24 PM   #2
Registered User
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: sunnyvale
Posts: 18,993
Try hooking up the premiere in another room. It sounds like you might not have a strong enough signal?

mattack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 10:26 PM   #3
Registered User
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 965
Try maybe a restore or re run guided setup

compnurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 10:28 PM   #4
Registered User
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 5
Thanks for the reply. I nearly have it working now. Apparently there were instructions with my cable card, and I was supposed to call to activate it. I have some channels now, and the cable company is telling me the others should be coming in shortly. At least I'm close to up and running.


luaufish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 11:36 PM   #5
TiVoholic by the bay
ThAbtO's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 5,705
Make sure you re-run guided setup again after the cable card is fully activated.

Original S1 (Recycle Heaven)
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD (XL, PLS, "652")
Juliet Basic (4XL, PLS)


The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 11:23 AM   #6
Bear Down Cats!!!!!
Tico's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 314
You likely also need a tuning adapter!

Make sure you get one!

Premiere STA1520 TA Activated 9/27/2010 (Bad Cap PS replaced 12/12)
Premiere STA1520 TA Activated 5/14/12
Premiere STA1520 TA Activated 11/26/12
Series3 OLED STA1520 TA Activated 9/21/06
Tico is offline   Reply With Quote
Forum Jump

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2015 DBNet - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:09 PM.
Page generated in 0.05487800 seconds (74.43% PHP - 25.57% MySQL) with 18 queries