TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-07-2012, 11:10 AM   #1
RickStrobel
Registered User
 
RickStrobel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 9,076
GSOD install new blank drive - now just flashing

Having trouble with my TiVo Premiere. When I powered it up a while back I got the green screen message that there was a problem and was told to let it run for a while. I let it run for about 15 hours and it never resolved itself, it just kept rebooting and so forth in what I presume was an attempt to repair the drive.

Figuring I had a bad drive combined with the fact that I had a spare 1TB 5400 RPM drive that had not been used yet I decided to replace the drive.

I installed the drive and powered up the TiVo. I'd initially get the "Welcome! Starting up..." screen. Then after a moment it would go off then a few seconds later it would flash back on for a moment along with all the LEDs then they'd all go out and repeat the cycle every 10 seconds or so.

I know a TiVo is not going to run with a blank drive. Is there some way to force it to download the TiVo software from the network on startup? Is that what I need to do in this case?
RickStrobel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 11:36 AM   #2
jrtroo
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,402
Note- while this is likely a hard drive, it could be the power supply.

As you found, adding in a hard drive will not do anything. You need to get the software on the drive first. Follow the instructions in the upgrade section- your old drive may still work well enough to give it a try.

Otherwise, you need to get the software from someplace else. A drive image (free or cheap) or from a service provider already installed (can be pricey).
__________________
TiVo Owner
jrtroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 11:36 AM   #3
RickStrobel
Registered User
 
RickStrobel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 9,076
I tried following the kickstart codes listed here:
http://www.weaknees.com/tivo-kickstart-codes.php

But the TiVo doesn't appear to accept any of them.

With the original drive in the system will behave somewhat normally and try to start up, eventually give a green screen then restart.

With the new drive all the LEDs on the front panel flash every 3.5 seconds. The display to the TV flashes every 3.5 seconds along with the LEDs.

I disconnected the drive so there is no hard drive installed. The LEDs flash every 2.5 seconds and there is never any output to the TV.
RickStrobel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 11:40 AM   #4
RickStrobel
Registered User
 
RickStrobel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 9,076
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrtroo View Post
You need to get the software on the drive first. Follow the instructions in the upgrade section- your old drive may still work well enough to give it a try.

Otherwise, you need to get the software from someplace else. A drive image (free or cheap) or from a service provider already installed (can be pricey).
Yeah, I was hoping that it could download the OS automatically using a kickstart code like this (from the weakknees link above) :

Quote:
56 - Software Install - The TiVo attempts to connect to the TiVo servers to download and install the most recent version of the TiVo OS for that model. The unit should be connected to the phone line or ethernet.

RickStrobel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 12:14 PM   #5
innocentfreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Florida
Posts: 8,469
No there is no way to force it to download the OS. That kickstart only works on a drive with the TiVo OS already on it.

You could try to copy the failing drive to the new drive using the Premiere tools.
__________________
1 - TiVo Roamio Pro
2 - TiVo Premiere XL

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
innocentfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 01:16 PM   #6
RickStrobel
Registered User
 
RickStrobel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 9,076
Quote:
Originally Posted by innocentfreak View Post
No there is no way to force it to download the OS. That kickstart only works on a drive with the TiVo OS already on it.

You could try to copy the failing drive to the new drive using the Premiere tools.
OK. Was thinking it would have been cool if they added this feature (being able to download OS to a blank drive).

So I'll just follow the procedure at Premiere Drive Upgrade Instructions - with all-in-one jmfs Live CD. Assuming that's the tools you're referring to.
RickStrobel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 01:18 PM   #7
jrtroo
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,402
Yep.

Tivo allows us to upgrade hard drives, but they do not condone it.
__________________
TiVo Owner
jrtroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 02:03 PM   #8
innocentfreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Florida
Posts: 8,469
Quote:
Originally Posted by RickStrobel View Post
OK. Was thinking it would have been cool if they added this feature (being able to download OS to a blank drive).

So I'll just follow the procedure at Premiere Drive Upgrade Instructions - with all-in-one jmfs Live CD. Assuming that's the tools you're referring to.
Yeah the JMFS tools are the ones I am referring to. You can't use WinMFS due to the changes on the Premiere.

Hopefully one day they will allow easy upgrades, but it would require storing the OS on flash memory built into the board. I think the DirecTV DVRs work this way.
__________________
1 - TiVo Roamio Pro
2 - TiVo Premiere XL

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
innocentfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 08:19 PM   #9
RickStrobel
Registered User
 
RickStrobel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 9,076
When booting that CD I get the message that no TiVo drives are attached. But my BIOS sees the original TiVo Premiere drive and the new blank one. I'm guessing my drive is so FUBAR that the jmfs Live CD can't even recognize it

I googled for a downloadable image of the Premiere's software but no luck. Maybe I should check my PMs?????
RickStrobel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 11:45 PM   #10
steve614
what ru lookin at?
 
steve614's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 10,722
Quote:
Originally Posted by RickStrobel View Post
OK. Was thinking it would have been cool if they added this feature (being able to download OS to a blank drive).
It would be nice, only...
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrtroo View Post
Tivo allows us to upgrade hard drives, but they do not condone it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by RickStrobel View Post
When booting that CD I get the message that no TiVo drives are attached. But my BIOS sees the original TiVo Premiere drive and the new blank one. I'm guessing my drive is so FUBAR that the jmfs Live CD can't even recognize it

I googled for a downloadable image of the Premiere's software but no luck. Maybe I should check my PMs?????
Unfortunately, the Premiere software can't be saved as an image file.
What you can do, if your Premiere hard drive is FUBAR'd, is to buy another Premiere on the cheap, and swap the hard drives.
After a Clear & Delete Everything, your Premiere will work again.

ETA: As an added bonus, you would end up with an extra power supply.
__________________
The Man Prayer: I'm a man ...... I can change ...... If I have to ...... I guess.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

F*CK CANCER!
steve614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:06 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |