TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-13-2013, 01:09 AM   #1
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,998
CableCARD not validated?

If the conditional access screen on the TiVo says...

Con:No and Val:?

Does that mean something is wrong with the card? If so is there anything that can be done to fix it from our end? Or does it have to be exchanged?

I got my Sister a used HD. The first CableCARD we tried would not work. Just got stuck on a blue screen with spinning icon saying aquiring channels. I called the cabke company a couple of times, then hit it, hit the TA double checked all the pairing and SN values but it wouldn't work. Finally they said I needed to exchange it for another one. My Sister finally gets a chance to exchange the and I try installing it tonight but it has the exact same problem.

Could this be something on our end? Bad TiVo? Bad TA? Or does that always mean the card is not validated correctly? What are the chances of getting two bad cards in a row?

The weird part is I live right across the street and I have 3 Premiere units with the same exact cards and same provider and every one of them installed without a hitch. My Sister didn't really ask for this "upgrade" in the first place. I did it because I was trying to be nice, but I think she's getting fed up with the whole thing.

Any help you could provide would be greatly appreciated.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 01:22 AM   #2
DaveDFW
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Richardson, TX
Posts: 522
All signs point to the cablecard not being properly provisioned by your cable provider.

Con: No -- Service is not enabled for your cablecard at the head end.
Val: ? -- Cablecard is not paired.

If your Tivo never leaves the "acquiring channels" screen, chances are good that whoever provisioned the card assigned an invalid channel map.

Last edited by DaveDFW : 02-13-2013 at 01:27 AM.
DaveDFW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 01:25 AM   #3
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,998
If that's the case can it be fixed over the phone? Or does it have to go back?
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 01:36 AM   #4
DaveDFW
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Richardson, TX
Posts: 522
It should be correctable over the phone, assuming your provider has phone personnel who can properly provision a cablecard.

If every cablecard that was accused of being faulty actually was, they would be the least-reliable piece of consumer electronics known. Everyone likes to blame cablecards when the error is almost always in provisioning.

So it's possible your cablecard is faulty, but more likely it's a configuration error.
DaveDFW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 01:47 AM   #5
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,998
I have an old S3 at my house I'm not using. I'm going to grab the card tomorrow and stick it in there to see if it shows the same status in that menu. If it does then I know it's the card or the setup. If it looks better then I'll know it's the TiVo itself.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 01:54 AM   #6
DaveDFW
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Richardson, TX
Posts: 522
Moving your provisioned cablecard from one Tivo to another will probably display a status like:

Con: Yes
Val: ?

Which translates to "card enabled but not paired to host."
DaveDFW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 02:07 AM   #7
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,998
Question... Would that not being paired or provisioned correctly prevent the TiVo from being able to acquire the channel info?
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 08:52 AM   #8
DaveDFW
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Richardson, TX
Posts: 522
When a Tivo is displaying the "acquiring channels" screen indefinitely it is not receiving a valid channel map.

I wouldn't expect to receive a channel map if the cablecard isn't provisioned correctly since the provisioning process includes assigning a channel map.

Last edited by DaveDFW : 02-13-2013 at 10:20 AM. Reason: Clarification.
DaveDFW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 01:12 PM   #9
Teeps
Registered User
 
Teeps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Torrance,Cal. 90503
Posts: 1,038
Call this number: 866-532-2598
It's the national cable card support office; they should be able to help.
Teeps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 02:23 PM   #10
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,998
I'm with Charter not Time Warner. I got the card working well enough that it got past the acquiring channels screen but now there seems to be a pairing problem because I can only tune the unencrypted channels. Have to call back again.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 07:44 PM   #11
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,998
I called 3 different times and every one of them failed so the last one finally said they had to send out a tech. The tech showed up, called someone he knew could deal with CableCARDs, and within a few seconds she had it working. Seriously I can't believe they have such incompetent people on their support line.

But at least it's working now.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 11:07 AM   #12
Teeps
Registered User
 
Teeps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Torrance,Cal. 90503
Posts: 1,038
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
I called 3 different times and every one of them failed so the last one finally said they had to send out a tech. The tech showed up, called someone he knew could deal with CableCARDs, and within a few seconds she had it working. Seriously I can't believe they have such incompetent people on their support line.

But at least it's working now.
Which is why TW has the nat number just for cable cards.
Charter will get there when they figure out how much $$$ they can save by not having to roll trucks for what should be routine authorization procedures.
Teeps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 11:24 AM   #13
tatergator1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,001
Quote:
Originally Posted by Teeps View Post
Which is why TW has the nat number just for cable cards.
+1. It's the only Time Warner support number where the techs actually know something.

Glad you got it working.
tatergator1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 08:29 PM   #14
Snake Plissken
Registered User
 
Snake Plissken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
I called 3 different times and every one of them failed so the last one finally said they had to send out a tech. The tech showed up, called someone he knew could deal with CableCARDs, and within a few seconds she had it working. Seriously I can't believe they have such incompetent people on their support line.

But at least it's working now.
Very similar to my experience with Comcast
Snake Plissken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 08:46 AM   #15
teasip
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 519
Wish Verizon had the same..... Snake, love the avatar, or at least used to till I gave it all up (must have been a mid-life crisis since I had no other reason, aside from the fact that weight loss was much easier).
__________________
TiVo HD 1TB upgrade with lifetime
TiVo HD with lifetime (kidnapped by college daughter)
teasip is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:21 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |