TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Underground Playground > TiVo Upgrade Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-22-2014, 07:48 AM   #721
Tenkian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 1
Hi guys,

I've succeeded in backing up my 320GB Aussie TIVO 3, to the primary HDD (drive C.
The Tivo HDD was connected via USB to an external case, and was recognised without problem.
However . . . . . .
I'll be damned if I can get DVRBars to recognise the new, 2TB Seagate Barracuda HDD.
I can get the Seagate recognised by Win7, and DVRBars will recognise it as a "mounted" drive but will, of course, refuse to wipe the HDD.
So, quit out of DVRBars and unmount the Seagate. Restart DVRBars (under admin, of course) and go to "Restore" but "No useable drive available" (or equivalent).
Ok, so swap out DVD ROM drive for the new Seagate. Try the process again.
Still no joy.
I'm sure there's something REALLY basic I'm missing out on here.
Can anyone assist?
Thanks.
Tenkian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2014, 06:59 AM   #722
ggieseke
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2,977
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tenkian View Post
Hi guys,

I've succeeded in backing up my 320GB Aussie TIVO 3, to the primary HDD (drive C.
The Tivo HDD was connected via USB to an external case, and was recognised without problem.
However . . . . . .
I'll be damned if I can get DVRBars to recognise the new, 2TB Seagate Barracuda HDD.
I can get the Seagate recognised by Win7, and DVRBars will recognise it as a "mounted" drive but will, of course, refuse to wipe the HDD.
So, quit out of DVRBars and unmount the Seagate. Restart DVRBars (under admin, of course) and go to "Restore" but "No useable drive available" (or equivalent).
Ok, so swap out DVD ROM drive for the new Seagate. Try the process again.
Still no joy.
I'm sure there's something REALLY basic I'm missing out on here.
Can anyone assist?
Thanks.
As you noticed, even though I put an option in DvrBARS to "show" mounted drives I refuse to wipe it for you. Call me chicken.

The easiest and safest way to wipe it is to use Data Lifeguard Diagnostics by WD or Seatools by Seagate. Run the Write Zeros test after being ABSOLUTELY SURE that you have the right drive selected. You can use the quick option that only wipes the first thousand sectors.

I was wondering when an Aussie would jump in. I want a copy of that image! Since your post count is low I'm sending you a PM with my email address. We'll work something out.
ggieseke is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2014, 02:16 PM   #723
emerz
Registered User
 
emerz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 40
Low Level Format Tool from the HDD Guru site has always work flawlessly for me.

http://hddguru.com/software/HDD-LLF-...l-Format-Tool/

Just select the option "Perform Quick Wipe (just remove partition and MBR)". Takes less than 5 seconds to complete.

No fussing with creating boot floppys or cd's. The portable version of LLFT runs in Windows by clicking the exe file.

Just throwing another option out there.
__________________
Tivo Roamio Plus ~ WD RED 4TB ~ Verizon FIOS
emerz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:11 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |