TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Underground Playground > TiVo Upgrade Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-20-2013, 07:58 AM   #31
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,072
Quote:
Originally Posted by videobruce View Post
XP Pro sp3
Okay, you can hook up drives with no worry and use WinMFS if you want to.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2013, 08:10 AM   #32
videobruce
OTA is still alive
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 209
What a difference over the Live version. It almost works by itself.

Has anyone ever reported running a external disk check utility from a PC causing problems to a working TiVo drive?
videobruce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2013, 08:31 AM   #33
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,072
Quote:
Originally Posted by videobruce View Post
What a difference over the Live version. It almost works by itself.

Has anyone ever reported running a external disk check utility from a PC causing problems to a working TiVo drive?
You mean like the disk manufacturer's diagnostic software?

Shouldn't be a problem, since it works "below" the software on the drive.

Unless it finds "bad" sectors and marks them as unusable and "aliases" some spare sectors in their place, in which case it would be time to replace the drive soon anyway I'd think.

Of course I'm speaking of diagnostic software on its own boot disk, not 3rd party stuff running under Windows. I don't know enough about them to make any promises.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2013, 08:49 AM   #34
videobruce
OTA is still alive
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 209
Yes on the manufactures software and/or another utility, but outside of Windows in a DOS environment.
But, I see the issue with repairing or 'hiding' bad sectors.
videobruce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2013, 09:04 AM   #35
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,072
Quote:
Originally Posted by videobruce View Post
Yes on the manufactures software and/or another utility, but outside of Windows in a DOS environment.
But, I see the issue with repairing or 'hiding' bad sectors.
What you do in a case like that is get another known good drive at least as large and "Xerox" to it from the suspect drive before running the test.


dd_rescue

on the MFS Live cd is good for using for that, you can adjust the parameters so that it only does 512 bytes at a time unless it hits trouble and then drops down to only 1 byte at a time.

Takes forever, of course, but I've saved the otherwise unsaveable before that way.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2013, 09:11 AM   #36
videobruce
OTA is still alive
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 209
Assuming it has bad sectors, how can coping the disc, no matter what way help? Aren't those bad sectors ignored?
videobruce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2013, 09:14 AM   #37
videobruce
OTA is still alive
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 209
He swapped drives himself. The existing drive was " getting noisy" and he threw it away.
He then told me "he didn't have the patience" to do it any other way.
videobruce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2013, 09:16 AM   #38
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,072
Quote:
Originally Posted by videobruce View Post
Assuming it has bad sectors, how can coping the disc, no matter what way help? Aren't those bad sectors ignored?
They can be "going bad" but read and copied if the program slows down and does a number of retries sometimes, so that you can rescue some or all of the data. Sometimes.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2013, 09:19 AM   #39
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,072
Quote:
Originally Posted by videobruce View Post
He swapped drives himself. The existing drive was " getting noisy" and he threw it away.
He then told me "he didn't have the patience" to do it any other way.
I was wondering if the disk seller had some way to take the TSN and insert it where it needed to go without having the machine itself, but probably what happened was that it was set to start off in Guided Setup, during which it would straighten out the TSN mismatch without it being obvious that it was doing so.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2013, 09:38 AM   #40
videobruce
OTA is still alive
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 209
"Sometimes". That would be what I would worry about.

This was a prepared drive, similar to what Weakknees & DVRUpgrade sells. I don't remember the sellers name that was shown in the link he sent.
videobruce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2013, 09:47 AM   #41
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,072
Quote:
Originally Posted by videobruce View Post
"Sometimes". That would be what I would worry about.

This was a prepared drive, similar to what Weakknees & DVRUpgrade sells. I don't remember the sellers name that was shown in the link he sent.
Let's put all of your begs in one askit instead of at least two different threads.

Meet me here:

http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=502394
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2013, 09:53 AM   #42
videobruce
OTA is still alive
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 209
The "begs" are already stated here, can we not start another?
videobruce is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:32 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |