TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 3 votes, 5.00 average.
Old 05-07-2016, 09:21 AM   #121
L David Matheny
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 1,577
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsando View Post
Finding the thread is really interesting!

I have had my Base Roamio and Mini's for almost a year now and have never had a problem with my RF remotes, however I have just started having the same problems describe here.

My Base Roamio with Slide remote keeps randomly switching back and forth between RF (yellow) and IR (red)

My Mini with normal RF remote keeps randomly sending 2 x page down when scrolling through the guide.

I recently replace my wifi access points and thought it may be tied to that, however I am not starting to wonder if it was something in a Tivo software update.

I turn off the AP's and will try to do some more troubleshooting this weekend.
I've wondered sometimes just how the RF-capable remotes decide when to send RF versus IR or what color LED to flash. When sending to a TV or AVR, presumably they just send IR. But when sending to a TiVo, do they detect some continuous RF beacon from the box and send RF only if it's present? Or do they always send both and then flash the right color LED only if there is an RF handshake from the box? Or what?

Some posts in this thread have caused me to wonder recently if sending both RF and IR commands simultaneously to a TiVo could in some circumstances cause the box to recognize and act upon both signals instead of ignoring the redundant IR signal like it's presumably supposed to do. This could be the result of some sort of timing problem.

My 4-tuner Roamio (used only for OTA) has on at least one occasion doubled presses of the Live TV button when cycling past only one of the four tuners, refusing to stop on only that tuner each time around. That surely can't have been a coincidence caused by hardware "contact bounce" or whatever. I wonder if a bit more code has to execute when cycling from tuner 3 back to tuner 0, with the extra millisecond or two causing what should be seen as a duplicate IR code to be seen instead as independent from the RF code which it should have matched, or something like that. Food for thought.


Last edited by L David Matheny; 05-07-2016 at 09:27 AM.
L David Matheny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2016, 09:44 AM   #122
JoeKustra
Cable only
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Ashland, PA 17921 TCD746500/TCD846500
Posts: 5,068
It has merit since my basic Roamio can not receive IR codes. So when a command fails, I wait a few seconds and try it again. Sometime I look at the remote and see a red LED. Sometimes not, so I wait.


Last edited by JoeKustra; 08-20-2016 at 08:48 AM.
JoeKustra is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanks For This Post:
Old 08-20-2016, 08:51 AM   #123
JoeKustra
Cable only
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Ashland, PA 17921 TCD746500/TCD846500
Posts: 5,068
Ok, this is strange. I have found that when my Roamio remote, set in RF mode, drops to IR mode, that if I cover the front with my hand the RF mode returns. The front of my Roamio is blocked so IR commands can never reach the box. It works every time.

JoeKustra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2016, 10:27 AM   #124
dougdingle
HD Tech
 
dougdingle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: West Coast
Posts: 605
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeKustra View Post
Ok, this is strange. I have found that when my Roamio remote, set in RF mode, drops to IR mode, that if I cover the front with my hand the RF mode returns. The front of my Roamio is blocked so IR commands can never reach the box. It works every time.
I'll play with that a bit, although it's not a solution because most people (including me) use the IR part for power, volume, and mute functions. And I shouldn't have to cover the front of the remote on a system that, all told, cost about a thousand dollars in order to have it do stuff reliably.

The Roamio and Minis definitely have remote problems, have had them from the beginning. I have a Pro and three Minis, and all exhibit to some extent the same stupid behavior detailed in this (and other) threads, although the Minis are worse here. TiVo's 'solution' of resetting and re-pairing the remote works for, at most, a few days, after which it reverts to being deranged again.

Since it's the main interface to the box, and a lot of the user experience derives from how responsive the system is to commands, it astonishes me that TiVo had done nothing but stonewall users while incapable of solving this incredibly frustrating issue for many of its customers.

I mean seriously, what the hell, TiVo?

dougdingle is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanks For This Post:
Old 08-20-2016, 12:22 PM   #125
JoeKustra
Cable only
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Ashland, PA 17921 TCD746500/TCD846500
Posts: 5,068
True, I control my AVR and TV with the remote, and it doesn't ALWAYS drop into IR mode, but this is my second remote. On a different Roamio the remote seems to stutter a lot. I never have problems on the Mini.

JoeKustra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2016, 03:04 PM   #126
pagefault
Registered User
 
pagefault's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 364
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeKustra View Post
Ok, this is strange. I have found that when my Roamio remote, set in RF mode, drops to IR mode, that if I cover the front with my hand the RF mode returns. The front of my Roamio is blocked so IR commands can never reach the box. It works every time.
I doubt covering it is doing anything. When mine drops to IR mode, it only does IR for a second before going back to RF on its own. Covering it is probably just coincidental to it working again.

pagefault is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2016, 03:57 PM   #127
dlfl
Cranky old novice
 
dlfl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Near Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 6,898
I've found my remote (Roamio basic) starts sporadically reverting to IR mode after any TiVo restart. For example I had to do a global reset/re-pair after getting the RC10a update recently.

The problem is so weird: It will RF from 25 ft away around a corner but will fall back to IR from only 8 ft away if the remote is pointed at certain angles, for example 45 degrees off of pointing right at the TiVo. Fortunately I get periods of many weeks when it stays RF.

__________________

"It must be swell to be so perfect and odor-free" -- Del Griffith


VideoReDo users: Try
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

pyTivo users: Try
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
dlfl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2016, 04:43 PM   #128
JoeKustra
Cable only
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Ashland, PA 17921 TCD746500/TCD846500
Posts: 5,068
Try making IR impossible. I often wonder how many people never notice the IR mode switch. I only noticed when I blocked the front of my Roamio since I have a Premiere in close proximity. It's on channel 2 and has its own remote.

JoeKustra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2016, 08:48 PM   #129
dlfl
Cranky old novice
 
dlfl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Near Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 6,898
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeKustra View Post
Try making IR impossible. I often wonder how many people never notice the IR mode switch. I only noticed when I blocked the front of my Roamio since I have a Premiere in close proximity. It's on channel 2 and has its own remote.
Wonder what could explain this? How could the remote know you have the TIVo IR receiver blocked? I assume it receives RF signals back from the TiVo but that doesn't lead me to any idea of how to explain this behavior.

__________________

"It must be swell to be so perfect and odor-free" -- Del Griffith


VideoReDo users: Try
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

pyTivo users: Try
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
dlfl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2016, 07:46 AM   #130
JoeKustra
Cable only
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Ashland, PA 17921 TCD746500/TCD846500
Posts: 5,068
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfl View Post
Wonder what could explain this? How could the remote know you have the TIVo IR receiver blocked? I assume it receives RF signals back from the TiVo but that doesn't lead me to any idea of how to explain this behavior.
I have no clue. I only saw this behavior by accident. It doesn't have to be your hand either. Maybe the reduction of the RF signal level has some affect. If so, I'm going to try to add some rf blockage to my wooden block.

JoeKustra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2016, 08:20 AM   #131
RSCHOON
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 79
I've had this same exact behaviour since day one of owning my Roamio...yet another issue that TiVo has never and will never address.

Sent from my SM-P600 using Tapatalk

RSCHOON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2016, 08:41 AM   #132
JoeKustra
Cable only
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Ashland, PA 17921 TCD746500/TCD846500
Posts: 5,068
Quote:
Originally Posted by RSCHOON View Post
I've had this same exact behaviour since day one of owning my Roamio...yet another issue that TiVo has never and will never address.
I just placed a dual foil backed foam insulation in front of my basic Roamio, behind the 1/4" piece of wood already there. RF still works. When if fails I'll leave a post.

JoeKustra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2016, 10:08 AM   #133
RSCHOON
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeKustra View Post
I just placed a dual foil backed foam insulation in front of my basic Roamio, behind the 1/4" piece of wood already there. RF still works. When if fails I'll leave a post.
I don't think that will work for me, I need IR to control my TV and RF to control my TiVo behind the wall.

Sent from my SM-P600 using Tapatalk

RSCHOON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2016, 10:22 AM   #134
JoeKustra
Cable only
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Ashland, PA 17921 TCD746500/TCD846500
Posts: 5,068
Quote:
Originally Posted by RSCHOON View Post
I don't think that will work for me, I need IR to control my TV and RF to control my TiVo behind the wall.

Sent from my SM-P600 using Tapatalk
So do I. I never suggested to permanently block the remote. I just noticed when I covered the front with my hand the LED went back to amber. Could it be a coincidence? Perhaps. I'm testing an RF proof block in front of the Roamio. So far it's working. My Roamio is only 10' from my remote, so maybe the RF signal is too strong. And I have nothing better to do today. It's raining.

Just measured: it's only 6' from the Roamio.


Last edited by JoeKustra; 08-21-2016 at 10:32 AM.
JoeKustra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2016, 02:15 PM   #135
JoeKustra
Cable only
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Ashland, PA 17921 TCD746500/TCD846500
Posts: 5,068
Before I let this thread go back to low priority, I need to add new information.

If you bring up the guide, then hit right, you can watch the remote's LED. Just before it drops from RF to IR, the color goes sort of half red and half amber. If you stop there and wait a few seconds, it stays amber and in RF mode. Hit right quickly and the LED goes red. Put your hand over the front of the remote and it will drop back to RF. Four levels of shielding reduce the issue, but don't stop it. Ok, back to sleep.

JoeKustra is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump







Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Advertisements





TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media


(C) 2016 DBNet - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:52 PM.
Page generated in 0.18855309 seconds (63.28% PHP - 36.72% MySQL) with 19 queries