TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-18-2012, 10:55 AM   #1
naranja
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 32
Sold Tivo w/Lifetime but Still on My Acct.

I sold a lifetime tivo on craigslist a while back and just logged into my online account and it is still there. I can see their season passes, to do lists etc. I called tivo to have it removed and was told that only the new owner could do that by creating an account. I have no way to contact them. I suppose I could call tivo and create a new account with bogus info, or start messing with the season passes etc hoping the new owner will call tivo. Anybody have any luck getting tivo to remove a dvr in a similar situation or have a suggestion?

Thanks
naranja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 10:58 AM   #2
dilbert27
Registered User
 
dilbert27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,002
Schedule the tivo to record alot of p0rn they would probably call tivo then to ask why its happening.
dilbert27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 11:01 AM   #3
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 14,329
Quote:
Originally Posted by naranja View Post
I sold a lifetime tivo on craigslist a while back and just logged into my online account and it is still there. I can see their season passes, to do lists etc. I called tivo to have it removed and was told that only the new owner could do that by creating an account. I have no way to contact them. I suppose I could call tivo and create a new account with bogus info, or start messing with the season passes etc hoping the new owner will call tivo. Anybody have any luck getting tivo to remove a dvr in a similar situation or have a suggestion?

Thanks
I used to have a couple I sold on my account like that. Eventually they switched it to their account.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic OTA
40TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 02:33 PM   #4
LifeIsABeach
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Drexel Hill, PA
Posts: 2,339
I have two friends I have pruchsed lifetime TiVo for on my account. Neither has bothered to created their own account. Not sure either knows enough to realize they can even do that.
__________________
For of all sad words of tongue or pen, The saddest are these: "It might have been!"
LifeIsABeach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 07:38 PM   #5
steve614
what ru lookin at?
 
steve614's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 10,722
Quote:
Originally Posted by naranja View Post
I sold a lifetime tivo on craigslist a while back and just logged into my online account and it is still there. I can see their season passes, to do lists etc. I called tivo to have it removed and was told that only the new owner could do that by creating an account. I have no way to contact them. I suppose I could call tivo and create a new account with bogus info, or start messing with the season passes etc hoping the new owner will call tivo. Anybody have any luck getting tivo to remove a dvr in a similar situation or have a suggestion?

Thanks
That (bolded above) should get his attention.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dilbert27 View Post
Schedule the tivo to record alot of p0rn
And daytime soap operas, infomercials, etc.

Maybe he'll post here asking why his TiVo is recording crap all of a sudden.
__________________
The Man Prayer: I'm a man ...... I can change ...... If I have to ...... I guess.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

F*CK CANCER!
steve614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 09:48 PM   #6
trip1eX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,409
call up again. I sold a Tivo and the guy put a warranty on it and it was charged to me. IT took a few calls and waiting on the phone to get it resolved.
trip1eX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 09:58 PM   #7
P42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: 01460
Posts: 1,255
I had that same problem, except I was the guy buying the Tivo. Support we're not able to resolve the issue and suggested I pay the prior owner for the warranty. Granted this was a minor issue for me, as he was a co-worker - but it is disappointing their system can't handle this correctly. It left me wondering what else I could have changed
P42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 10:32 PM   #8
lillevig
Hot in West Texas
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Angelo, TX
Posts: 1,760
Quote:
Originally Posted by naranja View Post
I sold a lifetime tivo on craigslist a while back and just logged into my online account and it is still there. I can see their season passes, to do lists etc. I called tivo to have it removed and was told that only the new owner could do that by creating an account. I have no way to contact them. I suppose I could call tivo and create a new account with bogus info, or start messing with the season passes etc hoping the new owner will call tivo. Anybody have any luck getting tivo to remove a dvr in a similar situation or have a suggestion?

Thanks
Did you tell them what to do and how to do it? I still have two S1 boxes on my account that the new owners refused to transfer and Tivo refuses to remove. One other thing you can do is to uncheck the boxes that allow video transfers and downloads.
__________________
"I'm just one story in a two story town." Bon Jovi
lillevig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 12:52 AM   #9
replaytv
elects "cold sleep"
 
replaytv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Denver ish Colorado
Posts: 4,027
They might have bought the Tivos only with in mind to sell them at a higher price, or only because they needed them temporarily, as is a guy in another thread. I have over 10 lifetime tivos with only one on my account because they are all for sale. I plan to keep 3 of them, but which ones that I keep depends on which Tivos sell. I always keep at least two lifetime TiVos at my significant others house too.
replaytv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 08:44 AM   #10
naranja
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 32
Thanks for the feedback. I had settled on letting it ride since I rarely visit Tivo on line but then this talk of getting warranty charges raises concerns. I checked to see if I had a credit card associated with this Tivo and got this message: "We're sorry, you are not the billing contact for this TiVo Service Number, so you cannot change the credit card..." I bought it used myself so I'm guessing it's the previous owner? Anyway, that's encouraging and I think I'll also give another try getting it removed via online chat or email so I have a record I can print. I turned off transfers and downloads and if it' still there in another month or so maybe I'll try something else.
naranja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 09:16 AM   #11
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 14,329
The problem is, even when they remove it from the account where you can make changes to it, the box will still show up on the list of TiVos(You can't make any changes or view any info, but they still show up in the account list and TiVo can't remove them).

I still have seventeen TiVos showing up on my account list. I've had this problem for years and the only way for them to fix it is to move my current boxes to a new account. But to do that they have to create a new MAK. And with the new MAK, old recordings can't be viewed any more from TiVo Desktop. It was a PITA with my recordings the last time my MAK was changed by a CSR and I don't want to go through all that again.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic OTA
40TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 03:11 PM   #12
SugarBowl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 753
I sold a series 3 with lifetime about 2 years ago and it still shows under the 'active dvrs' on my account. I can't however select it when browsing the dvr specific sections (season pass, tv listings, etc.)
SugarBowl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:45 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |