TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-02-2013, 08:19 AM   #91
buscuitboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Atlanta area
Posts: 690
Quote:
Originally Posted by cherry ghost View Post
Weaknees sells power supplies

http://www.weaknees.com/tivo-power-supply.php


You can replace bulging caps yourself for much less. There are threads in the S3 section.

I had a buldging cap issue on my Series 3 (OLED). I didn't feel comfortable soldering new ones on, but was able to find a local mom-and-pop repair place that basically did it for $17.

Also, you may want to scour Craigslist and/or ebay for the same Series 3 and use it for parts. Could be cheaper than getting one from Weaknees. Although, it might wind up having the same issue in the long run anyway.

I actually sort of did this as well. I was able to find a used & fully working Series 3 (OLED) on Craigslist for about $40. At the time, I got it mainly for its hard drive (since my S3's was failing), but I could use its power supply if I really wanted. It also came with a glo remote and USB wireless adapter. I am using and liking the glo remote for a bedroom TiVo and I was able to sell the USB wireless adapter on ebay for about $30 (since I have all hard wired Ethernet jacks). So, bottom line is I was able to get this Series 3 off Craigslist for about $10 at the end of the day. Well worth it.
buscuitboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 02:28 PM   #92
MScottC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 603
I spoke to TiVo yesterday, and their tech support specialist asked me if my unit was plugged into a power strip. It is plugged into a UPS. I'm not sure how this could make a difference. As a video technician working with all sorts of video gear over the last 40 years, I've never heard of not being able to plug equipment, ranging from $80 consumer recorders to million dollar servers, routers and switchers into power strips. Has anyone ever had a power strip make a difference in terms of their TiVo?
MScottC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 03:41 PM   #93
innocentfreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Florida
Posts: 8,465
Quote:
Originally Posted by MScottC View Post
I spoke to TiVo yesterday, and their tech support specialist asked me if my unit was plugged into a power strip. It is plugged into a UPS. I'm not sure how this could make a difference. As a video technician working with all sorts of video gear over the last 40 years, I've never heard of not being able to plug equipment, ranging from $80 consumer recorders to million dollar servers, routers and switchers into power strips. Has anyone ever had a power strip make a difference in terms of their TiVo?
Not a TiVo, but my mother's Dell PC is extremely sensitive on what her computer is plugged into. It will shut off all the time if it is on an APC backup and regular power strips but works fine with Cyberpower backups.
__________________
1 - TiVo Roamio Pro
2 - TiVo Premiere XL

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
innocentfreak is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:21 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |