TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-10-2012, 01:15 PM   #1
tedrik
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: San Antonio, Tx
Posts: 20
Wireless not working

Received my premier on Tuesday-it connected to my internet easily and have had a stable connection up until today (good for 3 days). I have the tivo connected with a lynksey adaptor(ethernet port of TIVO) with the other adapter to my gateway router. I called Tivo help-they said tivo only supports with the tivo adapter (told my wife they'd say that). They said I need to buy the tivo wireless adapter. BTW my router is only about 35feet from the tivo. When I try to force the connection I get an N33 failure message- also N07 saying problem is with router (cannot connect to gateway message)-I unplugged and replugged..

My lynsey adpters have worked with everything else-but not the TIVO (all though it did for 3 days. Any help/suggestions before I buy a TIVO adapter? Thanks

I found the fix- Instead of continuously trying to re-connect to the internet-I clicked on something like "reconfigure IP address"-it changed from the initial address (that TIVO choses)-the connection was not as strong-then I unplugged the linksey adapter from the surge protector and plugged into a plug by itself and the strength surged-all working fine now. I wish the techs had offerred some help.

Last edited by tedrik : 08-10-2012 at 02:22 PM.
tedrik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 09:02 AM   #2
lillevig
Hot in West Texas
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Angelo, TX
Posts: 1,748
Quote:
Originally Posted by tedrik View Post
Received my premier on Tuesday-it connected to my internet easily and have had a stable connection up until today (good for 3 days). I have the tivo connected with a lynksey adaptor(ethernet port of TIVO) with the other adapter to my gateway router. I called Tivo help-they said tivo only supports with the tivo adapter (told my wife they'd say that). They said I need to buy the tivo wireless adapter. BTW my router is only about 35feet from the tivo. When I try to force the connection I get an N33 failure message- also N07 saying problem is with router (cannot connect to gateway message)-I unplugged and replugged..

My lynsey adpters have worked with everything else-but not the TIVO (all though it did for 3 days. Any help/suggestions before I buy a TIVO adapter? Thanks

I found the fix- Instead of continuously trying to re-connect to the internet-I clicked on something like "reconfigure IP address"-it changed from the initial address (that TIVO choses)-the connection was not as strong-then I unplugged the linksey adapter from the surge protector and plugged into a plug by itself and the strength surged-all working fine now. I wish the techs had offerred some help.
It sounds like what you have is a wireless bridge setup if it is connected to the Tivo ethernet port. The Tivo G adapters connect to a USB port. Not sure about the Tivo N adpaters. Try setting the Tivo to use a fixed IP address. I have one Tivo that will only work that way. What I am using is older Linksys WRT54G routers that I've flashed with DD-WRT to turn them into repeater bridges.
__________________
"I'm just one story in a two story town." Bon Jovi
lillevig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 10:31 PM   #3
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 12,446
Quote:
Originally Posted by tedrik View Post
Received my premier on Tuesday-it connected to my internet easily and have had a stable connection up until today (good for 3 days). I have the tivo connected with a lynksey adaptor(ethernet port of TIVO) with the other adapter to my gateway router. I called Tivo help-they said tivo only supports with the tivo adapter (told my wife they'd say that). They said I need to buy the tivo wireless adapter. BTW my router is only about 35feet from the tivo. When I try to force the connection I get an N33 failure message- also N07 saying problem is with router (cannot connect to gateway message)-I unplugged and replugged..

My lynsey adpters have worked with everything else-but not the TIVO (all though it did for 3 days. Any help/suggestions before I buy a TIVO adapter? Thanks

I found the fix- Instead of continuously trying to re-connect to the internet-I clicked on something like "reconfigure IP address"-it changed from the initial address (that TIVO choses)-the connection was not as strong-then I unplugged the linksey adapter from the surge protector and plugged into a plug by itself and the strength surged-all working fine now. I wish the techs had offerred some help.
Start by getting a 40 foot Ethernet cable and hardwiring it.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:51 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |