TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-06-2014, 04:17 AM   #9061
bicker
Gruff
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Alpharetta, GA
Posts: 9,144
What is a TiVo Card?

Comcast (Alpharetta GA) wants to charge me $10 for a "TiVo card" plus $1.50 each for CableCARDs. I've done a search but see nothing about needing both. What's the story here?

Thanks!
bicker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2014, 07:52 AM   #9062
HerronScott
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Staunton, VA
Posts: 983
Quote:
Originally Posted by bicker View Post
Comcast (Alpharetta GA) wants to charge me $10 for a "TiVo card" plus $1.50 each for CableCARDs. I've done a search but see nothing about needing both. What's the story here?

Thanks!
Never heard of a TiVo card charge on Comcast. Sounds more like the HD Technology fee cost.

Scott
__________________
  1. S3 HD - 2TB - Lifetime (son's)
  2. S3 OLED - 2TB - Lifetime
  3. S3 OLED - 2TB - Lifetime
  4. S1 Phillips - 120GB - Lifetime transferred to S3
  5. S1 Sony - 30GB - Lifetime transferred to S3
HerronScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2014, 07:54 AM   #9063
HerronScott
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Staunton, VA
Posts: 983
Noticed that our Cisco/Scientifc Atlanta CableCards appear to have updated to a new firmware version on October 21.

OS version: PKEY 1.5.3_F.p.1201
Build Time: Mar 12, 2014

Scott
__________________
  1. S3 HD - 2TB - Lifetime (son's)
  2. S3 OLED - 2TB - Lifetime
  3. S3 OLED - 2TB - Lifetime
  4. S1 Phillips - 120GB - Lifetime transferred to S3
  5. S1 Sony - 30GB - Lifetime transferred to S3
HerronScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2014, 08:42 AM   #9064
pdhenry
Every Day's Saturday
 
pdhenry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: PA
Posts: 12,035
Quote:
Originally Posted by HerronScott View Post
Never heard of a TiVo card charge on Comcast. Sounds more like the HD Technology fee cost.
The HD technology fee (with Comcast anyway) is a hardware fee to get the HD-capable STB so you shouldn't get charged this as a TiVo owner anyway.

Comcast normally bundles a standard STB in their rate so rather than an extra fee you should get a small discount for only needing a Cable Card rather than the complete STB. If you have more than one there's normally an additional outlet fee )around $10) for the second and subsequent TiVos but again a discount for only needing a CableCard.

The $1 CableCard fee is supposed to be for multiple cards in the same device but sometimes Comcast ends up charging it for the second TiVo in place of the Additional Outlet Fee.

Different Comcast service areas implement it differently so this is only one user's understanding of it.
pdhenry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2014, 11:13 AM   #9065
chiguy50
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdhenry View Post
The HD technology fee (with Comcast anyway) is a hardware fee to get the HD-capable STB so you shouldn't get charged this as a TiVo owner anyway.

Comcast normally bundles a standard STB in their rate so rather than an extra fee you should get a small discount for only needing a Cable Card rather than the complete STB. If you have more than one there's normally an additional outlet fee )around $10) for the second and subsequent TiVos but again a discount for only needing a CableCard.

The $1 CableCard fee is supposed to be for multiple cards in the same device but sometimes Comcast ends up charging it for the second TiVo in place of the Additional Outlet Fee.

Different Comcast service areas implement it differently so this is only one user's understanding of it.
You may be only one user but you're right on the money (literally and figuratively) on all counts.
chiguy50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2014, 11:02 PM   #9066
DaveMN
Registered User
 
DaveMN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 55
I haven't gone through 300+ pages of this thread, so pardon me if this has already been answered. I'm going to be moving a Comcast cable card from my TiVo HD to a new Roamio Plus when the Plus arrives this week. Comcast said I should be able to do this myself, without a truck roll, as long as the card is already active. I'm skeptical that I'm getting good information. Anybody have any experience moving a Comcast card from one box to another? What can i really expect?
DaveMN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2014, 11:35 PM   #9067
CraigK
(unspecified)
 
CraigK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: North of Seattle
Posts: 1,019
I moved a Comcast CableCARD from a TiVo HD to a Roamio Plus earlier this year. All our channels worked fine without calling Comcast. We do not have any premium channels (HBO, Showtime, etc.).

This was a Motorola M card and all six tuners worked.

I did have to call Comcast later to get their Video On Demand working on the Roamio.
__________________
"Work hard, rock hard, eat hard, sleep hard, grow big, wear glasses if you need 'em!"
CraigK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2014, 07:33 AM   #9068
HerronScott
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Staunton, VA
Posts: 983
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveMN View Post
I haven't gone through 300+ pages of this thread, so pardon me if this has already been answered. I'm going to be moving a Comcast cable card from my TiVo HD to a new Roamio Plus when the Plus arrives this week. Comcast said I should be able to do this myself, without a truck roll, as long as the card is already active. I'm skeptical that I'm getting good information. Anybody have any experience moving a Comcast card from one box to another? What can i really expect?
Yes, you can physically move it and then you will want to call the Comcast CableCARD number to pair it with the new TiVo.

Scott
__________________
  1. S3 HD - 2TB - Lifetime (son's)
  2. S3 OLED - 2TB - Lifetime
  3. S3 OLED - 2TB - Lifetime
  4. S1 Phillips - 120GB - Lifetime transferred to S3
  5. S1 Sony - 30GB - Lifetime transferred to S3
HerronScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2014, 08:40 AM   #9069
jlayer3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 9
Call this comcast number when you make the switch (1-877-405-2298). Post #9058 has my experience with the switch. In my experience the people at the main comcast number won't know how to do the pairing.

j
jlayer3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2014, 08:41 AM   #9070
Robin
w/ extra mean sauce
 
Robin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southwestern Virginia
Posts: 21,140
Quote:
Originally Posted by HerronScott View Post

Yes, you can physically move it and then you will want to call the Comcast CableCARD number to pair it with the new TiVo.

Scott
No one ever WANTS to call Comcast.
__________________
If you read my post and think "AYFKM? She's got to be joking." Then yes. I'm joking.
Robin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2014, 08:56 AM   #9071
mike-d
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Baltimore, MD Area
Posts: 23
Moving your cable-card

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveMN View Post
I haven't gone through 300+ pages of this thread, so pardon me if this has already been answered. I'm going to be moving a Comcast cable card from my TiVo HD to a new Roamio Plus when the Plus arrives this week. Comcast said I should be able to do this myself, without a truck roll, as long as the card is already active. I'm skeptical that I'm getting good information. Anybody have any experience moving a Comcast card from one box to another? What can i really expect?
Yes - You must call comcast to pair the cable-card with the new TIVO. This usually goes well. You also need to make sure the cable card has firmware at a level that supports 6 tuners. If not, you will have issues. Comcast is much worse at working with you on this. What Card model and firmware do you have? Check this site for compatibility.
mike-d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2014, 07:43 PM   #9072
burdellgp
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 34
I moved a card from a Premiere to a Roamio, and I called the "cable card" number listed above to re-pair. Of course, some channels didn't work (and I noticed while still on the phone), and I got the "well, wait 45 minutes and call back <click>" answer. I waited the requisite 45 minutes, then went to the Comcast account website and did a chat there. The tech took like 10 seconds, said "check now", and they worked.

I've had better luck with the online chat than the supposed "cable card specialists" at the above number.
burdellgp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2014, 04:03 PM   #9073
DaveMN
Registered User
 
DaveMN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 55
Thanks for all the responses, folks. The new Roamio has arrived, and I'll be attempting the move tonight.
DaveMN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2014, 09:08 AM   #9074
DaveMN
Registered User
 
DaveMN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 55
FYI, my card move went very smoothly with the exception of one bonehead mistake by me. Everything got paired properly, but I couldn't figure out why the new box wasn't acquiring a signal. Had Comcast on the line, and they couldn't figure it out either. Turns out I still had the coax plugged into my old TiVo- D'oh!

Any of you have any issues with Netflix after a new install? It has been saying "service unavailable" for 12 hours now.
DaveMN is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:49 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |